Can't post new threads - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The AO Bug Lounge
Find an image missing? A page you cannot access? Post it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 41 Old 09-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: Grinning!
AO Member
 
davidpgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 52
Can't post new threads

Bit of a contradiction I suppose if this works, but been having trouble posting new threads. Gives an error screen saying the site might be under maintenance, but others seem to be able to start new threads.
davidpgreen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 41 Old 09-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: Grinning!
AO Member
 
davidpgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 52
Well, there you go. That's a bit strange. It seems to let me post a new thread here but not in the giulietta area. Any thoughts?
davidpgreen is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 41 Old 09-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: Grinning!
AO Member
 
davidpgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 52
By the way, it's the old HTTP 500 Internal Server Error I'm getting.
davidpgreen is offline  
Status: i don't use fuelly
AO Platinum Member
 
nigelread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 22,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidpgreen View Post
By the way, it's the old HTTP 500 Internal Server Error I'm getting.
This is what i am getting trying to start a new thread in the motoring images lounge
nigelread is offline  
Status: i don't use fuelly
AO Platinum Member
 
nigelread's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 22,305
Well got it to work using Safari
nigelread is offline  
Status: Zoe FTW
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
baby278278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 46,602
I got the same problem now

Trying to post a thred and it wont work
baby278278 is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
Hmmm I have just had a member message me about this - I have emailed admin and hope they can sort it ASAP
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
I can't post new threads either now
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
Weirdly after trying to post the same thread about 15 times, I changed the title and it posted straightaway.
I think its something to do with the system looking of similar posts (the bit that loads at the top when you produce a new thread). It seems to crash out after a while and then will not let you post a new thread
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
OK somebody else just tried the same test as me too - if the title is a bit more random it posts fine!
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa Vincent View Post
if the title is a bit more random it posts fine!
That shouldn't be a problem for some people :NUTTER: :HEADBANG:


So much for useful thread titles in the Tech Lounges




David P is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408


I raised a support ticket so hopefully admin will sort it
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: Go to forum.alfa145.com
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 1,503
I've got the same problem. I'm trying to post a new thread in the General Alfa Discussion area with the title "Veloces of London Used Car Prices" and I just get an "HTTP Error 500 (Internal Server Error)" message back. I've tried different variations of the title while still trying to keep it descriptive but I still get the same error

I've tried it in IE9, Chrome and Firefox. The same issue occurs in all those browsers.

EDIT: Just tried with Opera and Safari too but those don't work either so it's definitely an issue with the server.

I won't be posting on this forum any more. If you want to know why and/or you want answers to some 145/146 related questions then please feel free to pop over to and post on the alfa145.com forum where you will find me with the same member name.

I have now disabled all my private messaging options on here but you can PM me over on the alfa145.com forum if you need to.

Last edited by GialloEvo94; 29-07-11 at 20:37.
GialloEvo94 is offline  
Status: 2012...The v6 shall return.
AO Member
 
Saiyek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 209

Member car:

An astra =(

Been trying to post a help topic for 2 days but keep getting the "HTTP Error 500 (Internal Server Error)"
Saiyek is offline  
Status: funked up
Global Mod Team
 
paintergirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dumfries and Galloway
Posts: 9,437
Garage
I was having the same trouble. Try changing the title. We, Mod Team, think it might be something to do with the similar thread search. If you use words that have been used a lot before it seems to jam the search and won't let you post.

It has been reported to Admin.
paintergirl is offline  
cas
Status: A Vax and two 'Henry's
AO Silver Member
 
cas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canterbury
County: Kent
Posts: 2,335
I concur

I tried posting a thread with (these) round brackets in the title; changed these to square brackets and it worked..
cas is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,205

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

I just had this problem. I tried posting a thread three separate times in FF. It just hung there. Switched to IE, same problem.
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,205

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

Okay, tried the advice above. Changed the title and it seemed to work, (in IE).
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Status: funked up
Global Mod Team
 
paintergirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dumfries and Galloway
Posts: 9,437
Garage
You need to try changing the thread title, even slightly can help
paintergirl is offline  
Status: Go to forum.alfa145.com
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 1,503
I tried different variations of my title but nothing worked. Short of putting in a generic title which doesn't describe the topic (pointless IMO) then it just means I can't post the topic. I don't see why the system needs to go off and try to search for existing topics with a similar title when you post a new one. I don't care about existing topics...I just want to post a new topic with a suitably descriptive title of my choice.
GialloEvo94 is offline  
Status: Bavarian
Admin Team
 
bobda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
County: -
Posts: 15,172

Member car:

Not a GT

I was under the impression that the title search had been turned off for the time being?
bobda is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
It has been turned off
Is it still on in some lounges then?
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: funked up
Global Mod Team
 
paintergirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dumfries and Galloway
Posts: 9,437
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by GialloEvo94 View Post
I tried different variations of my title but nothing worked. Short of putting in a generic title which doesn't describe the topic (pointless IMO) then it just means I can't post the topic. I don't see why the system needs to go off and try to search for existing topics with a similar title when you post a new one. I don't care about existing topics...I just want to post a new topic with a suitably descriptive title of my choice.
The point of the search facility, when it was switched on, was to stop duplicate threads being posted. With a database as huge as we have here usually your issue has been dealt with before and it's a way of you finding your answer more quickly. Even in WOT/EMOT it stops the same news article being reported. It was a good idea, when it was working

It surprising how little you needed to change the title to avoid the search though, it could be the most subtle of changes

Is your problem in a particular lounge? It would help to know

Seen an offensive/spam post? Report it! Click the or button next to the post.
AO Rules - AO Gallery - AO Classified adverts - AO Club - AO Traders
The-Cutest-of-the-BORED No 5 The BORED Collective

147 1.6 Turismo 916 Spider P1 Lusso & Giulietta Lusso 1.6 JTDM


paintergirl is offline  
Status: Bavarian
Admin Team
 
bobda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
County: -
Posts: 15,172

Member car:

Not a GT

Quote:
Originally Posted by GialloEvo94 View Post
I tried different variations of my title but nothing worked. Short of putting in a generic title which doesn't describe the topic (pointless IMO) then it just means I can't post the topic. I don't see why the system needs to go off and try to search for existing topics with a similar title when you post a new one. I don't care about existing topics...I just want to post a new topic with a suitably descriptive title of my choice.
Have you tried since your first reported the problem? We've turned off the similar thread title search function and I've just managed to post a thread with words that are common in the title.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto Spider View Post
Okay, tried the advice above. Changed the title and it seemed to work, (in IE).
--Toronto
Which lounge were you trying to post in, Tor?
bobda is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,205

Member car:

1973 Spider 2000

WOT
Actually this thread: https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/way-o...god-of-f1.html (which nobody seems to care about anyways, so I guess I shouldn't have wasted my time )

Actually, as a side note, today is really bad for "server not found" errors. I think I've already had four or five of them and I've been surfing here less than five minutes.
--Toronto
Toronto Spider is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Official AO Problem Discussion Forum > Submit Your Questions / Bugs > The AO Bug Lounge

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I don't how many threads I post that no-one replies to Quinn Way Off Topic 2 25-12-07 06:39
Should Round Robin threads have limits? Will Poll Room 186 21-06-07 21:43
I am about to post two new threads here... steveisfrowning Way Off Topic 1 26-05-07 21:45
Why women think men are juvenile Chris Way Off Topic 36 10-03-07 10:36

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome