slow alfaowner.com - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The AO Bug Lounge
Find an image missing? A page you cannot access? Post it here.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 25 Old 06-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
alastairlever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 529

Member car:

GT Cloverleaf

slow alfaowner.com

does anyone else have a problem with alfaowner.com loading much slower than other sites?
alastairlever is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Molto felice
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Gibbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 54,872
It has been a bit slow this evening.



Gibbo is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 428

Member car:

Brera S 2.2

Ive noticed it slow altogther, even when typing this the screen response is very slow i.e. I can type 10 chars before it even appears on screen hence all the typos !! in my recent posts
MickT is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Its the sodding flash advert on the side of the screen!
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
rixf666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 709
yep, its driving me nuts too, especially when trying to scroll up and down, no response, then it jumps to bottom of the page.

i thought it was my laptop at work being a bit rubbish, but it does it on my home PC's as well.
rixf666 is offline  
Status: -
Global Mod Team
 
paul.o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 4,792

Member car:

Alfa GT 2.0JTS

paul.o is online now  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This needs sorting!
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 25 Old 09-07-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
alastairlever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 529

Member car:

GT Cloverleaf

mine turned out to be firefox on my mac. Viewing in safari is fine.
alastairlever is offline  
mudhut
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Whatever the cause my desktop, which is Intel Atom powered and running IE8, halts for about a minute (sometimes more) before I can scroll or anything else. If I happen to scroll so that the advert is still visible, it all starts over again.

I can no longer use this site. I'll alert our new admin but if it's not fixed then I'll have to give up on it.
 
Status: Spider's on the road.
Global Mod Team
 
classicgal93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,902
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by alastairlever View Post
mine turned out to be firefox on my mac. Viewing in safari is fine.
I've not got any issues either but I'm using Safari on my macbook.


Mudhut the new admin took over the site yesterday, I'm sure they will get to this problem when they can. I hope it gets fixed for you and the others.
classicgal93 is offline  
mudhut
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you CG.

The problem is much reduced, but still somewhat evident, on my work laptop (IE8 and Intel Centrino) but I don't normally use it for AO.
 
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Had a nightmare with it yesterday. Same as above
 
Status: Missing the 166 :(
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 330
All depends which PC I use...

My old 3ghz dual core desktop is fine and so is my sons imac. My netbook, the one I use most often, forget it! Also the same at work where we use thin clients and I also can't use the forum from my mobile anymore!

Not sure what Alfa Owner has done but it has cut me off from using my three prefered methods of logging on
Barmybob is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
BigAl33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U.K Surrey
Posts: 2,542

Member car:

33 16v 2.4 159TI

Before I logon scrolling up and down is very slow, the banner about signing up, to the right of the screen with an x to the right, laggs behind.
When trying to login, it takes ages for my keyboard entry to be accepted in the password box.
After logging in, when I click on "forum tools" the pop up window jerkly come up.
BigAl33 is offline  
Status: Spider's on the road.
Global Mod Team
 
classicgal93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,902
Garage
I just logged out and saw an ad and the banner. It does lag behind because it's wanting you to sign up on AO.
I didn't have any problem logging in though, just typed in the boxes and was accepted.
classicgal93 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
BigAl33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U.K Surrey
Posts: 2,542

Member car:

33 16v 2.4 159TI

lol
since posting it seems ok, typical
BigAl33 is offline  
Graham P
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yesterday was fine as the 'MiTo' flash advert was not there, today it is back again. They know all about the problems but don't seem to keen on fixing them. Obviously the advert is more important than the users. It is getting to a point where I am finding the forum almost impossible to use. It took about 3 minutes to scroll to the bottom of this thread!!!
 
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
Can't you use one of the recommended blocking programs which let you selectively block sites

Or are you using a different browser that isn't compatible with those already mentioned ? If so maybe if you said what browser you are using someone could give you a recommendation.
David P is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham P View Post
Yesterday was fine as the 'MiTo' flash advert was not there, today it is back again. They know all about the problems but don't seem to keen on fixing them. Obviously the advert is more important than the users. It is getting to a point where I am finding the forum almost impossible to use. It took about 3 minutes to scroll to the bottom of this thread!!!
The problem is (as far as I am aware) that there is an advertising contract with Alfa UK, they supplied the advert and until they supply another optimised version of it there isn't that much we can do. There was a conversation about just pulling it altogether but we are not sure about the legalities of this. Rogue/memory hungry flash files can be a nightmare in some browsers hence the reason that Apple and now Windows mobile are pulling the plug on flash on their devices. This doesn't help you I know.... I will again see if we can get to the bottom of the legalities on removing their advert.









GTV TS - R.I.P 156 V6 - R.I.P GTV V6 - R.I.P 147 Selespeed - Who knows
147 GTA - Gone but never forgotten Brera nice while it lasted
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
BigAl33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U.K Surrey
Posts: 2,542

Member car:

33 16v 2.4 159TI

Very slow again today.
BigAl33 is offline  
Graham P
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by David P View Post
Can't you use one of the recommended blocking programs which let you selectively block sites

Or are you using a different browser that isn't compatible with those already mentioned ? If so maybe if you said what browser you are using someone could give you a recommendation.
Hi David. I did do that and it worked for here but unfortunately it blocked the players for alot of music websites I use

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa Vincent View Post
The problem is (as far as I am aware) that there is an advertising contract with Alfa UK
Yep I guessed as much. Its a shame a static ad can't be used
 
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham P View Post
Hi David. I did do that and it worked for here but unfortunately it blocked the players for alot of music websites I use



Yep I guessed as much. Its a shame a static ad can't be used
Agreed
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
BigAl33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U.K Surrey
Posts: 2,542

Member car:

33 16v 2.4 159TI

Been ok for a while now, i have not seen the alfa advert for a while too
BigAl33 is offline  
Status: -
Admin Team
 
Alfa Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,408
Yup the advert was removed
Alfa Vincent is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
BigAl33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U.K Surrey
Posts: 2,542

Member car:

33 16v 2.4 159TI

Makes such a difference
BigAl33 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Official AO Problem Discussion Forum > Submit Your Questions / Bugs > The AO Bug Lounge

Tags
alfaownercom , slow

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome