Validated - No spaces between the smilies - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The AO Bug Lounge
Find an image missing? A page you cannot access? Post it here.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 17 Old 30-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
Wave Validated - No spaces between the smilies

Before the changeover there were automatically spaces inserted between the smilies like this --->

Now we get this --->


Just a small point
David P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by David P View Post
Before the changeover there were automatically spaces inserted between the smilies like this --->

Now we get this --->


Just a small point
Testing 123

Confirmed!
alfaowner is offline  
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

and the cursor is out of the the quote tags - when you click the quote icon
PeterWolf is offline  
Status: Spider's on the road.
Global Mod Team
 
classicgal93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,902
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterWolf View Post
and the cursor is out of the the quote tags - when you click the quote icon

?
classicgal93 is offline  
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by classicgal93 View Post
?
I think that it stayed inside the quote tags before - much more convenient when you don't have to
insert the cursor inside and then ctrl+v(when pasting copied text in "quotation marks" tags - which i often do).

Click quotation marks icon ,move cursor inside tags, ctrl-v = not happy!
Click quotation marks icon , ctrl-v = job done. you dig?
PeterWolf is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Now I think you are getting silly with this one sorry! when you hit quote, you dont need to copy anything? Also use multi quote if you are adding more than one quote.
alfaowner is offline  
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaowner View Post
Now I think you are getting silly with this one sorry! when you hit quote, you dont need to copy anything? Also use multi quote if you are adding more than one quote.
i am amazed that we are getting so much flak for reporting bugs/annoyances.
I am not a paying member, but i don't deserve to be slapped around for wanting to contribute in making the site a bit better(reporting a bug-which wasn't present at the old AO)

I was talking about this:



Sometimes i copy text from a website(like Autosport) and i want to put it in quotation marks. When you click on the button, the cursor is out of the tags so you need to put it manually into the tags in order to paste the text that you already carry from(ctrl+c). It is a small usability issue but i promise not to bring up any other issues.
PeterWolf is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 17 Old 08-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
When I use the Quote/YouTube button I've no problems & the cursor appears in the middle


Using IE 6 here btw


EDIT : I can make the cursor move outside by right clicking the mouse to select the paste option but use CTRL + V & it won't happen
Attached Images
File Type: jpg quote.JPG (11.5 KB, 0 views)
David P is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Peter who is giving you flak? Blimey if you are referring to the comment where I suggested you were getting silly with a clicking issue then
You wouldn't want to work for me, you would leave in the first hour

I again don't have the issue you are having however I do have the issue with no spaces between smilies.
alfaowner is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 17 Old 08-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
Yes, please refrain from hijacking my post about the serious issue regarding the smilies













David P is offline  
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by David P View Post
Using IE 6 here btw
IE6?? WOW....

I am using FF3.5 bleeding edge so it's possibly a browser issue

I fired up IE8 to check the quote thing (AO took ages to load BTW) and the bloody cursor
is inside the quote tags

So, Mr.Alfa Owner, now i do look silly. Sorry for chucking a tanty but i saw that people
were being told to stop moaning(in other threads) because we are using AO for free etc etc.
I understand that you might take criticism personally(after all the work + it's your baby)
but it's good to listen to complaints by users/clients without calling them silly or similar.
Yes, i did make a mistake; i should have tried IE but i was only trying to report what i thought
was a bug(or maybe you don't cater for FF3.X). That is all

cheers
PeterWolf is offline  
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

Quote:
Originally Posted by David P View Post
Yes, please refrain from hijacking my post about the serious issue regarding the smilies


I think that my problem is much more serious - i am forced to use IE(or IE add-on extension) or manually bring the cursor inside the tags!!!

PS: spaces between smiles works for me no it doesn't
i need to stop drinking while surfing/posting
PeterWolf is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Wave

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterWolf View Post
IE6?? WOW....

I am using FF3.5 bleeding edge so it's possibly a browser issue

I fired up IE8 to check the quote thing (AO took ages to load BTW) and the bloody cursor
is inside the quote tags

So, Mr.Alfa Owner, now i do look silly. Sorry for chucking a tanty but i saw that people
were being told to stop moaning(in other threads) because we are using AO for free etc etc.
I understand that you might take criticism personally(after all the work + it's your baby)
but it's good to listen to complaints by users/clients without calling them silly or similar.
Yes, i did make a mistake; i should have tried IE but i was only trying to report what i thought
was a bug(or maybe you don't cater for FF3.X). That is all

cheers
OK... Look, Without you all visiting this site, our work here would be pointess, it is in our interests that we work with you all, we are all adults and we all come here to either resolve issues on our cars, help others resolve issues or simply to enjoy the community feel, I am sorry if you feel that you were shouted at, I honestly wouldn't have, only recently I posted the below:
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tempo...your-help.html

As above link, we made a pledge early on that we are here to help and will investigate any reports issued to the best of our ability to make the site the best it can be and we will only do this by listening to the majority, however what you have to remember is when ever something does not work on someones PC, we often get the blame for it which I can understand, however getting this point over to the end user is not always easy as they think they are being fobbed off and sometimes red mist sets in when in fact the problem is sometimes local. With nearly 30 staff behind the AO site, only 2 or 3 of those staff members deal directly with development and bug testing so we will need some patience as once the bug is confirmed, we have to fix and make sure it does not affect anything else.

I hope this all makes sense. If you do still have issues, please open up one thread per problem to enable us to work on them and to reduce the risk of us missing something.

Regards,

Ian

[CENTER]
alfaowner is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

David, you may have your thread back now
alfaowner is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 17 Old 08-06-09 Thread Starter
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,178
Garage
I don't want it anymore




















David P is offline  
:Gizmo:
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I had the same no space between smiley problem when i upgraded my forum, asked on vbulletin.com and only advice was to ask users to put a space between them themselves......
 
Status: kill wombat! kill!
AO Silver Member
 
PeterWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,503

Member car:

Alfa 33 1.7 QV

Say no more Mr.AO It all makes perfect sense
I must admit that i was a bit tired and emotional yesterday
@ David P sorry for the t-hijack
PeterWolf is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Official AO Problem Discussion Forum > Submit Your Questions / Bugs > The AO Bug Lounge

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Validated - No spaces between the smilies David P Ask a question about the site 16 08-06-09 20:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome