Members Location on posts - Resolved - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The AO Bug Lounge
Find an image missing? A page you cannot access? Post it here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 39 Old 30-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Andy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Ayrshire
Posts: 648
Members Location on posts - Resolved

Have tried to change my location and when i select country and click United kingdom nothing appears in County/State.
Andy146 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 39 Old 30-05-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Andy146's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Ayrshire
Posts: 648
Just to add that i managed to change through the edit options but does not work on the about me section at the user profile part.
Andy146 is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Very good, well spotted! Have reported to Mr Jeff to be fixed/added.

Really good spot thanks!
alfaowner is offline  
Status: Broke...
AO Member
 
GateKeeper_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 803
Members Location on posts - Awaiting fix

The previous incarnation of AO had a displayed fidelity on the location of State whereas the new one is Country, any chance of having this changed back makes reading some of the threads alot easier as you know where people are in the UK!

Otherwise like the new forums, they seem a tad faster than the old.

GK
GateKeeper_ is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

This has now been actioned on AO grey and AO Modern.
Thanks for reporting

CLOSED
alfaowner is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

We have this in hand and will be actioned as soon as possible
alfaowner is offline  
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Prof Peach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 3,801

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

Members location United Kingdom - Info

I have noticed that most members seem to have location: United Kingdom on their posts, as do I.

I have noticed that others have a specific location, eg Whitly Bay.

Is it possible to choose from a drop down pre-defined list, but also to have the option of adding to that database field with an add text box. Even if it was a dropdown with counties, that would suffice.

From a club point of view, it would be great to know where other members are based.

Loving the forum, and thanks again for all the recent work.

David aka Prof Peach

"If it can't be fixed with a hammer, your problems electrical!"
Prof Peach is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Hi pop here: https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/profi...do=editprofile
Not able to help with the custom box but this should do nicely for you!
alfaowner is offline  
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Prof Peach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 3,801

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

Tried that but it still onl shows United Kingdom on my posts.

Dosn't give the option to leave country blank and only choose Northumberland.
Prof Peach is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

I can see both on your posts?

We show both for the benefit of non UK members, they at least will know where the UK is and for us, we know where south Africa is etc...
If you cannot see this infor press CTRL and F5 key on your keyboard.

Better?
alfaowner is offline  
:Gizmo:
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
same problem for me, I can set to United Kingdom but get no drop down box options only - , no counties or other choices

Custom profile field options in the admin panel might be set to allow admins/moderators to view ie private field checked?

Can this not be set to a text field to allow members to put their town/city in?

for those using a mac its shift refresh not ctrl F5
 
Status: Powered by coal and steam
AO Gold Member
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,807

Member car:

alph a ramayo

I get the dropdown box and can choose my area west Midlands , but it doesn't show next United Kingdom on my posts
EVEL is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
AO Gold Member
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,807

Member car:

alph a ramayo

Its showing now


But it vanished off another post when i edited it


Its now gone again now i left this thread and came back its gone , its also not showing on older posts ive made

Last edited by EVEL; 03-06-09 at 07:44. Reason: Twilight Zone
EVEL is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Did you empty your cache? It is showing here ok as a test user, hiwever if you are editing from anywhere other than profile>edit my details then it will not show a county/state.
Please confirm. (I will change the way the member info page edits later today to make it more universal.

AO)
alfaowner is offline  
Status: Frickin Awesome!!!
AO Silver Member
 
Prof Peach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northumberland
Posts: 3,801

Member car:

RénoLaGünah

Hmmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by EVEL View Post
Its showing now


But it vanished off another post when i edited it


Its now gone again now i left this thread and came back its gone , its also not showing on older posts ive made
^^^ same here. Came up initially but disapeared again.

Thought it was just me cos it was late.
Prof Peach is offline  
:Gizmo:
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've tried both ways to edit, if I use the "edit your details" page the county dropdown boxes do show, if you go to the member profile and click the pen to edit it doesn't which I think is what you are going to alter?

Now showing in postbit...
 
:Gizmo:
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
no, its not showing in postbit, appeared then went, safari and firefox both the same
 
:Gizmo:
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
and then reappeared (then went)

Last edited by :Gizmo:; 03-06-09 at 10:44. Reason: seeing if county appears
 
Status: Powered by coal and steam
AO Gold Member
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,807

Member car:

alph a ramayo

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaowner View Post
Did you empty your cache? It is showing here ok as a test user, hiwever if you are editing from anywhere other than profile>edit my details then it will not show a county/state.
Please confirm. (I will change the way the member info page edits later today to make it more universal.

AO)


profile>edit details is the way i did it, but it only shows west mids for one post then when you navigate to another lounge or log off then come back , its gone again .
EVEL is offline  
Status: 660Nm of torqueystuff!
AO Platinum Member
 
Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: British Indian Ocean Terr
County: -
Posts: 15,174
So how come mine is allowed to say 'Sunny S.Yorks'...

Its not even sunny today

Hunter is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
AO Gold Member
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,807

Member car:

alph a ramayo

You probably havnt edited yours since you wrote that one in , there used to be the option to type in yourself where you were , i remember doing mine like that .

I changed some info on my profile and needed to enter new location , now i just get U.K showing .
EVEL is offline  
Status: [Too Long]
AO Silver Member
 
crespo2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,109
County not showing on personal details.?

Sometimes the county i live does not show.
Not a huge issue i know but something that should be mentioned.
Only noticed it when posting on one of the region threads.
Also is there any way i can get it to display Bournemouth instead of Dorset as Dorset is quite a big place and i dont want people thinking im a farmer.

See look it only displays UK nexy to my details.
crespo2121 is offline  
Status: Spider's on the road.
Global Mod Team
 
classicgal93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County: British Columbia
Posts: 59,902
Garage
Interesting, I see British Columbia, Canada when I first make my post. If I come back and check it it says Canada only.




Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
County/State: British Columbia
Posts: 41,508

Member car:
2 S4's and a Teg


and a few seconds later it says



Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 41,508

Member car:
2 S4's and a Teg
classicgal93 is offline  
Status: No more guiletta... Auctioned off
Founder of AO
 
alfaowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 8,045

Member car:

Maserati GTS

Hi please try again for us, this will hopefully work for you?
alfaowner is offline  
Status: Bavarian
Admin Team
 
bobda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
County: -
Posts: 15,172

Member car:

Not a GT

I've changed mine - still shows just United Kingdom, although the section up here ^^ now shows West Yorkshire.
bobda is offline  
Closed Thread

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Official AO Problem Discussion Forum > Submit Your Questions / Bugs > The AO Bug Lounge

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome