Annoying pop up banners? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
The AO Bug Lounge
Find an image missing? A page you cannot access? Post it here.

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 23-03-19 Thread Starter
Status: Living the dream!
AO Silver Member
 
Topic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Wellington
County: Shropshire
Posts: 2,887
Garage
Thumbs Down Annoying pop up banners?

Anyone else suffering with annoying pop up banners saying youíve won some stupid prize with Virgin media?
Has this site been compromised?
I have to keep crashing and reloading, or clear out my history....not happy!
Even when you press close, it still goes to their site - Whatís going on?
Topic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,457
Same Virgin media ďprizesĒ for me. Not intending to claim them.
cue2 is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 15 Old 23-03-19 Thread Starter
Status: Living the dream!
AO Silver Member
 
Topic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Wellington
County: Shropshire
Posts: 2,887
Garage
ANNOYING POP UPís

Anyone else suffering with these very annoying pop up banners?
Has this site been compromised?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 99C306F5-3937-4D76-B8F0-AC555FFA4F8A.jpg (67.4 KB, 16 views)
Topic is offline  
Status: Quo!
AO Silver Member
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,405
That will be you computer....not the site. Run a antivirus and adaware program and that should get rid of that adware.

I was going to say that this should be in the AO bug lounge....but I see you have posted it there too!!
alfaitalia is online now  
Status: Petrol head
AO Platinum Member
 
cue2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 30,457
Iíve only ever had this with AO.
cue2 is online now  
Status: Quo!
AO Silver Member
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 2,405
Odd....does not happen on either of my PCs (home and work) or my phone or tablet.....which is why I suggested its must be your PC. Make sure you pop up blocker is on....that wont cure the cause but will stop you seeing them.
alfaitalia is online now  
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,324
I’m getting this on my iPhone every 40 secs or so. It’s very annoying.
Scudetto is offline  
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,324
... but I’m not getting it anywhere else.
Scudetto is offline  
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,324
Having some problems creating new posts too (much to the relief of many )
Scudetto is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
ItsMeMarty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
County: -Netherlands
Posts: 442

Member car:

159-2.2JTS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scudetto View Post
Iím getting this on my iPhone every 40 secs or so. Itís very annoying.
Couldnt it be an App you recently installed?
ItsMeMarty is offline  
Status: Half man Half biscuit
AO Silver Member
 
jparkin486's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Bramley
County: Hampshire - Darn Sarf!
Posts: 1,431
Garage
Yep getting this on my iphone too, but not on my laptop or android tablet.

Not loaded any new apps recently.
jparkin486 is offline  
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,324
Nope boss. I haven’t added any apps to my phone. I honestly can’t think of anything I’ve done differently in the last few days that may have caused this.

On my MacBook, I can’t access AO at all. It says it cannot connect with the AO server. It was fine on Thursday but went ‘computer says no’ on me yesterday.

All other sites I pop onto are working fine on both devices; it’s just AO that the devices are having a wobble with,
Scudetto is offline  
Status: Spider's asleepforwinter
testing
 
Admin_Support's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: united kingdom
County: Canada
Posts: 2,161
Garage

Member car:

Spider/GTA/

Sent that one with the screenshot up.

If you see one, we need the URL and a screenshot to get it blocked.

- Jb
Admin_Support is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 15 Old 3 Weeks Ago
Status: strongstablestrongst able
AO Platinum Member
 
keithyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cambodia
County: Phnom Penh
Posts: 13,789

Member car:

CRV/Jaaag

Not only am I getting the pop up and redirect, I'm getting ads for the same prize on here.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot_20190527-203308_1558985648936.png (184.5 KB, 13 views)
keithyboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 15 Old 2 Weeks Ago
Status: Spider's asleepforwinter
testing
 
Admin_Support's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: united kingdom
County: Canada
Posts: 2,161
Garage

Member car:

Spider/GTA/

Can you grab us the link to that ad?
We'll get it sent up.

Ed
Admin_Support is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > The Official AO Problem Discussion Forum > Submit Your Questions / Bugs > The AO Bug Lounge

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome