145 V6. Let the discussion Start - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
South Africa All events and potential meets in South Africa

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #26 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
The Wife called me just now. Asking me .."When are you going to bring the 145 home to start?"... Eish.... if only i could raid her Bank account.... hehehehe
GTA QV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: that time again
AO Platinum Member
 
Guili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Mpumalanga
Posts: 13,815
lmfao. My wife asked me yesterday, Why did we pay money for the Giulietta to come stand here at home?
Guili is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

turbonutters is offline  
Status: Smile and wave
Regional Representative
For South Africa - AO-SA
 
Eric Metz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,466
No comment from this side..... My wife asked me the other day why the Sud is parked in a nice warm, dry garage with covers over it, and the 159 is outside in the open ?
At least the 159 will not dissolve if it gets wet
Eric Metz is offline  
Status: missin my gtvs
AO Member
 
jzee786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 565

Member car:

P2 3.0L 24V

i would def see this project bear fruit very nice ideas!
jzee786 is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

He will definitely do it.
I can see we will have a couple of telephone conversations during the project
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #32 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbonutters View Post
He will definitely do it.
I can see we will have a couple of telephone conversations during the project
Reminder to myself... "I should realy spend more time with the wife, and less time on the phone with Turbonutters"
GTA QV is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #34 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
Q 76.

Will the 156 LC arm bolt straight to the 145 Cross members

156

http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images...3-60-1-800.jpg

145

http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images...3-42-1-800.jpg
GTA QV is offline  
Status: missin my gtvs
AO Member
 
jzee786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 565

Member car:

P2 3.0L 24V

jzee786 is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA QV View Post
Q 76.

Will the 156 LC arm bolt straight to the 145 Cross members

156

http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images...3-60-1-800.jpg

145

http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/images...3-42-1-800.jpg
Yes the LC will bolt to it but you need the top part as well and that’s not so easy.
If you want to use the 156 front suspension which works brilliantly on my GTV you have to use the 156 steering rack turret tops and sub frame as well since the rack mounts differently on the sub frame.

Obviously the hub carriers, shocks, coils, ARB and side shafts as well.

Last edited by turbonutters; 08-09-11 at 14:51.
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #37 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
OK. Just to make sure.

The 156 sub frame will bolt straight in where the 145 sub-frame will mount?

If that is the case, then I'll be able to mount the complete 156 sub-frame to the 145 including the LC arms, hub carriers, shocks, coils and side shafts.

Now. Will the 156 top shock mounts, mounting straight to the 145 spots or do I have to redrill the 145 to fit the 156 top shock mounts?

And will the 156 top part of the shock clear inside the 145's wheel arch top part?
GTA QV is offline  
(Post Link) post #38 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
If I look at this thread, I dont see any front anti roll bar in the 156. True or false?

Alfa Romeo forum: Pat & Jon’s suspension write-up
GTA QV is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

No you have to cut the old turrets and insert the 156 units or change the legs completely like i did with the blue gtv.
The sub frame bolts in.
Maybe it is time for you to phone so that we can discuss this.
The turrets are +- 40 mm higher but the bonnet should clear if not easily fixed.
turbonutters is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Yes they do have a front arb
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #41 of 65 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
OK.. The wife is going to bed.. Give me 5 minutes and i'll call you hehehehe
GTA QV is offline  
(Post Link) post #42 of 65 Old 09-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
Thanks for the Chat Carlo... I see the light now.

Keep the 145 suspension and hub carriers. Drop in the v6 lump. fit the 155 CV shafts.

tap into the ABS signal for the Speedo and connect the 156 ECU.
GTA QV is offline  
(Post Link) post #43 of 65 Old 09-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
Does the 156 fog lights fit on the 145? 2000 model 145
GTA QV is offline  
Status: Green mamba :D
AO Silver Member
 
scrgdk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 4,740

Member car:

156 sw 2.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTA QV View Post
The Wife called me just now. Asking me .."When are you going to bring the 145 home to start?"... Eish.... if only i could raid her Bank account.... hehehehe
Last night the other half took me out to for supper for a "pick me up dinner" then she handed me an alfa key ring and when I said thats a bit harsh considering my cars not driving, she amply replied: "Its for the 156 turbo baby" <--- I just had to.
scrgdk is offline  
(Post Link) post #45 of 65 Old 09-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
I obviously have to upgrade the 145 fuel pump to the V6 fuel pump.

Will the 156 v6 pump be a straight replacement for the 145 pump? Will it fit into the 145 Tank unit?
GTA QV is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

You do not have to change the pump since the 2000 145 also used the pump with the FPR in the tank.
But id you want to the 156 unit will also fit.
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #47 of 65 Old 09-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
So the volume of the v6 an 145 pumps are the same? i would have reconed the v6 would pump a bit more that the 145. or atleast the FP are a hit higher or the V6

But IF THATS THE CASE.... Cooool... no fiddling there
GTA QV is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Bothe runs a static 3bar fuel pressure.
At least according to the rating on the FPR the pumps and search tank housing the pump are the same.
The older cars with external FPR are different
turbonutters is offline  
Status: Do you even know how to V6?...
AO Gold Member
 
Ian Lusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 10,929
Ian Lusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #50 of 65 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: 145's getting there
AO Member
 
GTA QV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 476
HAd a look at the car this weekend.... Very good nic. Now just to make space in my garage. i need for find a secure parking spot for my GTV. Anyone in CT that has a spare lock up gagage.. Let me know. Once the GTV's parking is sorted. I can start with the 145
GTA QV is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > International Lounges > World Alfa Clubs, Communities & Events > South Africa

Tags
145 , discussion , start

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alfa Romeo Engine Numbers TS,JTS,V6,JTD biffa Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 35 27-03-17 21:58
Who's got the highest Mileage 166 on the forum? Stephen Manjai Alfa 164 & 166 575 22-05-15 19:11
Alfas in computer games? K18 NOB General Alfa Discussion 24 03-06-11 20:51
Engine numbers [email protected] Tuning & Upgrades 1 22-01-11 13:30
Drove my first Alfa today - Few Questions 2.5 V6 156 Gwedo Alfa 147, 156 & GT 21 13-06-10 22:48

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome