Considering a 156 1.6 Twin Spark - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

(Post Link) post #1 of 34 Old 29-06-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Dublin
Considering a 156 1.6 Twin Spark

Hi,

I am a 20 year old student (nearly 21) who has been driving a '00 1.0 litre Yaris VVTi for the past 2.5 years and am considering upgrading to a 1.6 litre 156 in ideally Sportivo trim. My uncle had an early model 2.0 litre TS years back and I have always been quite taken by the model. Seeing as my Yaris is low mileage (57k miles) and presently has a long NCT, I'm thinking about capitalising on its desirability on the used market and upgrading to something more my taste. I reckon I will get the guts of two grand for it and just over half of the proceeds should bag me a very nice 156 with all the belts done.

One of the main concerns I have is fuel economy. I cover around 100 miles per week in the Yaris and it costs me around 20-25 quid. I have heard to expect no more than 35 mpg from the 1.6 litre engine in the 156 and I feel this may be too high for a person of my financial means. This is in addition to our unfair road tax system which will add a further 300 euro in additional costs annually over what I am currently driving.

I have been constantly going on and off the idea of going in the above direction and have thought something like a Punto Sporting or an MG ZR 105 would be a more realistic ownership proposition many times. I am a passionate enthusiast and have been itching for ages to get something a bit more distinctive than my trusty Yaris (which has been a great car to be fair and is a lovely steer). What do people reckon?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member

County: Kildare

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Get the 156.
propellorhead

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccovich View Post
get the 156.
+1