Cork/throttle body - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 22-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: Dont Ask
AO Member
 
cork boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 77
Cork/throttle body

I no there are a few guys on here from cork,im looking for a throttle body for an ***** 156,1.8ts,year 2000,as im around the city tomorrow,so if anyone has one for sale,get back to me,tks
cork boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
is your car cable operated or 'fly-by-wire' throttle? being a '00 i suspect cable operated. I have 4 good spare's here if you need one.
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 22-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: Dont Ask
AO Member
 
cork boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 77
its a cable one lacken
cork boy is offline  
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
what is wrong with your Throttle body that you need a replacement?
 
(Post Link) post #5 of 8 Old 22-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: Dont Ask
AO Member
 
cork boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 77
the engine is reving at over 2000rpms whilst idling,had it put on a diagnostic machine,battery was overcharging alternater,so changed that,had it put back on diagnostic,and no faults showing,mechanic thinks my idle acuator on throttle body might be faulty,also oil vapour separator valve between the camshaft cover/crankcase and the inlet manifold is faulty,as it wont clip on properly,also engine starts hunting,reving up and down,changed mafs,this made no changes,so not sure,i had this problem before i took of the inlet manifold also,all breather/air pipes seem ok.
cork boy is offline  
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
have you checked the cable is not too tight?

or have you done the throttle/idle reset?
 
Lacken156
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
get your man to check the cable has some slack in it & that the idler screw is not in the wrong position.

its also possible, if this issue only occurred since you removed the manifold, that the cable is not routed correctly, it should be curved around the air pipe, passing near the battery

Last edited by Lacken156; 22-02-12 at 21:22.
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 22-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: Dont Ask
AO Member
 
cork boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 77
throttle cable is fine,checked that,also done the throttle reset before i changed the alternater last week.
cork boy is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > Ireland > Republic of Ireland

Tags
body , cork or throttle

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Guide - Cleaning a Throttle Body [email protected] Alfa GTV & 916 Spider 5 12-05-18 20:36
Body Worlds London exhibition at the O2 Scudetto Way Off Topic 24 03-08-09 22:04

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome