Alfadiag and cable - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 01-01-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Dublin

Member car:

2.0 TS GTV

Alfadiag and cable

Guys

As I've said before I'm a complete noob when it comes to anything to do with cars, and currently have the fuel injector (engine management system) and airbag light on on my car and it's due an nct.

Both have been cleared in the past from the service history, the fuel injector light is the cam sensor. How easy it it to clear these using alfadiag and the relevant cable? I know where the fusebox is and have the software, so just need the cable.

Thanks guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Lacken156

you need to buy a KKL interface from eBay & then solder pins 7 to 3 to 1 [ within the interface ] alfadiag is easy enough to use, FiatEcuScan is easier

Mario Andretti

The engine light being on is not an nct issue but the reason for it being on could affect emissions hope this helps

(Post Link) post #4 of 13 Old 01-01-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

Member car:

2.0 TS GTV

I need to solder pins! Can't I just plug it in and erase the codes? Can I manage to avoid soldering if I use ecuscan?

I'm getting different opinions about the fuel injector light and whether or not it's an nct fail, everything I read say it's not as it's a petrol, my mechanic and others disagree! I'm tempted to print out and read the nct manual and see which is true
Lacken156

no, you need to solder

re the injector light, i thought that ANY error light was a failure, Mario he'd know best

Last edited by Lacken156; 02-01-12 at 08:33.

(Post Link) post #6 of 13 Old 01-01-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

Member car:

2.0 TS GTV

Apparently for diesel engines, it's a failure, for petrol it's not, but it depends on who you ask

I'm thinking back to my pc building days, soldering shouldn't be a huge undertaking?