URGENT.. Hub assembly needed. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Help URGENT.. Hub assembly needed.

Lads.

Help me get the Spider on the road. All she needs now is a passenger side, front hub assembly. The dealer I bought it off, has fitted totally the wrong one. Probably not even an Alfa one.

Anyone know where a 2001 GTV or Spider, is being broken. Or indeed if a hub from another model is compatible?

Cheers
George. :mygrin1:
pendragonfalls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Keep my eyes open for you but would.you like me to go and let down the tyres on all the cars he has for sale!
 
mo4
Status: back in a 156
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 731
If it's a CF2 then it should be the same as 145, 146, 155 and gtv.

I think there are some differences in later CF3 cars where they use the uprights that are in the V6 cars.
mo4 is offline  
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

try partfinder.ie
Alfa155 TS is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo4 View Post
If it's a CF2 then it should be the same as 145, 146, 155 and gtv.

I think there are some differences in later CF3 cars where they use the uprights that are in the V6 cars.
I'm breaking a 145 boxer, are those hubs the same the TS variants, if so the search is over!
 
(Post Link) post #6 of 28 Old 08-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by propellorhead View Post
I'm breaking a 145 boxer, are those hubs the same the TS variants, if so the search is over!
I believe they are the same. I'll send you a diagram to compare. Its on other pc, I'll do it in the morning. Could you PM your email address.?

And, thanks a million.. :mygrin1:
pendragonfalls is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
I believe they are the same. I'll send you a diagram to compare. Its on other pc, I'll do it in the morning. Could you PM your email address.?

And, thanks a million..:mygrin1:
nee botha, pm now
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 28 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Lads. The one I got from jim (propellorhead) turned out to be the wrong one. So I'm still on the hunt.

The bits arrowed, are what I seek. A 145, 146 and 155 should be the same, but it appears the 145 is actually different..?

spiderparts.jpg
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 80

Member car:

156

Have you the chassis no. of your car, there are different hubs fitted to GTV's even versions with the same engine. Why exactly do you need one, are you saying that someone removed the entire hub assy, and fitted a totally different one. What happened the original ? What were they trying to do, fit a new bearing, or hub ?
swarlb is offline  
mo4
Status: back in a 156
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
Lads. The one I got from jim (propellorhead) turned out to be the wrong one. So I'm still on the hunt.

The bits arrowed, are what I seek. A 145, 146 and 155 should be the same, but it appears the 145 is actually different..?

Attachment 125701
Basically it's the hub carrier you're after (the first three parts arrowed), but you should buy a new hub nut (fourth arrow) from Fiat when fitting.

I cant see how the 145 would be different tbh, it's more likely that the boxers are different to the twinsparks.

Is you car CF2 or CF3?
Swarlb's advice is the best option, get the chassis number and then you'll know for sure.
mo4 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 28 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by swarlb View Post
Have you the chassis no. of your car, there are different hubs fitted to GTV's even versions with the same engine. Why exactly do you need one, are you saying that someone removed the entire hub assy, and fitted a totally different one. What happened the original ? What were they trying to do, fit a new bearing, or hub ?

Exactly that. The car failed on the bearing. Guy took it to a mechanic, recommended by the NCT tester (I hear you thinking..!!) The guy just put on a hub he had lying around, rather than go to the trouble of pushing the old bearing out. Then just wrapped the ABS sensor round the hub, and "fixed" the light on the dash. Dunno how yet, but the clocks have definitely been removed recently.
pendragonfalls is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 28 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo4 View Post
Basically it's the hub carrier you're after (the first three parts arrowed), but you should buy a new hub nut (fourth arrow) from Fiat when fitting.

I cant see how the 145 would be different tbh, it's more likely that the boxers are different to the twinsparks.

Is you car CF2 or CF3?
Swarlb's advice is the best option, get the chassis number and then you'll know for sure.
Not sure if its CF2 or CF3..? how do I tell? I'm sure my mech will know.
The 145 hub has a row of teeth round it. The one on the spider didn't.
pendragonfalls is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 28 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
Oh, and the actual "stump" the bit stuck to the bottom of the shock is different.. He changed the whole lot over. But the ABS pick up on the original is different.
Basically, the blokes a cowboy..
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: The artist formerly known as Roarsbaby
AO Silver Member
 
Mufasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 5,833
Garage

Member car:

166V6,SudQO

Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
Oh, and the actual "stump" the bit stuck to the bottom of the shock is different.. He changed the whole lot over. But the ABS pick up on the original is different.
Basically, the blokes a cowboy..
Did you shoot him for the reward?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Clint_Eastwood.jpg (29.3 KB, 0 views)
Mufasa is offline  
Status: D'ya know how much rage I have in me!?
AO Silver Member
 
Mysterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 4,623

Member car:

Brera 2.0 JTDm

Mysterio is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
The 145 hub has a row of teeth round it. The one on the spider didn't.
I hope I'm wrong mate but that row of teeth is the trigger wheel for the abs I think. If the spider doesnt have that you could be looking at a new driveshft aswell, like I say I hope I'm wrong but I think the trigger wheel is always on the driveshaft and not the hub itself...

Unless your spider hasnt got abs at all?
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by propellorhead View Post
I think the trigger wheel is always on the driveshaft and not the hub itself...
Depends on year, early ones have a fat ABS sensor and trigger wheel on drivershaft, later ones have blade type ABS sensor and trigger ring on the back of the bearing same as 156/147/GT.
Pud237 is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
glad that was cleared up!
 
(Post Link) post #19 of 28 Old 12-09-11 Thread Starter
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,693
It has ABS. Its been hooked up to diag. And the drivers side is reading perfect. No teeth on that hub though, so it must be a later one.
A blade type sensor, not the one that looks like a liqorice allsort.
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,754
BTW I have 8 different varieties GTV/Spider hubs in stock and thats not all of them - feel free to give me a shout with your chassis number if you can't find one locally and I'll see if I have the one you need +44 1582 869 560
Pud237 is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
BTW I have 8 different varieties GTV/Spider hubs in stock and thats not all of them
so the 145 boxer hub could have been right, just not for this model spider
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by propellorhead View Post
so the 145 boxer hub could have been right, just not for this model spider
According to Eper its a different part number and not one that came fitted to any Spider from the factory, but that doesn't mean its not the same part, from the pictures they look the same. I guess the 145 Boxer hub with "antiskid" as eper calls it might be the same part as on the early Spider with the first generation ABS system.

One thing to bear in mind is that the 145 Boxer hub would need the 4x98 PCD hub flange pressed out and a Spider 5x98 PCD hub flange pressed in with a new wheel bearing otherwise the Spider's wheel would not bolt on.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is offline  
propellorhead
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
puds a legend
 
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,754
When you have a brain like a sponge & do nothing but Alfa parts for 45 hours a week it needs to sink in...
Pud237 is offline  
Mario Andretti
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Has the gunter got the old hub as if it helps you can use my bench press to replace the bearing as this could be your cheaper option but try mullingar dismantlers
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > Ireland > Republic of Ireland

Tags
assembly , hub , needed , urgent

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome