serious oil sump problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 23 Old 29-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

serious oil sump problem

Hi Lads,

What was to be a straight forward oil change last Saturday morning has turned into a nightmare. While releasing a very tight oil drainage plug (so tight I had to put a vicegrip onto the alan key) the inside of the oil sump has threaded itself so now the drainage plug will only go up a bit of the way and no further
So now I have a car with no oil and no means to fill her up.
Thanks to Dave's advice I rang the very helpful Kevin McBride in O'Donohues to see if they could helicoil (rethread) the sump which they can but the plug is a different size to the 156 and 147's and they dont have the right size helicoil kit for a 155. To order a kit is about €170 and it will probably be never used after that so before they even touch it I'm down €170. In the meantime they are trying to get a spare sump so they will ring me tomo hopefully with some good news. I have no wheels and the prospects are very grim. Any advice would be helpful, I have thought about fitting two washers to the drain plug and sticking it on to see if that would work. What do you think?

Dont bend the rules, Rule the bends
Alfa155 TS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
kikih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 574
What have you got to loose, I suppose it depends how many threads the plug goes in before it tightens, if it is only going in a couple of threads it may strip the remaining thread when it tightens against the washers. If you get it tight enough that there is no drip when the engine heats up I'd say your sorted, but I think it would only be a temporary fix until you find a replacement sump. Surely some engineering company would have a tap that size?
kikih is offline  
Status: BORED
 
David P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 85,180
Garage
How about a product something like this to bond the plug in place http://jbweld.net/products/jbweld.php or maybe another from their range http://jbweld.net/products/index.php
David P is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
is the 156/147 thread bigger? if so you might be able to find someone to tap a bigger thread and use a 156/147 sump plug...
Failing that get a 156/47 sump they should fit if its a 16valve....
biffa is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
IMO try & source another sump - unless you can get a helicoil guy round to sort it
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Leitrim
Posts: 18

Member car:

gtv

2 things

you can always bond the plug in place as its not a pressure casing so wont blow out,, just use proper stuff that doesnt go soft with heat,, --quick fix
drop the exhaust and replace the sump, and do the shells whilst your there and its off?? if its a 2ltr i have a sump there thats good --long term fix
marco98 is offline  
0of0
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sorry - can't believe folk are suggesting the 'bond' method
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Leitrim
Posts: 18

Member car:

gtv

the guy has no wheels mate for the sake of a sump plug?? bond it change the oil and sort it after the winter,!!

either way its fecked and to be honest having been in engineering for 15 years and have done many helicoils on all sorts of machines and materials of all sizes,, i personally wouldnt helicoil a sump plug on my own car, i'd replace the sump. or have the plug hole repaired by alloy filling and then re-drilled and tapped,
second hand sump 40euro? new shells around 50? sealant for a 5iver and a stronger bottom end all round

considering the quotes i know what id be doing
marco98 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 23 Old 30-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

Okay was onto my good friend Gerry in Ti and O'Donohues have already been onto him about helicoiling it. However Gerry was explainig to me that there is a skinny 8v oil sump on that engine. The skinnys came with 12mm plug and the wide bodies came with an 8mm plug however in 1996 when mine was built a few 155s came with either 12mm or 8mm!!! He as with O'Donohoes can do the newer sump but not the older sump. So at the moment O'Donohoes are trying to contact an engineer who may have an 8v kit. Fingers crossed. I should know this morning.
A few of you have made reference to a new sump. Well I thought this would be hard to come by as no breakers strip down engines, otherwise they would find it hard selling the engine with bits gone off it. Also regarding the compounds, I have used them on my passenger wing mirror, we call it metal glue. I used the Unibond brand stuff and its still holding but yes that would be a temporary measure.

Marco you are more than welcome to try helicoil if I have no success here
Alfa155 TS is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 23 Old 30-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

Okay does anybody have a secondhand sump? Just got the call from O'Donohoes and they got the right size kit but it cant be coiled because of the condition of the plug.
Alfa155 TS is offline  
mo4
Status: back in a 156
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 731
Sorry to hear of your woes , there's a few on ebay
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/alfa-romeo-156...item2a02297d27

the chances of getting a 155 one with the oil temp and level senders are slim, but sumps from 145,146,156 or gtv should fit. The 166 one will NOT fit.
I've a 146 one on mine.
mo4 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 23 Old 30-10-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

have been told of a 155 in Tullamore being broke for parts but I might get the sump. She is the same spec as mine 2.0l etc. Was also offered a 98 GTV 2.0 sump
Alfa155 TS is offline  
Status: D'ya know how much rage I have in me!?
AO Silver Member
 
Mysterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 4,623

Member car:

Brera 2.0 JTDm

Mark, have you tried going to an alfa dealership ? Don't think a sump would be that much + it's brand new
Mysterio is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Ohh god sumps are mental money from Alfa lol.
 
Status: D'ya know how much rage I have in me!?
AO Silver Member
 
Mysterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 4,623

Member car:

Brera 2.0 JTDm

As I said, don't know the prices for parts for alfa's. Anyway there's a scrap yard around Redcow near Naas Road. Don't know the exact place, but you could try over there.

Anyway tomorrow I'm going in Swords and I'll be stopping at the scrap yard in Airside to ask them. If my info is correct the car is a '96 155 2.0 TS, no ?
Mysterio is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You would be correct man. With either a 8mm or 12mm sump plug.
 
(Post Link) post #17 of 23 Old 01-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

Sump should be an 8mm plug. NOT 12mm

its been off the road now a week and oh how I miss her
Alfa155 TS is offline  
mo4
Status: back in a 156
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 731
Yep I missed mine too when driving the Xsara

Did you order the one off the bay? it sold for 40 quid good deal if you got it?
mo4 is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 23 Old 03-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

No Morgan didnt get it, I didnt have time been mad busy lately but will have a look tonight, I have a few lads looking out for me aswell
Alfa155 TS is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 23 Old 10-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

alright lads, finally got her back today. And yet again Gerry Campbell came to the rescue. The very very helpful Kevin McBride in Donohues has a 155 engine at home belonging to Gerrys son who is going to put it into a 145
So they let Kevin take the sump off it for mine So all is sorted however, the deal means I have to get a replacement for Gerrys son so if anybody knows of any 145, 146, 155 or 156 sump for a 2.0 engine let me know. I think a GTV will do aswell.
As a side note I cant help but praise the staff in Donohues who were very helpful. I know I have slated dealerships before but thats because I have had bad experiences with them on each occasion but I can give a for Donohues. Very good.

Last edited by Alfa155 TS; 10-11-09 at 12:32.
Alfa155 TS is offline  
Status: D'ya know how much rage I have in me!?
AO Silver Member
 
Mysterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 4,623

Member car:

Brera 2.0 JTDm

The breakers in airside have a 2.0 litre 156 over there. might worth a check.
Mysterio is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 23 Old 10-11-09 Thread Starter
Status: Giggity Giggity...... Giggitygoo
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa155 TS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 3,230

Member car:

75 2.0 8v

have you a number for them? or whats their name I'll look up the golden pages
Alfa155 TS is offline  
Status: D'ya know how much rage I have in me!?
AO Silver Member
 
Mysterio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 4,623

Member car:

Brera 2.0 JTDm

Joe Bolands (01)8401907 they had a mobile no. as well, but i've lost it, u may find it in golden pages as well.
Mysterio is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > Ireland > Republic of Ireland

Tags
oil , problem , serious , sump

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16 important OIL questions and answers oilman Alfa 147, 156 & GT 339 03-06-18 10:39
Oils!!!!! badsud Alfa 33, Sud & Sprint 21 20-08-09 16:54
Alfa 156 JTS Oil and Sump Problem mertondrive Alfa 147, 156 & GT 3 11-10-08 12:32
Buying Oil, Some Basic Advice From Opie Oils oilman Alfa 155 0 11-05-07 13:39
Oil labelling explained oilman Alfa 147, 156 & GT 10 29-11-06 11:57

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome