All-Ireland Re-Map Session? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Republic of Ireland All events and potential meets in Ireland

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 82 Old 24-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Howdy all

Would any of ye have any interest in getting your Alfas remapped later on in the year (Sept/Oct)?

It's next on my to-do list and it seems that there are a shortage of well regarded tuners (as far as AR goes) over here, so I was going to look into the possibility of getting one of the recognised English outfits over (only makes sense if we have enough to make it worth their while).

Will let the Nordies know as well

(There was an Angel Tuning Rep promoting himself here a few months back-anyone take him up on his offer?)
CCOVICH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

I have tried it already. There was no real interest and for the Non diesel members it's not worth the chunk of change they are asking. 300 plus euro for a remap from Angel the last time he was onto me.

https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/repub...-road-day.html

And I tried to organise a remap thread too like yourself. There was interest but no commitment to it in the end. And most people didn't really think the money spent was worth the net gain from the remap. And unless your getting cams etc it's not really worth the effort.
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 82 Old 24-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Yeah, I figured that there wouldn't be much interest from non-JTDs (and we don't have many of them), but didn't want to exclude anybody

Que sera sera.....
CCOVICH is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Ahh ya. I wasn't putting down the thread etc was just saying don't be too disappointed if the people don't come running lol.
 
(Post Link) post #5 of 82 Old 24-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Just throwing it out there-I'll be getting it done regardless, I would rather use someone who has done Alfas before (anyone in Ireland???), but if not, I will go to someone over here.

I'll bump this every so often.
CCOVICH is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

The only person I know that is very good with diesels is Martin Tracy in Westward. He is out in Enfield in Co. Meath Westward Precision Engineering . Also Phil D here owns a tuning company. Not sure if they do diesels though. They are in the North so a bit of a spin.
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Mindbullets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 20

Member car:

'07 GT 1.9 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Sorry to hijack but what else should you really be getting done if you get it remapped?
Mindbullets is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Tee-O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Naas, Ireland
Posts: 890

Member car:

GT Monza 1.9JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Ciaran, my warranty isn't up until next Jan so I'll be steering clear of any re-map until then if I still have the car. Still looking into the tuning box add-on but need to do a bit more research
Tee-O is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mindbullets View Post
Sorry to hijack but what else should you really be getting done if you get it remapped?
Nothing really if the car is of good health. What I would reccomend post remap is upping the servicing on the car. As you are putting the engine under extra stress.
 
(Post Link) post #10 of 82 Old 24-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mindbullets View Post
Sorry to hijack but what else should you really be getting done if you get it remapped?
I asked Gerry in Ti about this and he was of the view, if you drive the car hard, yes, you will need new clutches and turbos, but if you don't trash it, he didn't see why existing kit wasn't ok.

Now, Gerry would know that I had a new clutch fitted not that long ago, so plenty of wear left on that, and, my main motivation for getting this done is the increased torque at lower revs and not higher speeds.

The (new) Cloverleaf GT has a 'sport' button that increases the bhp by 20-30 bhp, in what I assume is pretty much the same engine in older GTs....

Others seem to say that an uprated clutch and a Q2 are a necessity. You will get much more informed opinions than mine elsewhere on this site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tee-O View Post
Ciaran, my warranty isn't up until next Jan so I'll be steering clear of any re-map until then if I still have the car. Still looking into the tuning box add-on but need to do a bit more research
Too much mixed opinion about these for my liking Tom-I'll be going with the remap. If I knew you would be up for a remap in Jan, I would gladly hold off until then and get the suspension upgraded first

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_C View Post
The only person I know that is very good with diesels is Martin Tracy in Westward. He is out in Enfield in Co. Meath Westward Precision Engineering . Also Phil D here owns a tuning company. Not sure if they do diesels though. They are in the North so a bit of a spin.
Cheers.

Last edited by Damien_C; 25-02-09 at 13:07.
CCOVICH is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

I just merged your posts bud to keep the thread neet.
 
Status: King of the Arcade
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa_Daryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 2,133

Member car:

BMW E92 320D

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

I was recommended

Chipped Ireland - Homepage

by alfatuner (member in the uk). He reckons they are the best in Ireland.... they still dont do the JTS though
Alfa_Daryl is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

I've never heard of them.
 
(Post Link) post #14 of 82 Old 25-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa_Daryl
I was recommended

Chipped Ireland - Homepage

by alfatuner (member in the uk). He reckons they are the best in Ireland.... they still dont do the JTS though
They still haven't responded to my e-mail from 2 days ago. They are based in Straffan apparently (which would be very handy for me!). I did see them mentioned on Octane.ie-not too popular with the Bimmer heads I think....

As for remapping a JTS, I'm not sure that many in the UK even do it.

I actually was looking at a thread in the UK North West Lounge on a group buy and thought that would be alright, ferry from Dublin to Liverpool......just priced it on P&O-over on Friday night, back on Saturday night, a shade under €300-FFS-would be cheaper bring the engine and ECU as checked baggage on Ryanair.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_C
I just merged your posts bud to keep the thread neet.
No bother and cheers.
CCOVICH is offline  
Status: Back in the fold!
AO Member
 
manails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Donegal
Posts: 279

Member car:

GT Blackline

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCOVICH View Post
I actually was looking at a thread in the UK North West Lounge on a group buy and thought that would be alright, ferry from Dublin to Liverpool......just priced it on P&O-over on Friday night, back on Saturday night, a shade under €300-FFS-would be cheaper bring the engine and ECU as checked baggage on Ryanair.
Thought about this myself a few weeks ago when the UK SW crew were going to red dot. Would it not be possible to go over and back in one day, should bring the price down a fair bit?
manails is offline  
Status: King of the Arcade
AO Silver Member
 
Alfa_Daryl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 2,133

Member car:

BMW E92 320D

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Either way a very costly trip if thats all your going for. I'm still going to try merge it sometime with a 5 day trip with herself. Couldnt justify going over purely for a remap.
Alfa_Daryl is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 82 Old 26-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by manails View Post
Thought about this myself a few weeks ago when the UK SW crew were going to red dot. Would it not be possible to go over and back in one day, should bring the price down a fair bit?
Well, I only checked P&O and the sailings to Liverpool were 10am and 10 pm-if you were going to Red Dot, you would struggle to make it. Anywhere in the NW could be feasible I guess. I was looking at 10pm departure on Friday and back at the same time on Saturday.

However, unless the cost was something like the €50-€100 range return, I don't think it would be worth it. But if you find a route and price that works, let me know .

P.S. where in Donegal are you based? I'm from around Letterkenny originally.
CCOVICH is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
cartech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 38

Member car:

many

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCOVICH View Post
They still haven't responded to my e-mail from 2 days ago. They are based in Straffan apparently (which would be very handy for me!). I did see them mentioned on Octane.ie-not too popular with the Bimmer heads I think....
Hi , Regarding the BMW thing . Chippeduk flew over to Ireland to do a good few bmw's and did a poor job . At the time I was Listed as one of his dealers since I bought equipment off him .Because of that I got the heat for all the crappy work he had done .

Ive nothing got to do with chippeduk in any way or form .

Regarding my tuning for BMW , I cant be that bad since I helped Gus with the mapping of a E46 330d in the 24hour in Silverstone . The car came second

Check out VAGdrivers and you will get the real picture what Chipped Ireland are about

Regards Joe Power

And Yes , We can do the JTS

Last edited by cartech; 26-02-09 at 12:11.
cartech is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

What about the older cars and how are they mapped on a roller or road maped?
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
cartech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 38

Member car:

many

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien_C View Post
What about the older cars and how are they mapped on a roller or road maped?
We can map them on a roller , all based on correct afr and ignition timing .

Regarding "live mapping " , not all ecu's can be live mapped due to the electronics , checksums , time and cost

Live mapping is a long process that can normally take about 2 days to do with the flash chips been replaced with a socket and using an emulator connected dirrectly to the ecu .

Regarding the JTS . This Motronic ecu can only be done in whats call boot mode , the ecu has to be opened and a couple of resisters soldered onto the board to force the ecu into a "boot diagnostics" mode .

This is the ONLY way to do this ecu , even alfa cant get into them to update the flash
cartech is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 82 Old 26-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: Formerly 166, GT, 147,155,33
AO Silver Member
 
CCOVICH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Kildare
Posts: 2,429

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartech View Post
Hi , Regarding the BMW thing . Chippeduk flew over to Ireland to do a good few bmw's and did a poor job . At the time I was Listed as one of his dealers since I bought equipment off him .Because of that I got the heat for all the crappy work he had done .

Ive nothing got to do with chippeduk in any way or form .

Regarding my tuning for BMW , I cant be that bad since I helped Gus with the mapping of a E46 330d in the 24hour in Silverstone . The car came second

Check out VAGdrivers and you will get the real picture what Chipped Ireland are about

Regards Joe Power

And Yes , We can do the JTS
Thanks for the info-just to say that there were no details on Octane, but it was just that I'd come across the thread while searching.

Are you based in Staffan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartech
Regarding the JTS . This Motronic ecu can only be done in whats call boot mode , the ecu has to be opened and a couple of resisters soldered onto the board to force the ecu into a "boot diagnostics" mode .
I presume the JTD map is a lot more straightforward?
CCOVICH is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartech View Post
We can map them on a roller , all based on correct afr and ignition timing .

Regarding "live mapping " , not all ecu's can be live mapped due to the electronics , checksums , time and cost

Live mapping is a long process that can normally take about 2 days to do with the flash chips been replaced with a socket and using an emulator connected dirrectly to the ecu .

Regarding the JTS . This Motronic ecu can only be done in whats call boot mode , the ecu has to be opened and a couple of resisters soldered onto the board to force the ecu into a "boot diagnostics" mode .

This is the ONLY way to do this ecu
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Comokid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Londonderry
Posts: 282
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

An All-Ireland Re-Map Session!!!

Jeez, you had better keep that quiet from the DUP. There'll be all sorts of ructions.
Comokid is offline  
Status: Back in the fold!
AO Member
 
manails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ireland
County: Donegal
Posts: 279

Member car:

GT Blackline

Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCOVICH View Post
Well, I only checked P&O and the sailings to Liverpool were 10am and 10 pm-if you were going to Red Dot, you would struggle to make it. Anywhere in the NW could be feasible I guess. I was looking at 10pm departure on Friday and back at the same time on Saturday.

However, unless the cost was something like the €50-€100 range return, I don't think it would be worth it. But if you find a route and price that works, let me know .

P.S. where in Donegal are you based? I'm from around Letterkenny originally.
Had a quick look at ferry prices there, €240 with irish ferries There is an offer on at the moment of €70 each way, but only during the week. Looking at the ferry times i think your right abouy having to stay overnight.

From Ardara, so bout 35mins from Letterkenny
manails is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: All-Ireland Re-Map Session?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cartech View Post
We can map them on a roller , all based on correct afr and ignition timing .

Regarding "live mapping " , not all ecu's can be live mapped due to the electronics , checksums , time and cost

Live mapping is a long process that can normally take about 2 days to do with the flash chips been replaced with a socket and using an emulator connected dirrectly to the ecu .

Regarding the JTS . This Motronic ecu can only be done in whats call boot mode , the ecu has to be opened and a couple of resisters soldered onto the board to force the ecu into a "boot diagnostics" mode .

This is the ONLY way to do this ecu , even alfa cant get into them to update the flash

Nice one man. I'll put my car up to your test if ye want to do it cheaper to gain some interest in Alfa drivers.
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > Ireland > Republic of Ireland

Tags
allireland , remap , session

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome