Real ale drinkers - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

16Likes

(Post Link) post #1 of 29 Old 06-03-16 Thread Starter
AO Platinum Member

County: Phnom Penh

Member car:

CRV/Jaaag

Real ale drinkers

I like a pint. If I go in a pub and they have a beer I've never tried before I'll usually give it a go. If I go in a pub that has several to try, then if time allows, I'll give them all a go.

However, I don't have a beard with twigs in it, I don't have an MG, and I have been known to drink lager.

What I definitely don't do is go into a crowded pub at Friday lunchtime, when umpteen people are waiting to be served, and start asking for ****ing samples of this and that and start swilling them round my gob like Jilly ****ing Goolden. Buy a pint you **** and be quick about it. If it turns out you're not keen, write some tasting notes in your sad little book and then try something else.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Club Member
Membro Premio

Club Member Number: 59
Garage
Expert rantage.
AO Silver Member

County: Suffolk
When in my local Wetherspoons, they always have a selection of guest ales. I try, when they have it, to get Hobgoblin, but on the odd occasion that they don't have it, I will ask what dark ales they have, (normally at least one) and yes, I will ask to taste it, i.e drink it direct in one swallow, before buying it as once I tasted one, and it was as bitter as hell. I certainly would not ask to start tasting more than one though. If the ale I tried is not to my liking, I'll go for a lighter one I know.
AO Platinum Member

County: West Yorkshire
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

I had a similar experience in our local Sam Smiths some time ago. Strange pub chain to do beer tasting I know, but if you're new to the brand.