Microsoft Windows - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Microsoft Windows

What a sack of **** it really is.

Why do active windows have to be on top?

In a proper GUI environment, I can have a raft
of windows open and just hover the mouse on the window
where I want to type something and just type it. The window
will even stay behind everything else.

With Windoze you have to click on that window and pop it
to the top before you can type anything. Why !?!

****ing stupid, ****ing annoying.



Designed, by morons, for people who don't
actually need it to do anything at all. IMHO.







 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
HSTDriver
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

It does what it does, and that's enough for me.

I hate computer geekery
 
Status: Married
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
braddersR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 650
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 42,789
Re: Microsoft Windows

Ease up a bit Nev....... it's friday you know...
braddersR is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jamieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,485
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
With Windoze you have to click on that window and pop it
to the top before you can type anything. Why !?!
Designed, by morons, for people who don't
actually need it to do anything at all. IMHO.
You can change it work like x-windows, though:

x windows tweak ? - Technology Questions

Morons, eh? Lot of them about.
jamieboy is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,679
Re: Microsoft Windows



It's only one mouse click Nev.....
chrisd_b is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieboy View Post
You can change it work like x-windows, though:

x windows tweak ? - Technology Questions
Good try.

But no, that still pops the active window to the front.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisd_b View Post


It's only one mouse click Nev.....

But no, that still pops the active window to the front.



But no, that still pops the active window to the front.

But no.......
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
corbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,610
Re: Microsoft Windows

I tell you what annoys me more than having to click the mouse...
...being expected to compile a program before I can run it.

Windows has its flaws, Vista is a sack of ****, but Linux isn't ready for me and OSX isn't supported on my vanilla x86 box (not officially anyway), so Windows it is.

That and Amiga OS 4
corbo is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by corbo View Post
I tell you what annoys me more than having to click the mouse...
...being expected to compile a program before I can run it.

Windows has its flaws, Vista is a sack of ****, but Linux isn't ready for me and OSX isn't supported on my vanilla x86 box (not officially anyway), so Windows it is.

That and Amiga OS 4
No hijacking.

This is a major anti Windows rant going on here!!!


I don't want to here about any other betterworse O/S\Environment

Windows kicking or nothin' on here!!!










()
 
Status: -
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,679
Re: Microsoft Windows

Ok - just found the answer to your problem Nev

Just click and all your windows troubles will be sorted


+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

Last edited by chrisd_b; 31-10-08 at 16:53.
chrisd_b is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

"We're Sorry This Video Is No Longer Available" ?


Yup, that about sums up my Windows "experience" all round.



GAAAAAaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!





( )
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jamieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Edinburgh
Posts: 2,485
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
Good try.

But no, that still pops the active window to the front.
Fair enough, I missed the fact that you were wanting to be able to type in a window that you couldn't see. Joking apart, I do actually know what you mean, and it can be handy.

Apologies - like I said, there are morons all over the place.
jamieboy is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamieboy View Post
Fair enough, I missed the fact that you were wanting to be able to type in a window that you couldn't see. Joking apart, I do actually know what you mean, and it can be handy.

Apologies - like I said, there are morons all over the place.
Dude, it's Windows that's getting the ranting, not you.



I'm going to get in my Brera and take the long way home now.
Maybe that'll help................
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
corbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,610
Re: Microsoft Windows

How about this to enable focus follows mouse in Windows?

True X-Mouse Gizmo for Windows

Haven't tried it but it looks like the kiddie.

EDIT:
Yep it works nicely, think I'll keep that on my PC.

Edit:
now wind your neck in Nev
corbo is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,679
Re: Microsoft Windows

Try this


YouTube - How to Do Breathing Exercises : Humming Bee Breathing Exercises

for some reason it won't embed properly
chrisd_b is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,679
Re: Microsoft Windows

dbl post......bah..
chrisd_b is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Kevin Slegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 15,298
Re: Microsoft Windows

GET A MAC NEV
Kevin Slegg is offline  
GJ
Status: Relaxed
AO Platinum Member
 
GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,658

Member car:

Spider S4

Re: Microsoft Windows

Come on Nev..... get a grip

You can't blame all the ills of the world on Microsoft....

If you think you can improve their products why not have a go [I'm serious]. There are many examples of individuals who have profited by offering simple solutions to apparently complex problems.
GJ is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by corbo View Post
How about this to enable focus follows mouse in Windows?

True X-Mouse Gizmo for Windows

Haven't tried it but it looks like the kiddie.

EDIT:
Yep it works nicely, think I'll keep that on my PC.

Edit:
now wind your neck in Nev


Oooh, Will try that on Monday!

Although it doesn't seem so important on a Saturday morning
compared to a Friday evening.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Slegg View Post
GET A MAC NEV
Based on my use of "Sofar,eh?" and "iTunas" : Meh!
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Kevin Slegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 15,298
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfaGJ View Post
Come on Nev..... get a grip

You can't blame all the ills of the world on Microsoft....
.
Yes you can
Kevin Slegg is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
corbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,610
Re: Microsoft Windows

Yeah, you probably can
corbo is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Microsoft Windows

They should rename it "window" because you can only really work on one thing at once with that poxy os ...
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfaredthegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,262
Re: Microsoft Windows

I have been using Microsoft's TweakUI for years because this irritates the hell out of me too.

It's still a little clunky as it screws up some pop-up menus (which need to retain the focus).

This is definitely an irritation I share.

Worse still is when Windows steals the focus.

For example - the computer may have downloaded and installed an unpdate to windows which needs a reboot. Periodically a pop up appears asking you whether to reboot now or later. Each time it grabs the focus. It is very easy whilst typing to hit a "return", which after the focus having been stolen means your PC reboots.

This is so maddening. At least give us three options:
1. reboot now
2. reboot later
3. Complete installation when I next reboot (STOP PROMPTING ME!!!)

Drives me nuts.
alfaredthegreat is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Microsoft Windows

Hmm can you tell me 'n' AlfaRed do exactly the same type of work?


TXMouse does make windows work how it should.
(i.e. like X11)

Thanks Corbo!
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfaredthegreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,262
Re: Microsoft Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
Hmm can you tell me 'n' AlfaRed do exactly the same type of work?


TXMouse does make windows work how it should.
(i.e. like X11)

Thanks Corbo!
Yay! It is good. Isn't it just. Thanks Corbo!
alfaredthegreat is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
corbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 1,610
Re: Microsoft Windows

No problem

That's my biggest bugbear Alfaredthegreat, when Windows is so desperate for your attention it gives every prompt focus no matter how menial.
corbo is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Rant Room

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome