Swapping mobile phone provider - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 01-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: Married
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
braddersR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 650
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 42,784
Swapping mobile phone provider

I'm in the middle of swapping from Orange (pay monthly) to Virgin media (sim only pay monthly)....and guess what....all is not going smoothly......

To start with I wanted to take both mine and the misses phone numbers from orange to virgin......no problem..they sent me the PAC code through the post within a week....great...

The next step is the code for the Handset to unlock them so we can put the virgin sim in..etc....sort of ok....got the unlocking code for my phone and all is well. Handset unlocked and virgin sim in ...number transferred and away we go.....

Now the trouble begins......where's the unlocking code for the samsung handset....????

After numerous calls and a couple of emails...the news to date is that orange can't supply me with the code because samsung haven't got it!!!

Are they having a laugh.... ....of the many thousands of handsets they have made, whats the chances the one for our handset as gone walkies...

I can feel a letter to OFCOM comin on.....

Has anyone else had a similar problem....
braddersR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

The system should be flawless.

Unfortunately the scumbag networks have broken it on purpose.




Unlock codes for handsets are normally generated on the fly
by tapping the IMEI number into a program.

They are lying.
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 01-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: Married
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
braddersR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 650
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 42,784
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
The system should be flawless.

Unfortunately the scumbag networks have broken it on purpose.




Unlock codes for handsets are normally generated on the fly
by tapping the IMEI number into a program.

They are lying.
Thats what I thought.....i was tempted to just pay 10 to a guy in the local shopping centre and be done with it...
braddersR is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

Isn't there a dodgy looking geezer on a stall at your local market who'll do it for a fiver?
 
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

Get Virgin to cough for a new phone.
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Tony Rome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Germany
County: Berlin
Posts: 1,815
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nev View Post
Unlock codes for handsets are normally generated on the fly by tapping the IMEI number into a program.
Normally, but not always. Some of the newer phones cannot be unlocked by a third party using such a program. I had a phone which could only be unlocked by removing part of the motherboard and doing some soldering! However, if the phone came from Orange, they are supposed to retain the unlock code for it. What's more, they are legally obliged to give it to you, if requested.

I never understood the point of locking phones on contract anyway. I mean, if you're paying a monthly fee and then decide to use a different SIM from an alternative provider, you're still going to have to continue to pay the monthly fee until the contract ends. So, why lock it?

Everybody stay calm. Don't panic. It's just the end of the world. It'll be all right, as long as we all keep chanting.
Tony Rome is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 10 Old 25-10-08 Thread Starter
Status: Married
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
braddersR's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 650
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 42,784
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

UPdate on the unlocking code......

Went to stall in the local shopping centre and for £9.99 the handset was unlocked within 5 minutes...

Had to phone orange for a new PAC code which they gave me over the phone this time.... and the transfer went through pretty smoothly...
braddersR is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
GTA Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 14,575

Member car:

147 GTA

Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

Nice work bradders
GTA Jim is offline  
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

£10 is still a bit of a con. It cost nothing.


SFR gave me the unlock code for the LG Viewty I got
6 months ago, gratis.


Anyone want an LG Viewty?
 
Status: Fixing the niggles...
AO Member
 
kiscix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 349
Re: Swapping mobile phone provider

I've been with O2 since they were Cellnet back in about '96. Never received a phone from them with a simlock.

I've avoided Vodaphone, Orange etc purely because they make it as hard as possible to do what you've described - getting PAC codes on their own is often hard to impossible and there is no excuse for locking any phone for any reason IMHO. It just comes down to company greed.

Besides, I want the phone the way the manufacturer intended, not the way Vodaphone/Orange decided to cripple it for their own ends

I do feel for you though, my brief move to 3 and back was really, truely painful.
kiscix is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Rant Room

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome