Variable speed Limits - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 28 Old 01-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: Busso Power!
AO Silver Member
 
Biscione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,284

Member car:

147 GTA Q2

Variable speed Limits

Ok firstly mods apologose if this is in the incorret forum.

Does anybody else find these VSR's on the M25 annoying and dangerous?

I was on the M25 yesterday the sign on the gantry lit up to signal 60mph. My first reaction along with many others was to slow down to said speed. I then decided to move over from lane 1 to lane 3 so as not to hold up Mr white van behind. Ok im now on lane 3 (of the 4 lane m25 - j14 I think), doing 60 mph, however I noticed that ALL the traffic was doing the same speed. I tried to position myself so as not to appear in the blindspots of other traffic and also stick to the 60 MPH which might I add is quite a tricky task in a peaky little car!

Now in my limited experience, surely these VSR's are dangerous, causing drivers to change lane, and brake on a busy Mway. ok there is an argument that I could have stayed in lane 1 and stayed at 60mph however I'd rather not be pushed along by traffic behind and much rather let vehicles who want to motor do just that. I also think if somone has a blow out etc when doing the same speed surely the affects will be worse as opposed to a normal motorway with traffic at varying speeds.

I'd love to see before and after crash statistics for sections of motorway with VSR installes I'm pretty sure the number of crashes would increase. I'm also convinced that the poor standards of driving I see around is due to us being force fed what speeds to drive at etc, surely this reduces common sense and roadcraft amongst drivers.

Love to hear your opinions on this!
Biscione is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Re: Variable speed Limits

They work well enough on the M42 but I can't speak for the M25.
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:26.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:26.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Re: Variable speed Limits

Quote:
... all that happens is people (i.e. me) slam on the brakes for the cameras and then floor it between them, this causes a huge concertina effect
when if you actually stayed at 60 between the cameras there wouldn't be any concertina affect....
Harry1 is offline  
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Re: Variable speed Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry1 View Post
when if you actually stayed at 60 between the cameras there wouldn't be any concertina affect....
That is so true. VSR is good if you abide bythe posted limits. PS. On the M42, you can use the hard shoulder in parts too
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:26.
156Chris is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 28 Old 01-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: Busso Power!
AO Silver Member
 
Biscione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,284

Member car:

147 GTA Q2

Re: Variable speed Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadrone Rosso View Post
That is so true. VSR is good if you abide bythe posted limits. PS. On the M42, you can use the hard shoulder in parts too
I think thats an appalling idea....

1. i'd hate to be changing a tyre when the hard shoulder is open

2. if in lane 1 you are likely to get loads of crap thrown up from the person driving in the hard shoulder
Biscione is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jabberwocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,866
Re: Variable speed Limits

on my last day on earth i will be murdering the dickheads in charge of the vsl on the M42 very slowly with sharp things or maybe blunt things

for some reason they insist on reducing the motorway to 40mph 2 miles before roadworks and frequently 1 mile AFTER roadworks and randomly throwing in a 20 mph lane for one camera before taking it back to 40mph,

the signs showing the speed limit are too small and way too bright so its difficult to tell 60 from 50 from 40 until you are too close to the damn thing and have to slam on your brakes, 44 tonne trucks dont slow down all that quickly

if one lane shows 20mph and another 40mph(which happens regularly on the m42) everyone swerves into the 40mph lane at the last minute.

the other night they had the signs up saying that a junction was closed so for some utterly unfathomable reason they had the whole motorway down to 40 mph for 5 miles before the junction at 11pm WTF, there was about 10 cars on the road, idiots.

fortunately i come back a different way but i used to drive back along the m42 at about 3am and they would still have all the signs up and limit down to 30mph for congestion from the previous evenings rush hour, so me and the other 3 trucks on the road would have to crawl along at 30mph

as for driving on the hard shoulder, whichever moron came up with that idea should be made to sit on the hard shoulder with 44 tonne trucks bearing down on them at 56mph
jabberwocky is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 28 Old 02-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: Busso Power!
AO Silver Member
 
Biscione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,284

Member car:

147 GTA Q2

Re: Variable speed Limits

** Ar 145 begins to research into companies who manufacture numberplates that cameras can't read**
Biscione is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:28.
156Chris is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 28 Old 02-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: Busso Power!
AO Silver Member
 
Biscione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,284

Member car:

147 GTA Q2

Re: Variable speed Limits

Where did you hear glowing reviews from?? A government report?
Biscione is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:28.
156Chris is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 28 Old 02-05-08 Thread Starter
Status: Busso Power!
AO Silver Member
 
Biscione's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 2,284

Member car:

147 GTA Q2

Re: Variable speed Limits

ok,
Biscione is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jabberwocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,866
Re: Variable speed Limits

the m42 runs just south of birmingham, so hardly oop north unless you are a little londoner, then of course anything north of brent cross shopping centre is oop north init.
jabberwocky is offline  
Status: Sold the 147
AO Member
 
Warsash 147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southampton
Posts: 443
Re: Variable speed Limits

Personally I think the variable speed limit works ok I've only done the M25 twice & M42 a dozen times, but it seems better than the free for all we get on the M27. Apart from the a**ehole who wants to do 70 when you're dong 50 who tries to run you off the road.

What winds me up is the average speed cameras we're getting on the M27 in the roadworks, seems easy to me - start at 50 as per limit stick cruise contol on then hey presto you average 50 but no, half the nutters belt past you then haven't got a clue what their average speed is until they get the speeding ticket on the door mat. No, I'm not generally a boring fart who sticks to speed limits on motorways but don't see the point in speeding when the cameras are so obvious!
Warsash 147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:29.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:29.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfaspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 2,263
Re: Variable speed Limits

Wait.....There are variable speed limits on the M25?? ****** it!!!!! Probably get a speeding fine in the next few days then. Just what i need.
Alfaspeed is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:35.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jabberwocky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,866
Re: Variable speed Limits

one thing ive never been sure of with these variable speed limits is when the lights are off are the cameras still on? do they get all the beemers and mercs who fly past at 90mph? or do the speed limit signs have to be on for the cameras to work?
jabberwocky is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Alfaspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 2,263
Re: Variable speed Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by jabberwocky View Post
one thing ive never been sure of with these variable speed limits is when the lights are off are the cameras still on? do they get all the beemers and mercs who fly past at 90mph? or do the speed limit signs have to be on for the cameras to work?
I dont know but they were saying 60 when i went sailing threw!!! Wasnt the only people doing it and (maybe a little foolishly) i put trust in the others thinking they knew what they were doing. I guess time will tell. Dont remember seeing any flashes though. I wont tell the other half until i have to....then she'll cut off my balls!
Alfaspeed is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
themole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 507

Member car:

156 V6

Lick Re: Variable speed Limits

The M42 VSR works well during rush hour it keeps the traffic flowing at a constant speed and it uses the hard shoulders for people exiting at the next junction. For breakdowns there are cutouts in the bank to pull into at regular intervals.

Now the good stuff has been said lets start with the bad

driving home from a course i get onto the M42 north bound driving along quite happily then big signs saying lane closure ahead and the speed limits start to show 60, at the next gantry 50 the next gantry 40 an so on until two lanes were closed and the speed limit was down to 20. This lasted for over 4 miles even though the reason for this closure was a traffic womble picking up broken pieces of wing mirror with one of the highways agency crash barrier Lorries providing backup

The propeller at the front of an aeroplane is only there as a fan to keep the pilot cool. When it stops watch him sweat
themole is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Re: Variable speed Limits

.

Last edited by 156Chris; 10-12-08 at 14:35.
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
themole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 507

Member car:

156 V6

Re: Variable speed Limits

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
You should've driven along the closed lane at 100mph and mown him down!!!
Thought about it but I didnít want to dent my Alfa or stain the arches

like i said in my previous post the VSR works but it is the Unreliably annoying, self important, bunch of F*&K*$G W£$%$£S that make life miserable for countless motorists everyday
themole is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Rant Room

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome