New Job Rant... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Rant Room Clean ranting only - No Swearing!

HSTDriver

New Job Rant...

Apologies for the long post, but here goes:

As most of you know, I'm a High speed train driver at Paddington, which is nce, but it's a long way to go to work. I also harbour a bit of an ambition to become a trainer/instructor driver, delivering the classroom based year long driver course, and also assessing both existing drivers and trainees on their actual driving out there in the real world.

So one day towards the end of last year I saw a position for a Trainer with my local train operating company, C2C, based just down the road from where I live. It looked ideal, close to home, the position and responsibility I'd love, with more 'regular' hours and more normal work pattern than my curent shifts.

So I applied for it, and recieved a phone call a week or so later saying they're very interested in me as an applicant, and they'll arrange an interview and assessment day shortly. Which they did, and I booked that day off work so I could make it.

They phoned up 3 days before that date and cancelled, saying they wanted to change the advert and position slightly, but they'd be in touch, because I was an excellent applicant, and they really wanted to see me. No problem, I thought. I'll wait it out.

And today (the 16th) at just after midday, I recieved a letter inviting me to another assessment/interview date.

It's this monday, the 18th at 09:00, and I should expect to be there until 17:00.

Which would have been fine, I'd have been jumping through hoops If they'd actually given me more than 1 and a half days notice.

I'm working at Great Western on monday, and it's too late to book a day off. Nor am I going to my boss (who I actually like and respect) to ask for special leave so I can attend an interview with another company.