How do you Handbrake? Do you ratchet or button? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Poll Room You got it, just random polls in here

View Poll Results: How do you use your handbrake?
Button down, all the way to the top. 24 60.00%
Button Down to the top and one last click on the ratchet. 6 15.00%
Ratchet all the way to the top. 7 17.50%
I don't use the handbrake, I just leave it in gear or use the footbrake/clutch. 3 7.50%
Voters: 40. You may not vote on this poll

 2Likes
  • 1 Post By ransoman
  • 1 Post By MrShusky
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 22 Old 04-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
How do you Handbrake? Do you ratchet or button?

Odd question I know but always been curious.

When I was taught to drive I was instructed to operate the handbrake by pressing the button before pulling it up. After passing my test I naturally started not pressing the button and instead just pulling it up on the ratchet with the associated crunching noise.

I notice from being in the passenger seat that I am very much in the Minority here. I much prefer the mechanical feedback of the Handbrake.

How do you use yours?
Major_Clanger likes this.
ransoman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: The BSD says konnichiwa
Global Mod Team
 
BigFoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Japan
County: Tokyo
Posts: 114,689
Button all the way
BigFoot is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,088
Button in, lift handle with what I think is the correct force, release button, pull lever to see if another notch is possible. Engine off, into first gear.
armoore is offline  
Status: Disillusioned and Disgruntled
AO Silver Member
 
MrShusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,381
To apply...
Always button in and pull gently to top, plus leave it parked in first gear.
To release...
Always button in and gently lower to bottom.


NEVER, as I often witness, pull handbrake up using a complete upper body sway to maximise leverage!
steveisfrowning likes this.
MrShusky is offline  
Status: T-5 Days to Unicorn Paradise
AO Platinum Member
 
TheGrimJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: France
County: Riviera
Posts: 38,319
These days it's the horrible flippy electronical one.



Otherwise button all the way and with the footbrake on + one ratchet extra if parked on a slope.
TheGrimJeeper is offline  
Status: Considering a ReMap
AO Silver Member
 
147virgin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 2,937
Garage
Button in and lift quietly. Actually get annoyed at myself if I accidentally ratchet it at the last wee bit.
147virgin is offline  
Status: Winning small victories
AO Platinum Member
 
73GTVJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 24,473
Up until this car, button in and ease the lever into position. New car, no handbrake at all, it's a horrid foot operated thing.
73GTVJim is offline  
Status: Knackered
AO Silver Member
 
stan laurel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Preston
County: Lancashire
Posts: 4,480
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 Ti

i hate the sound of ratchets.

button all the way
stan laurel is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
County: -
Posts: 65
Ok, what difference does it make to the car? I just pull the thing, I press the button only to release it (never been told to do in a specific way). Am I damaging something?
AlfaLivorno is offline  
Status: Disillusioned and Disgruntled
AO Silver Member
 
MrShusky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,381
Lazy operation wears out the ratchets and thus the handbrake may not hold in the future!
MrShusky is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 22 Old 05-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
Never done any of my or my mums cars any harm being used like this. I never put too much pressure on the handbrake and only pull it on untill it is comfortably on.
ransoman is offline  
Status: Meh....
AO Platinum Member
 
Verbout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 12,334
Garage

Member car:

Lexus

My handbrake is foot operated

And I regularly forget to take it off.
Verbout is offline  
Durty dog
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Button all the way, i hate the ratchet sound.
 
Status: Coffee with MILF
AO Platinum Member
 
Al Faromeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Netherlands
County: Limburg
Posts: 25,987
Button all the way when handbrake is called for (traffic lights, steep hill); when parking always leave it in gear.
Al Faromeo is offline  
Status: pa taket
AO Platinum Member
 
milowokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 22,748

Member car:

Jaguar XJR V8

Rarely use it, unless parked on a steep hill, and then it's button in and lift.
milowokie is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,023
I ratchet.

At least I know the handbrake is on then.
symon is online now  
Zoo
Status: TCT Changed my life!
AO Silver Member
 
Zoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 4,868
Garage
I ratchet! especially at garages where the smooth tarmac emits a satisfying screech from the back end
Zoo is online now  
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,928
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
Button in, lift handle with what I think is the correct force, release button, pull lever to see if another notch is possible. Engine off, into first gear.

this :tum:
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,839

Member car:

The train :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by armoore View Post
Button in, lift handle with what I think is the correct force, release button, pull lever to see if another notch is possible. Engine off, into first gear.
This but without putting it in gear unless it's on a hill, or I know that the handbrake is dodgy.
Starkers is offline  
Status: She's happy to pootle
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 16,672
button in all the way up.
Scudetto is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
chrishendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 10,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkers View Post
This but without putting it in gear unless it's on a hill, or I know that the handbrake is dodgy.
Where is the handbrake on an Intercity 125?
chrishendrix is online now  
Status: Thinking about a Scirrocco
AO Platinum Member
 
Starkers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brighton.
County: Good old Sussex by the sea
Posts: 12,839

Member car:

The train :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishendrix View Post
Where is the handbrake on an Intercity 125?
In the cab, stupid

Oh and Intercity 125? More like the intervillage 45....
Starkers is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Poll Room

Tags
button , handbrake , ratchet

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome