ground clearance - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Poll Room You got it, just random polls in here

View Poll Results: how do you cope with your 156 bottoming out?
Standard suspension - mine doesn't bottom out. 1 4.76%
Standard suspension - my undertray is crunched and I care not. 5 23.81%
Standard suspension - my undertray was deposited on the B269 months ago. 4 19.05%
Standard suspension - other. 4 19.05%
Lowered - mine doesn't bottom out (lies)! 1 4.76%
Lowered - mine bottoms out scarily. 1 4.76%
Lowered - I've removed the undertray and live in prayer and hope that I don't smash engine bits. 2 9.52%
I have a metal undertray - what's the problem. 3 14.29%
Voters: 21. You may not vote on this poll

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 19 Old 08-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,942
Garage
ground clearance

my 156, like the last one, bottoms out over speed bumps, dips and mucho cambered country roads - the front undertray is damaged easily and drags and scrapes etc.

How are other 156'ers coping with issue - especially those who have lowered their suspension?

Poll and advice, pls.
steveisfrowning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 19 Old 08-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: I'm not really here
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 76,942
Garage
Re: ground clearance

I'm an "other" BTW - in that my front end scrapes the undertray but I do worry and care, hence the post.

On the last 156 I had it removed, but I'm not happy to do that this time, but obviously it can't go on indefinitely.

Are ally trays any good? Anyone got similar experience and found a solution?

Cheers
steveisfrowning is offline  
Status: Splashing the puddles with new Pirelli boots
AO Member
 
alfarmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 821

Member car:

Brera 3.2 Q4 SV

Re: ground clearance

I had the same problem, standard suspension set-up. Road humps were the worst, they seemed to be tuned perfectly to throw the nose into the ground.

My solution? I bought a Brera!
alfarmus is offline  
Status: only got a renault truck
AO Silver Member
 
jason156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Powys
Posts: 3,013
Re: ground clearance

As the trays age they seem to "sag" in the middle, well mine has and I struggle up and down the farm tracks around here.
What I am going to do it fasten a piece of 40mm X 3mm thick steel acrross the back of my tray to hold it up, a stiffener as it were.
I have read that the ally trays are better in this respect, but they seem expensive for what thy do. I will try and post before and after pics.
jason156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfapersius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: kent
Posts: 1,294

Member car:

Ford Fiesta ST 3

Re: ground clearance

After much use of cable ties and string to keep mine in place it finally gave up and got removed at the last service. So I'm running without a tray on lowered suspension (including RHB shocks) and not had a problem yet (fingers crossed, touch wood, blah, blah.)
alfapersius is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Re: ground clearance

I've tied mine up as well - this seems to help on the wider speed bumps but the ones that look like squares do my nut. I used to speed over these, wheels either side, but no, not any more. Annoying thing is everyone else still speeds over them so drive right up your ar$e and get annoyed when you take your time.
Harry1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfapersius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: kent
Posts: 1,294

Member car:

Ford Fiesta ST 3

Re: ground clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry1 View Post
Annoying thing is everyone else still speeds over them so drive right up your ar$e and get annoyed when you take your time.
Know exactly what you mean, annoying "traffic calming" measures my ar55!

Good electical ties are perfect for securing the undertray if it is flapping at all, better than string.
alfapersius is offline  
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: ground clearance

I have the veloce setup. Therefore my car is 25mm lower than standard anyway. My car never came with an undertray. And tbh, I can't see why I would need one!

I might get an ally one at some point but I refuse to pay over a ton for it! Thats rediculous. Autodelta Rip offs.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
 
bazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 44,592

Member car:

AMG C63 estate

Re: ground clearance

Mine isn't lowered (although it is a GTA). It does ground out on speedbumps, and I deal with this by travelling excrutiatingly slowly over them
bazza is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Re: ground clearance

Standard (afaik). Bottoms out. Bugs the hell out of me but at least I now know it's not just my car that does it.

Mine had come away at the rear on the nearside and is now held on with a cable tie. I find it most offputting when driving "Spiritedly" on bumpy roads
count von count is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,872
Re: ground clearance

Mines a 2.4 JTD with Veloce suspension, and a heavy engine so far up front means I have to go very slowly over the wide speed-bumps, once or twice it has bottomed out but only if I've been going a bit too fast. The square ones, I take with a wheel each side, at whatever speed I want it makes no difference. My car has never had an undertray while I've owned it, which is why it probably doesn't catch over the square bumps.

Not had any problems with not having an undertray either, infact its handy as when I drop tools into the engine bay, they just fall out underneath the car
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7,679
Re: ground clearance

It was a right pain in the a.....

However I got it bolted down by a local friendly tyre & MOT company....

And it sorted the problem....



Chris
chrisd_b is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
puntomatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Up there
Posts: 689
Re: ground clearance

My undertray is well and truly smashed but there are still bit hanging on there. Gonna get an alu one before the end of the year.
puntomatt is offline  
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: ground clearance

Have sport pack springs on my V6 but with Bilstein dampers and the dampers make all the difference. Also an aluminium undertray fitted.

I dont have any major problems with bottoming out on bumpy roads (and there is one very bad road on my way to work which has some huge bumps and dips)

I have the full Zender bodykit fitted and this is the only part which causes any problem on speed bumps.............overall pretty happy with the setup.
Pascs is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Gary Slegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Wales
Posts: 16,710
Re: ground clearance

Shouldn't there be a "I don't own a 156" option
Gary Slegg is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Kevin Slegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 15,298
Re: ground clearance

Well's mine a standard Veloce = errhh so is that lowered or standard

But to right - it bottoms out all the bloomin time

Already replaced the undertray once
Kevin Slegg is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Trailbraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 5,179

Member car:

156 GTA

Re: ground clearance

Mines lowered and doesn't bottom out,
it was even comfier than standard until I started making the car slightly more focused.

Coilovers help big time

As standard my 156 2.0 T-spark sp2 scraped everywhere!
the GTA as standard was better for sure, but still poor in this regard.

Cheers,
TB
Trailbraker is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Trailbraker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 5,179

Member car:

156 GTA

Re: ground clearance

You are right Gary.

Steve : please add "I have a GTV, and yes they do scrape along the ground too!" option.

TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Slegg View Post
Shouldn't there be a "I don't own a 156" option
Trailbraker is offline  
Status: Meh.
AO Platinum Member
 
NineOneSix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hertfordshire
Posts: 30,067
Garage

Member car:

GTV V6 3.0

Re: ground clearance

Quote:
Originally Posted by OperationAlfa View Post
I have the veloce setup. Therefore my car is 25mm lower than standard anyway. My car never came with an undertray. And tbh, I can't see why I would need one!

I might get an ally one at some point but I refuse to pay over a ton for it! Thats rediculous. Autodelta Rip offs.
as far as i am aware the plastic original tray is about 90 quid, so 130 for an alu one isnt really that bad!
NineOneSix is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > Poll Room

Tags
clearance , ground

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome