Would you use a DIY car repair facility? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Poll Room You got it, just random polls in here

View Poll Results: Would you use a DIY car repair facility?
Yes 11 91.67%
No 0 0%
Depends... (explain) 1 8.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

(Post Link) post #1 of 10 Old 24-03-06 Thread Starter
AO Silver Member

County: Armed Forces Europe
Would you use a DIY car repair facility?

Just out of curiosity... here in Naples, Italy I have access to a facility where you can pay by the hour and be helped/advised by a professional mechanic for your repairs, even for belts & waterpump changes. You get access to the whole nine yards: tools and everything.

I'm a beginner but just by changing my brakes and resurfacing my rotors, I've saved a good 100 euros, more or less, and I also saved by shopping for parts. Then on the other hand I spent 3 hours of my week-end time, but I've learned plenty!

Do you guys have something similar in the UK? My mom told me that in France a chain doing just that has just come up and it seems to be working well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Platinum Member

Re: Would you use a DIY car repair facility?

Depends on how difficult the job was.
(Post Link) post #3 of 10 Old 24-03-06 Thread Starter
AO Silver Member

County: Armed Forces Europe

So, given that easy jobs (oil change, spark plugs change, tire rotation, etc...) tend to be much more frequent, it's an overall "yes", I take it?
VO2Max

Quote:
Originally Posted by pierre_samanni
Just out of curiosity... here in Naples, Italy I have access to a facility where you can pay by the hour and be helped/advised by a professional mechanic for your repairs, even for belts & waterpump changes. You get access to the whole nine yards: tools and everything.