cam belt change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
North Scotland All events and potential meets in North Scotland

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 26-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeen
Posts: 9

Member car:

156 2.0 jts

cam belt change

hi all i was wondering if anyone had the tools to change my timing belt as am led to belive i need them but i was thinking of just using the normal tools i would use in changing any other belt is this true if not could someone point me where to get them i have done a few timing belts but not on an alfa as am a new owner of a 156 2ltr jts. if anyone has them and lives near aberdeen i would pay deposit til i returned them if anyone had doubts of lending there tools out thanks.
skinny jts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
mikebrown
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: cam belt change

you will need a camlock...
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 26-02-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeen
Posts: 9

Member car:

156 2.0 jts

Re: cam belt change

yip but if i put molegrips on that could work and a screwdriver to find tdc but ov i would rather use the proper tools to be safe! does anyone own these items to do it correct?
skinny jts is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 45
Re: cam belt change

bah spam
jorjXmckie is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 7 Old 22-03-09 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeen
Posts: 9

Member car:

156 2.0 jts

Re: cam belt change

good en *** it works its an alfa
skinny jts is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 36,927
Re: cam belt change

You need proper tools specific to the JTS to lock the cams.

Anthing else is a bodge and is likely to result in an engine that doesn't run correctly.
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
taffyjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 327

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

Re: cam belt change

id rather someone tell me a good garage to do it for me in the inverness-elgin area...
taffyjason is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Alfa Romeo Club Events > Alfa Romeo Meets & Events > Scotland > North Scotland

Tags
belt , cam , change

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome