HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 680 Old 30-07-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

iv heard that there is an update for the connect nav + , im not talking maps, iv got a nice CD ordered of ebay 2005/2006 maps! heheh!

im talking firmware that fixs annoying problems like your cd not starting where u left it off!

on the fiat forum there are alot of people that reckon there is a 9.3 firmware out, im just wondering if anyone here knows about it, or could please please please provide me with it??!??
fellowsuk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Coops79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Newmarket
Posts: 334
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

I can't really help you with the problem, but I used Fiat Forum when I was thinking of getting a Stilo instead of my 147, and the guys on there are every bit as good as those on this site. In fact, there are a few names here that ring a bell from the Fiat Site as well.

They also seemed to have a good grasp of all things Connect related. If there is new firmware, they probably know about it.
Coops79 is offline  
ode
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
ode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,021

Member car:

A Fiat

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Sorry, I can't help in the slightest, but if you find any useful info (especially if anyone can translate the bit about getting dvd or games consoles to display on the ConnectNav+) would you please post it up here? Ta
ode is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 680 Old 31-07-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

if u search the fiat forum there is a link to a german PDF that tells u how to get video's playing on the connect nav +
great if any of us can translate! lol

iv emailed navteq and alfa neither have repled yet , ill keep u posted
fellowsuk is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ode
Sorry, I can't help in the slightest, but if you find any useful info (especially if anyone can translate the bit about getting dvd or games consoles to display on the ConnectNav+) would you please post it up here? Ta
that sounds very intresting! dos get anoying when listening to CDs engine off then starts at the start of the song again! even more anoying as theres no fast forwed on it! is it a upgrade that as to be done by Mr.Alfa?
rene147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 680 Old 31-07-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

aparently not rene, u can get an update disk, fiat are using version 9.8 now, i dread to think what version im on (my 147 is 5 years old bless it)
there are many fixs, including the CD starting from were u left it and even faster respone times for the sat nav and phone functions. hang on ill find a link to the fiat site
fellowsuk is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 680 Old 31-07-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

ok here is some use full links....thanx fiat forum!

http://www.fiatforum.com/stilo-techn...ct+nav+upgrade

http://www.fiatforum.com/stilo-techn...ct+nav+upgrade

you can branch of these forums to find loads of usefull stuff, trouble is getting hold of the damn things for fiat!!!
fellowsuk is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

i very much dout mines been done as its a 52 plate, would also be very nice to be able to find locations by PostCode insted of haveing to input the full address! that link would be very usfull! thanks

edit** posted at the same time as me! thanks ill have a gander

theres a alfa garage about 2 miles away from work so ill ask down there tomorrow. google is giveing me nothink but people with problems conecting there Ipods and Fiat boys rubing my face in the fact that they can upgrade lol

Last edited by rene147; 31-07-06 at 21:20.
rene147 is offline  
Status: Alfa 159Ti with bodykit
AO Member
 
Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swindon, United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 870
Garage
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

I have downloaded the update image file, and I have put it on my website. I have not tried the update yet as I don't have a setup disc.

http://www.147gta.co.uk/connect+/index.htm

Can anyone put an image of the setup disc on here or email it to me ?

Mark

Last edited by Troll; 31-07-06 at 21:41.
Troll is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Troll
I have downloaded the update image file, and I have put it on my website. I have not tried the update yet as I don't have a setup disc.

Can anyone put an image of the setup disc on here or email it to me ?

Mark
is this the Fiat update or the attualy alfa 147 update?
rene147 is offline  
Status: Alfa 159Ti with bodykit
AO Member
 
Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swindon, United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 870
Garage
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rene147
is this the Fiat update or the attualy alfa 147 update?
Its the one from the Fiat website.. is it different for the Alfa Connect + ?

[email protected]
Troll is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

to be honest im not sure but as the Fiat version uses a Fiat spash screen at start up. If it was the same as the alfa i would have fort some one would have mentioned it, but if you do it and it works ill have ago!

yes im a wimp!
rene147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 680 Old 01-08-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

iv got a nasty feeling it will use a FIAT logo on start up! there is a few links on the fiat site again on how to create a setup disk, however this is in spanish!
fellowsuk is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 680 Old 01-08-06 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
fellowsuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 243

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

iv got a 2005/2006 satnav disk comming, i thought that might have the firmware on it but nope it aint, im going down my local alfa dealer as they aint replying to my emails!!
fellowsuk is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Swansea
Posts: 20
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

after all that did it work did the firmware update
spin36 is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,564
Garage
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

The Fiat connect+ system, though it has the same name and is also made by Marelli, is completely different from the Alfa system hardware wise.(different CPU, controls etc)
Software from the Fiat connect+ will NOT work on the alfa system.
The numbering of the software releases is also completely different, so there's no use whatsoever in comparing the release numbers, as there's no relation !
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Swansea
Posts: 20
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

thx for letting me know so if the core of the unit is diff can the alfa nav+ system core be updated (firmeware or software) and if so how much will it cost to have this done at the dealers. the reseaon im asking is i have just got the new nav maps from navteq (2007/08) and i read somewhere that your nav+ needs the latest software upgrade .
spin36 is offline  
jwq
Status: driving Giulia Veloce AWD
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
jwq's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 857
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Posts: 6,564
Garage
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by spin36 View Post
thx for letting me know so if the core of the unit is diff can the alfa nav+ system core be updated (firmeware or software) and if so how much will it cost to have this done at the dealers. the reseaon im asking is i have just got the new nav maps from navteq (2007/08) and i read somewhere that your nav+ needs the latest software upgrade .
Yes, the Alfa system can be upgraded. You can check the system software version via the service menu...
see: service menu
to cap:
- press T17 (main)
- press R2 (enter)
a menu appears, which does NOT yet contain an item for service....
- press mute (press T18 till "audio off" appears)
- press T4,5,6 ("1", "2", "3") sequentialy
- press R2 ("enter" )
an extra menu item will appear
- select in "normal" way by rotating R2 en and press (enter)

There are of course 2 items you can update. One is the maps, more or less standard. Available directly from the NavTeq webshop.
The other is the actual system software (firmware), that your Alfa dealer should have (or be able to get) on CDROM.

There are at least 2 versions of the Alfa connect+ around. For one I believe the latest firmware version is 26.16, the other one I'm not sure, see f.i.
Version info . Its numbered 4.xx ...


P.S. all firmware versions will work with the latest maps... They might just not take full advantage of them, for instance for the Trafic info.
.
jwq is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Swansea
Posts: 20
Thumbs Up Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

thx for that my firmware is not the latest as it is 26.13. does anyone know how much it will cost to upgrade this at the dealers
spin36 is offline  
Status: Fingers crossed
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 363

Member car:

Brera 2.2 S

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

bump, really interested in any response to this one!
jamezm is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Swansea
Posts: 20
Chilling Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

have not yet had it done still trying to find time to get my self down to a alfa dealer
spin36 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wodp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 18
Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

I've managed to update Connect Nav+ system to 5.0 in my AR 147 (2006) and it now plays MP3's!!!*

There are rumours that 5.2 is out? Anybody knows something about it?

If someone is interested in upgrade let me know and i will tell you how i made it.

Upgrades are for alfa 147 and probably gt from 2004+ on with 5.xx upgrade, older models are availible with 26.xx update**


*VR doesn't work in english (works all other languages). Don't know why

** We didn't manage to update GT 2004, and update cd stucked in player, so i don't advise you to upgrade it, until someone suceedes with it.

Take care (for Alfas ofcourse ),
wodp
wodp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Hi, been following this thread fro ages now! do i have to take my car to the dealers to get this done? or is it possible to download the update from somewhere?

Cheers,
Rene
rene147 is offline  
Status: Fingers crossed
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 363

Member car:

Brera 2.2 S

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rene147 View Post
Hi, been following this thread fro ages now! do i have to take my car to the dealers to get this done? or is it possible to download the update from somewhere?

Cheers,
Rene

Me too! Keen to know where/how to get this done for my 2003 147 Connect+. Latest problem I've got with her is that the volume on the satnav voice is ridiculously loud! Anyone know how to turn it down? I'm having to just mute it permanently.

J.
jamezm is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rene147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northampton
Posts: 69

Member car:

147

Re: HELP!connect nav+ firmware,fiat forum knows more than us!!!

i THINK you can change it when shes talking. Just use the controls on the wheel.
rene147 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > ICE & Blue&Me

Tags
fiat , firmware , forum , helpconnect , nav

« 33 i.c.e | - »
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome