No 1st 3rd or 5th!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
General Alfa Discussion Strictly Alfa Romeo talk only!

 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 06-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 3

Member car:

147 t spark

No 1st 3rd or 5th!!

Can anyone help?my 147 won't select 1st 3rd or 5th gear after about 25 minutes drive,when i go back to the car in the morning its fine!any ideas?
bluebirk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Down to half as many Alfas
AO Silver Member
 
Firstcaralfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,872
I have no idea. Is it a selespeed?

Try and take it to a specialist, or as a first port or call chane the gearbox oil if it's a manual.
Firstcaralfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 9 Old 07-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 3

Member car:

147 t spark

Thanks for that,been driving 20 years and never changed gearbox oil!!will let you know what happens.
bluebirk is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Ralf S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: The land that Time forgot
Posts: 13,128
It may be related to the gear change cables/levers , if it's a manual 'box. Get the beast onto an axle stand and get underneath to see whether the joints are all lubricated and moving freely.

Gears not shifting are usually clutch related but I'm not sure why just the odd-numbered gears would be affected. All the gears are on two shafts so I don't think it's a gearbox problem. Changing the gear oil would not be a bad idea.. could be a low level is affectin the slipperyness of the gear forks... (and it can't hurt).

Ralf S.

No bullets for Chaingun..
Ralf S. is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 40
Further to Ralf's points could it be the gear linkage bushes?

I had a 147 on which they went, resulting in intermittent inability to select certain gears.

If it those then it's a cheap fix as well..
buckden is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 9 Old 07-11-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 3

Member car:

147 t spark

ok guys its confession time,decided to take the car to alfatec in huddersfield,i rang them and they told me to bring it in as soon as possible.On arrival the bloke asked me to pop the bonnet,he took a look at the battery and said ah!reached down to the linkage and pulled out the battery cover i had failed to replace while jump starting a friends
car a week earlier!!!lets say i left a little red faced,what a dick!
Thanks for your time and thanks alfatec.
bluebirk is offline  
Status: Down to half as many Alfas
AO Silver Member
 
Firstcaralfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,872
could have been worse!
Firstcaralfa is offline  
Status: DEFCON5
AO Gold Member
 
1of1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sao Tome and Principe
County: Principe
Posts: 11,604
Great confession
1of1 is offline  
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
 
rgwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burnley-ish
County: Lancashire
Posts: 9,487
Very honest....but I can't see why it would make a difference whether it was after a 25 minute drive or when cold........
rgwm is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Misc Lounges > Community Discussions > General Alfa Discussion

Tags
1st , 3rd , 5th

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome