Alfa 145 - track project - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
General Alfa Discussion Strictly Alfa Romeo talk only!

(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 18-10-13 Thread Starter

County: Suffolk
Alfa 145 - track project

Newbie here!! New to Alfa's as well!!

Myself and a friend have been talking about building a cheap track car for a while, after many considerations we had pretty much decided to leave it until next year.

Just the other day I was reading a thread about an Alfa 145 & 146, and I thought 'I remember those!!'. Mentioned it to a mate of mine that the 145 Cloverleaf might be a good option for not too much cash, he found one for sale just down the road from him, went to take a look and a deal was struck!!

I only have a crappy iphone pic at the moment:

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5549/1...3c07b55a_b.jpg
Alfa 145 Cloverleaf by Hallsy01, on Flickr

I've not even seen the car yet!! Said friend has been using the car for work this week and says it runs well, so that's a good start!! It will be coming back to a mutual location next weekend so we can see what needs doing and make a plan to get it ready for it's first track outing early next year!

We have a basic plan but would appreciate any recommendations as obviously you guys know these cars better than we do!!

First up we will be doing the following:

Stripped interior (this one has quite a nice leather interior with red stitching - almost a shame!!)
Attend to any welding it needs
Replace any worn/tired components
Bucket seats & harnesses
Steering wheel
Service
Alignment

No doubt even at that point it will be great fun on track, but as an initial stage we will aim to make a few upgrades:
Sticky tyres, maybe some track specific wheels
Brake upgrades - what's the most cost effective option here?
Suspension upgrades - again, if a good damper & spring setup can be bought for a lot less than coilovers I would be happy with this
Strut Braces/ARB's