What Type of Alfa Romeo should I buy? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
General Alfa Discussion Strictly Alfa Romeo talk only!

(Post Link) post #1 of 18 Old 20-05-08 Thread Starter

What Type of Alfa Romeo should I buy?

Hello there. I am a total novice when it comes to Alfa Romeos but have been wanting one for ages. I'm now in a position where I've got about £1200 - £1500 to spend on a second hand one, and don't really know where to start.

I'm guessing for my money I'm looking at something built around 2000/2001 - but other than that?

So far I've been looking on Ebay and Autotrader and have been comparing the 146, the GTV, 147, 166?

Where do I start? and what faults should I be looking out for on the different models?

Many thanks in Advance

Romeo Romeo
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Graham P

Re: What Type of Alfa Romeo should I buy?

If you can get a 147 for that much then don't hesitate

...but I'd say a phase one GTV or high mileage early phase two. I'd say it's more like you are looking at 96-99 not 2000/01 I'm afraid. Example: -

Autotrader - ALFA ROMEO GTV 2.0 TS 16V 2dr Coupe

Don't know anything about 146/166's but I'm sure people will be along to advise soon ;o)

Last edited by Graham P; 20-05-08 at 12:43.

Regional Support
For Lincolnshire - AOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham P View Post
I

...but I'd say a phase one GTV or high mileage early phase two. I'd say it's more like you are looking at 96-99 not 2000/01 I'm afraid. Example: -

Autotrader - ALFA ROMEO GTV 2.0 TS 16V 2dr Coupe
£1500.00 should get a half decent 97/98 P1 GTV, any decent 2000/1 is not in that price bracket.

Decide which model you want and then read the buying guides on this Forum. All I can say is that the GTV is a great fun car but if you have children then it's not really for you, the back seats are seats in name only and you will get a packed lunch in the boot, not much more than that.
AO Gold Member