159 v 159 Ti - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
General Alfa Discussion Strictly Alfa Romeo talk only!

(Post Link) post #1 of 46 Old 17-01-08 Thread Starter

159 v 159 Ti

Hi everyone - I am brand new to the Alfa Romeo world. Can anyone comment on whether there is a major difference between the 159 and the 159 Ti in terms of harshness of ride and road noise from the big wheels of the latter. I love the look and specs of the Ti, but am a little wary of purchasing a car that may be a little hard riding for day to day motoring. I know everything is a compromise, and my strong inclination is to go for the Ti, but would appreciate any comments from those who have experienced the Ti.

Cheers

Rich
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Member

County: Berkshire
Re: 159 v 159 Ti

I took one for a test drive on Monday (2.4 JTDm). Having driven a 159 3.2 JTS in the past I didn't feel that the ride was hugely different. I fell in love with the Ti almost straight away, and took it for something like a 150 mile test drive on a large mixture of roads from country lanes to motorways. I found it less harsh than my 156 which has 17" wheels.
AO Silver Member

The ride is definitely much nicer on the 159 generation cars than the previous generation cars regardless of tyre size. One thing I have noticed is that my 18" rims make more noise than my 17" rims on the GTV (this is partly due to very little tyre wear on the new 18"s). I can only guess that the 17"s would be considerably quieter than the 19"s - and probably more comfortable but less grippy?
AO Platinum Member

County: South Lanarkshire

I haven't driven a Ti but have driven 159s Lussos with both 17 and 18" wheels. There is no doubt that the 17's offer a better and slightly less noisy ride than the 18's but the pay off in terms of handling is more than worth it for the 18" rims.