V6 Cambelt Tensioning Tool - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 21-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: No need for stereo -Wizard fitted.
AO Silver Member
 
Matt GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,047

Member car:

2000 V6

Question V6 Cambelt Tensioning Tool

Hello all,

I posted this in the GTV forum but no luck so far.

I seem to have bought the most complicated tensioning tool out there. A pair of stilsons would have done the trick (& far cheaper) but I'm scratching my head how this actually works. Anyone used one? (It's a Laser 3791 tool)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7556.jpg (73.7 KB, 36 views)
Matt GTV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
Please tell me that isn't your tippex on the pullies?
ransoman is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 7 Old 22-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: No need for stereo -Wizard fitted.
AO Silver Member
 
Matt GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,047

Member car:

2000 V6

Correct - that isn't tippex on the pulleys....I'm using the cam locks.....

Someone must have used this tool; I'm not normally a dullard but I can't work this thing out!

Last edited by Matt GTV; 22-03-16 at 21:15.
Matt GTV is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 7 Old 22-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: No need for stereo -Wizard fitted.
AO Silver Member
 
Matt GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,047

Member car:

2000 V6

Correction - it isn't MY tippex!

Last edited by Matt GTV; 22-03-16 at 21:15.
Matt GTV is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
haha, No worries.

Looking at the tool I can't really see how it would work. It doesn't even seem to touch the tensioner??
ransoman is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 7 Old 26-03-16 Thread Starter
Status: No need for stereo -Wizard fitted.
AO Silver Member
 
Matt GTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 1,047

Member car:

2000 V6

Just to tie up this thread. Here's the tool in situ; finally worked it out

The bottom is anchored into the alternator bolt position. The nut on the long bolt that's visible is then tightened/loosened to set the tension on the belt. Good thing is it holds the tensioner in precisely the correct position as you torque up the tensioner bolts. I reckon it would be a definite struggle to use this with the engine in the car, plus it's Ģ50. Unless you're working on engines out of the car I wouldn't recommend this tool.

I know there is no belt on in the photo!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7618.jpg (89.0 KB, 16 views)
Matt GTV is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Chris155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,963
I've found that it doesn't fit over some aftermarket waterpumps.

And yes, I have used stillsons in the past.
Chris155 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
cambelt , tensioning , tool

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome