166 Cam Belt Change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 23 Old 17-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10

Member car:

ALFA 166 2.5V6

166 Cam Belt Change

I am in the middle of changing the cam belt on my 2000 166, a couple of questions: do I have to remove the PS res or is there a way of moving out of the way enough to get the belt in, also it looks very tight at the first cam cog ie between the inner wing and the cog, do I have to lift the engine to get the belt in at this location.

Ralph
thepuddlejumper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,115
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

the repair CD said remove it so I did, I did not have to lift the engine, there was enough room to get it in.

The only space issue IIRC was getting the torque wrench on that first cam wheel, just had to go with damn tight as there was no room for a torque wrench.

HTH
purple145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 23 Old 17-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10

Member car:

ALFA 166 2.5V6

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

Thanks I thought I would have to remove it, but was hoping not to. I have removed the engine stabilizer to gain some more room around the first cam wheel. I found tipex marks on the cam wheels and they do not line up when I have the cam lock in place. Hope I have them in the correct place, no instructions with the cam locks.

Ralph
thepuddlejumper is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,115
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

this page should help

http://www.thetoolcrew.com/pdf/instructions/VS1410.PDF

instructions from one of the one line sellers. Its easy to get in a muddle as the locks are often in Italian eg marked AS for aspirato meaning inhaled, ie inlet side

HTH
purple145 is offline  
Status: "My other car'sa 166 TWO twice"
AO Gold Member
 
Pomeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Lanarkshire
Posts: 10,869
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

puddle

I never removed mine.Just left all pipes attached and removed bracket from engine block and slipped the new belt over it.

The sproket nearest the bulkhead is extremely tight I put the belt on there first.

Pomeo
Pomeo is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 23 Old 18-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10

Member car:

ALFA 166 2.5V6

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

I have the laser cam lock kit. The locks are marked A1, A2, A3 and A4. As I said there was no instructions with the kit. I was told that
A1 is for the inlet No 1 Cly
A2 is for the Exhaust No 1 Cly
A3 is for the Exhaust No 4 Cly
A4 is for the Inlet No 6 Cly
Also No 1 Cly is the first on the left looking from the drivers side and No 4Cly is the first on the right again looking from the drivers side ie both closest to the cam cogs. Can anyone confirm I have it right.

Thanks again for the info, I have removed the PS bracket ready for fitting the belt.
thepuddlejumper is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,115
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

yep, that seems to match the PDF, if you put it at TDC, do the camlocks all fit on correctly, they should all slip on easily if its still timed right.
purple145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 23 Old 18-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 10

Member car:

ALFA 166 2.5V6

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

I was on approx 3-4 months ago re the cam belt snappiing after 20,000 miles, fitted at a so called specialist ALFA garage. They took no responsibility for it and told me to take the car home as he was too busy to look at it and it would cost about £1,000 for him to strip and rebuild, no luck. I have a FIAT 500 Gamine, noddy car, and took part in the 500 tour of europe to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 500 and the launch of the new 500 in Turin, 3000 miles with wheels coming off at 60mph and several drive shaft joints before arriving home. Anyway I now have time to repair the 166. The locks are in place No 1 cly at top dead, belt goes on tomorrow then check the comperssion to see if I have bent valves or holed pistons.

Ralph
thepuddlejumper is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,115
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

just re-read your original post, I remember now, have you got a whole engine or is a head swap intended?

I have seen on a 75 site that often the engines go on start up rather than at full chat as there is more of a sudden change in tension from 0 to eg 800 rpm than from 1000 to 2000. It still means some valve damage, but hopefully not as much, often with the V6 the valve guides get damaged as well which add to the time/hassle/cost of repair.

Good luck with it.
purple145 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

Hi Guys,

I bought my 166 couple months ago. I just noticed that my cam belt was replaced at 36K miles. Now the car has 91K. It is time to replace??

Cheers,
Roland
Rolandoo78 is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

v6 or twin spark? If twinnie change it yesterday...if V6 then you're at the right kinda limit as well but not quite as critical as the twink...
niallmoran is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

2.0 twin spark the seller told me i need to replace it at 100k. what a hell??
Rolandoo78 is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

the old limit used to be 72k miles for the twin spark but many have failed before that mileage was reached so alfa have now officially changed the limit to 36k for all twinks and JTS engines....get it changed asap if you want to sleep at night
niallmoran is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
michaelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 120

Member car:

3.2 GT

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

just changed mine, power steering disconect and drain, to make it easier. need to sleep nowwww!
michaelito is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

power steering? I take it that's on the v6? Actually, could everybody please put TS or V6 in their member car bit and it will save me asking the same question a million times
niallmoran is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

hi

i droppeda call to the official alfa romeo service in birmingham and they told me that the cam belt needs to be replaced after 72K. I booked the car to an italian car specialist at 13th of december to replace it. i hope there won't be any problem until that time.

roland
Rolandoo78 is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

an official AR dealer told you 72k?? Bloody typical....have a look in the 156 lounge for the official document sent to dealers. I despair at the AR dealer network....no wonder they've struggled in the UK
niallmoran is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

actually, the scans don't seem to be in the 156 lounge....think i might be thinking about alfa156.net
niallmoran is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by niallmoran View Post
an official AR dealer told you 72k?? Bloody typical....have a look in the 156 lounge for the official document sent to dealers. I despair at the AR dealer network....no wonder they've struggled in the UK
I find it incredible that there are dealers still saying that 72k is fine. No wonder they've got such a bad reputation.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: Alfa infected
AO Gold Member
 
purple145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7,115
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolandoo78 View Post
hi

i droppeda call to the official alfa romeo service in birmingham and they told me that the cam belt needs to be replaced after 72K. I booked the car to an italian car specialist at 13th of december to replace it. i hope there won't be any problem until that time.

roland
I take it Alfa service was Guests in Knowle?

Where in Brum are you? as there are not too many of us in the 2nd city
purple145 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

I found it on the Alfaromeo.uk - Starting Page King Street, Dudley. He told me that 72K is the usual period of a cam belt. Anyway I have booked a date at the motormech. He is very very busy so he had date only for the 18th of december. I hope there won't be any problem with the car.
Rolandoo78 is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

72 or 3 years for a v6. IMHO 50k is pushing it.
 
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: 166 Cam Belt Change

rolando has a twinnie though....makes me cringe thinking that alfa dealers are still saying 72k for the 4 pot lumps
niallmoran is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
166 , belt , cam , change

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome