147 engine oil level sensor problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
alfa_147_jtd_16v
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Help 147 engine oil level sensor problem

It appears that recently my oil sensor is up the spout. When you turn on the ignition the oil level sometimes shows empty and when you fire the car up the annoying dispstick symbol is displayed. By turning the the engine/ignition off and turning back on again may or may not solve it.
The oil level is topped up to the brim, as proven by me checking the dispstick - I never rely on the OBC checking the oil level .

So, my question is has anyone else had this problem and if so how is it fixed?
I am guessing there is a sensor in the sump somewhere. I'll have a look on eper and elearn too.

Thanks for any help as always.

Last edited by alfa_147_jtd_16v; 25-09-07 at 08:24.
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Can't for the life of me understand why it's fitted on the CI engines anyway? The petrol motors are the ones that ought to have them, providing they work correctly?:
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Henley on Thames
Posts: 327
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

I've got exactly the same problem.
If I turn the key, the system checks and displays low oil.
Then without even starting the engine, I turn the key back to
the original position then turn again and it reads oil level full!
This is without even sarting the engine.
Would be keen to find out how to fix it!
delta is offline  
alfa_147_jtd_16v
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

My car is 4 years old, 61k miles...how old is yours?

I think its probably just dirty given it does ready correct some of the time!
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 192
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Same problem here!, it was fine up to 50k miles, but it just started acting like that. Not quite sure, because my gearbox has been taken so many times now, and so much has been done around the engine that I was afraid we touched something we shouldn't ...
zbrskz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Henley on Thames
Posts: 327
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

4 years old and 78k, It was fine until the last oil change.
I'm just hoping that it will rectify itself after the next service which is due at 84k.
Would have though one of the experts on this site will know a solution..
delta is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Don't know really, but if it's some sort of slot or float system that reads the level, could be crudded up I suppose? If you can locate the measuring method, it may clean up? Anyone?
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

I've had the same problem on my 2.4 JTD 156 for the last 3 years. There does not seam to be any pattern or logic to when it fails and when it doesn't. Probably down to dodgy design. Will be looking out for fix on forum.
Benny156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by zulu ferret View Post
Can't for the life of me understand why it's fitted on the CI engines anyway?
If you shut the fuel supply off on a Diesel it will happily suck the oil out of the crankcase and run on that.

That may be why they fitted a level sensor on the JTDs.
David C is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Multi-fuelled then ? Sounds reasonable, if not desireable. Quite bad news in any event?:
zulu ferret is offline  
alfa_147_jtd_16v
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: 147 engine oil level sensor problem

Strangely enough I have not seen it reappear since posting on here over 4 weeks back (touch wood!).
 
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bristol
Posts: 9
After eventually getting tired of my ALFA crying wolf and telling me there is no oil I have bit the bullet and replaced the sender unit. Since then I have had no false indications. It consistantly reads the same level...
Benny156 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
147 , engine , level , oil , problem , sensor

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome