RPM signal source in engine bay - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 16-09-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
RPM signal source in engine bay

Hi,
As the subject says, I need to locate rpm signal in 147 TS engine bay. Can someone help?

Am I right in the assumption that rpm signal is voltage in the range 0-12V rising with the revs?
gotcha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

More likely to be a square wave who's
frequency varies with rpm.
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 19-09-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

I was asking because I am installing variable intake manifold to 1,6 TS. I was thinking to control it with this module (rpm window switch):
http://www.msdignition.com/rpm_7.htm

It can switch on and off the manifold actuator (solenoid) at pre-set rpm. As its manual says, it should be connected like this: "On inductive ignitions, it connects to the coil negative terminal"

I am not very good in Ignition systems, I know TS has electronic ignition and not the old mechanical distributor type, but is it "inductive ignition". I think so but can you confirm it? Please have a look on the pdf to the module I plan to buy, will it work on TS?
http://www.msdignition.com/pdf/FRM23778-PN%208950.pdf

147GTA,Grigio Metallico,Imola leather,3.75l conversion,ported heads,F575 TB,Carbon plenum,Stainless manifolds,EQ pipes,Supersprint silenced cat back,18" GT multispokes,KW V3,Galfer 6pot 355mm,Brembo sport rear

147 1.6TS, Nerro,Beige Interior,Galfer Extreme Brake kit,2,0TS intake manifold,Custom ex. manifold,200CPI cat,Supersprint silenced center + OO backbox,GTA spoiler,GTA side skirts,GTA headlights,Blaupunkt LA MP74 + Focal + MacAudio + Dynamat + HERZ subwoofer
gotcha is offline  
jug
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
jug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 3,681
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

your engine uses inductive ignition. connect to the coil negative as the manual says.
jug is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 8 Old 19-09-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by jug View Post
your engine uses inductive ignition. connect to the coil negative as the manual says.
Thank you
gotcha is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 139
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

Keep us updated.
Does it worth the effort to install a variable intake
kyriacosmetal is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 25-09-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyriacosmetal View Post
Keep us updated.
Does it worth the effort to install a variable intake
I have ordered the electronics to control it, it is on the way from USA, hope to get it next week. I will install the manifold in 2-3 weeks. I will post my experience after.
I will take the car to the dyno in the future so I will have measured results as well. I want to make one dyno run with the manifold in long and second one in short position and than compare the results and adjust the manifold switching points according to power output curves. But I will wait with dyno runs till November when I should have finished my custom exhaust with racing cat.

BTW: I got the complete manifold from a crashed 156 for about 60 EUR. I thing for this price it is definitely worth a try
gotcha is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 06-12-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: RPM signal source in engine bay

I finished to installation, but the rpm based switch doesn’t work for me. More info here:
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tunin...-on-1-6ts.html

Please if anybody can advise me how to make the switch work or some other way how to control the manifold, please write me. Any help is much appreciated.
gotcha is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
bay , engine , rpm , signal , source

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome