Aux belt cover missing? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 24 Old 24-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Aux belt cover missing?

Hi,

I had the cambelt job done 2 or 3 months ago and looking into the engine bay, only now I realized I can see my auxiliary belt running, including all belt pulleys, AC compressor, power steering compressor.... Isnít it supposed to be under some cover? Timing belt has a plastic cover, but I canít remember if aux belt had one too. Look at the pics please. Did service forgot to put it back on or am I only paranoid? I looked into ePER, but couldnít find aux belt cover part nr.

I am planning to go to complain to the dealer so I want to be sure there should be a cover

http://kgb.alfaromeo-bg.com/gotcha/V...ssing%2001.jpg
http://kgb.alfaromeo-bg.com/gotcha/V...ssing%2002.jpg

147GTA,Grigio Metallico,Imola leather,3.75l conversion,ported heads,F575 TB,Carbon plenum,Stainless manifolds,EQ pipes,Supersprint silenced cat back,18" GT multispokes,KW V3,Galfer 6pot 355mm,Brembo sport rear

147 1.6TS, Nerro,Beige Interior,Galfer Extreme Brake kit,2,0TS intake manifold,Custom ex. manifold,200CPI cat,Supersprint silenced center + OO backbox,GTA spoiler,GTA side skirts,GTA headlights,Blaupunkt LA MP74 + Focal + MacAudio + Dynamat + HERZ subwoofer
gotcha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 274

Member car:

GT 3.2

Re: Aux belt cover missing?

I don't think they have a cover
allan156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

I'm sure there should be a small cover just over the top run.
David C is offline  
Status: Still going strong.
AO Silver Member
 
armoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 5,086
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

That is the cover held on with two allen screws and a 10mm (across the flats) nut at the front.
armoore is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,094
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

My 2 litre doesn't have a cover over any of the aux belt and never has.
gazza82 is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: Aux belt cover missing?

it's more a guard than a cover over the aux belt - the aux belts aren't as important as cam belts and balance belts i guess
niallmoran is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 24 Old 27-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Thank you guys, I feel better now :-)

I dont agree aux belt has not the same importance as cambelt as if it fails, it can wrap onto cambelt and make it fail as well
gotcha is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,179
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

There is no cover, and actually on the 1.6 the cam belt cover doesnt cover as much as the 2.0 either - it doesnt have a bottom section.
cj romeo is offline  
Status: Waiting for Stelvio QV
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,452
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

My 1.8 doesn't have one.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: i'm back!
AO Gold Member
 
niallmoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dundee
Posts: 6,298

Member car:

'02 156 1.8 TS

Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotcha View Post
I dont agree aux belt has not the same importance as cambelt as if it fails, it can wrap onto cambelt and make it fail as well
Think that would be quite rare as the cam belt has its cover between it and the aux belt...
niallmoran is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,811
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

My JTD doesn't have an aux belt cover, but it has a cam belt cover.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Yeah all 1.6 &1.8 &2.0 have this aux belt cover held on with 2 allen bolts and a 10mm nut so it is def missing.
kevs gta is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,179
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevs gta View Post
Yeah all 1.6 &1.8 &2.0 have this aux belt cover held on with 2 allen bolts and a 10mm nut so it is def missing.
The 1.6 doent have it - had one since new.
cj romeo is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,094
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

TSparks only have Cambelt covers. Should be two parts: upper and lower. Aux belt is uncovered.
gazza82 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Sorry I will rephrase that if your 1.6 or 1.8 or 2.0 has air con it will 100% have this cover it fits between the pas pulley and the aircon compressor pulley. So if yours has aircon and no cover someone has left it off. I work on these things everyday and am 120% sure of this information.
kevs gta is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 24 Old 29-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevs gta View Post
Sorry I will rephrase that if your 1.6 or 1.8 or 2.0 has air con it will 100% have this cover it fits between the pas pulley and the aircon compressor pulley. So if yours has aircon and no cover someone has left it off. I work on these things everyday and am 120% sure of this information.
There is no 147 version without air-con AFAIK. Only 156 was offered after its launch without air-con on some markets.

I will check with dealer tomorrow, as it seems there is no general agreement if it should be there or no.
gotcha is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 139
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Mine's a 2001 1.6 156 and has the cover. The cover is there as a guard though, so you don't accidentally put your hand on a running belt
kyriacosmetal is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotcha View Post
There is no 147 version without air-con AFAIK. Only 156 was offered after its launch without air-con on some markets.
It is listed on ePER without A/C, so it probably was available for sale without A/C.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 24 Old 30-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
It is listed on ePER without A/C, so it probably was available for sale without A/C.
David, can you post the part number please? I cant find it on ePER.
gotcha is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotcha View Post
David, can you post the part number please? I cant find it on ePER.
Part number for what?
David C is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Our 147 has one.: Just as well, with shakey hands,that drop things. Well,it could be the DT's contribute to this: Anyway, just held with two hex/socket bolts:
zulu ferret is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 24 Old 30-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: 3,75 running great :)
AO Car Of The Year Winner 2015
Membro Medio
 
gotcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slovakia
County: Bratislavsky
Posts: 3,202
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Part number for what?
Sorry, my mistake. When you wrote "it is listed o ePER" you probably meant 147 with no A/C. I thought you talk about the aux belt cover.
gotcha is offline  
Status: drive or be driven!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Ayrshire
Posts: 766
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

My 1.8 Sportwagon has a cambelt cover and a aux belts cover, which is a 1 piece item. Yes its fitted with aircon.
ScouseLad is offline  
Status: drive or be driven!!
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Ayrshire
Posts: 766
Re: Aux belt cover missing?

Just spoken to my indie. He informs me that a majority of CF3 engines have the aux belt cover. CF2 engines he has only come across one 156 with one fitted.
ScouseLad is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
aux , belt , cover , missing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome