Bigger/newer engine - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Bigger/newer engine

Has anyone on here ever put a different engine into a 146? eg a V6 or gta engine (or heard of anyone that has) Just curious......well for the moment anyway
rafe005 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yep, Alfisti.net have put the 3.2 GTA engine into a 145 Cloverleaf. There was also a 145 with a V6 in, though I can't remember if it was a 2.5 or 3.0. The easiest though is to drop a Fiat Coupe 16V Turbo engine in, its a much easier swap than the V6's. There a a couple of those around.
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

Hmmmm, didnt think of that, I assume with the fiat engine its just a change/make new engine mounts and that the fiat half shafts are compatible with the alfa hubs?
rafe005 is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
Re: Bigger/newer engine

The 145 shares its underbody with the 155 so a v6 swap would be quite easy.
ransoman is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

ok maybe 2.5 V6 is the way to go then. so many choices..... problem is where do you stop with it
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafe005 View Post
Hmmmm, didnt think of that, I assume with the fiat engine its just a change/make new engine mounts and that the fiat half shafts are compatible with the alfa hubs?
Its the same sub frame so the actual mounting of the Fiat engine and box is fairly straightforward (I think!) I seem to think you'll have to have some drive shafts made up though.
AJ on Alfa145.com has nearly finished his now, probably best to go on there and trawl through all his posts on his project.
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

Just had a look, seems like there needs to be a lot of work to the hubs, shafts, steering etc..... Might look down the V6 option to start with
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

I think you'll find the V6 conversion the harder route. There are very few with it done - must be a reason. The one with the 3.2 in, they took the car back to a bare shell and started from scratch. They said it would cost around 14K if they were doing it for a customer. The other one, was V6insides car on 145.com and was also a huge project. That car was featured in Autoitalia, though has since disapeared and there are thoughts its been broken for parts
Its pretty full under the bonnet of my Cloverleaf, and I'm thinking space could be a major factor for a V6. Also big power is very easy with the turbo route.
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yeah, just had a look and the v6 is rated at 163 bhp whereas I already have 155 bhp at the mo, so I'm thinking the weight gain would completely negate the bhp increase, either that or it would even slow the car down. I'll have to have more of a look at the fiat turbo...either that or do some investigation and see if the 2.0 ts will cope with a supercharger or such like
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Autodelta can supercharge it for you, 198BHP and 177Ft/Lbs. But, are you sitting down? 3500
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yeah, have seen that before and nearly fainted, didnt they do a 166 2.0 turbo? Is that the same basic engine as the 146 2.0?
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yeah, they used to do a 145/6 turbo too, just over 200 brake I think. They said they'd only put it on engines with less than 50k on them though. I suspect they had problems with them blowing up, so have stopped doing them?
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

I'm wondering if I can find a 166 2.0 turbo and whip the turbo off that, if I lower the compression ratio of the engine it hopefully should be able to cope with it. I've never heard of a 145/146 turbo though. When did they make those and did they ever arrive in the uk market?
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Aaah, sorry, I've got the wrong end of the stick! I thought we were still talking Autodelta mods! I don't think they did a 166 Turbo. The only recent Petrol turbo that springs to mind is the 2.0 V6 Turbo that went into the GTV on the continent.
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

oh ok, I was just looking and it was a 2.0 v6 turbo on the 166. They did do a 155 2.0 turbo on a 4 cylinder engine.....i wonder.....
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yeah, the Q4, and the engine is the same unit as the Fiat Coupe 16V Turbo, Lancias Integrale, Thema and Dedra Turbo's
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

do you reckon the turbo system cound be.....ahem.....adapted to fit onto a 2.0 ts engine?
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

I don't know, but seeing as everyone seems to be going down the engine swap route, I'd guess not. I know AJ was planning to fit the supercharger off a Mini Cooper S, but gave up and went for a coupe engine install instead.
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

I should imagine with the supercharger the big problem would have been space. i.e there is none. do you by any chance have a link to AJ's thread, have been looking for it for ages but cannot seem to track it down
rafe005 is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 37,026
Re: Bigger/newer engine

I would love a 145 QV with a 3.2 V6 in it...
The Fiat Coupe lump would be good also, but my Fiat 16VT suffered quite a bit of turbo lag, the engine note is nowhere near as good as the V6 either.

I don't see the point of the 2.5 V6 conversion I am afraid, if you are going down the V6 route it makes sense to get the best one. (Or at least the 3 litre. IMHO
symon is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

Yup totally agree, as i mentioned before I kicked the v6 to touch as on the 2.5 would only gain about 8bhp ....and all that extra weight to boot.
rafe005 is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

By the look of it Autodelta use a Rotrex Supercharger in their kit. From what I can see Rotrex Superchargers are basically a belt driven centrifugal motorcycle supercharger and so are very compact.....I have also found a turbo that fits under the car before the cat and so space is not so much of an issue, it just takes a bit of creative plumbing for the air intake pipes and the oil system.
rafe005 is offline  
Status: Ultimate Driving Machine my arse
AO Silver Member
 
Jim145's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 2,043
Re: Bigger/newer engine

I'm sure you could copy the Autodelta kit, if your fairly creative, and save yourself a fair wedge. Let us know how you get on, a 200 horse 146 would be great
Jim145 is offline  
(Post Link) post #24 of 47 Old 13-08-07 Thread Starter
Status: ready to race
AO Silver Member
 
rafe005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 5,245

Member car:

159 1.9jtdm

Re: Bigger/newer engine

not a problem, creative it is, thinking about something like this http://www.ststurbo.com/universal_system should not be too hard to replicate, just some creative plumbing required and you dont have to worry too much about space in the engine bay
rafe005 is offline  
Status: V6 Inside
AO Silver Member
 
ransoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 4,881
Re: Bigger/newer engine

Quote:
Originally Posted by rafe005 View Post
Yup totally agree, as i mentioned before I kicked the v6 to touch as on the 2.5 would only gain about 8bhp ....and all that extra weight to boot.
the 156 2.5 v6 is 190bhp. The engine is basically the same as the late 155 v6's so therefore it should fit in (i have the 2.5 v6 145 issue of autoitalia somewhere).

You also gain a 6 speed gearbox.
ransoman is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
bigger or newer , engine

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome