Alfa Romeo 159 3.2 jts crankshaft - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 30 Old 17-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Alfa Romeo 159 3.2 jts crankshaft

Hello, I need a crankshaft for my 3.2 jts engine. Is there any chance I could get one? I've searched, but without any results. I'd appreciate any help.
Pannamysia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: GOT CAMS?
AO Silver Member
 
BenzinaBrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 2,985

Member car:

Brera 3.6

when i upgraded my seized 3.2 engine to a 3.6, i got all my parts from Genuine OEM GM Parts and Accessories under 2010 Camaro 3.6 LLT, the crank is almost exactly the same, the only difference is the side where the pulley connects has a key and thus a keyway has to be cut into the alfa crank pulley by an engineering shop or easier, you just buy the pulley that works along with the crank.

They are A LOT cheaper than the parts from the alfa or GM dealer locally in South Africa
mash4077 and Pannamysia like this.
BenzinaBrera is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 30 Old 20-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
No luck there. I didin't find any crankshaft for 3.6 from Camaro. Anyway, thanks. And how exactly did you upgrade? The whole engine?
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: Alfa-less 5 months and counting :(
AO Member
 
Speenvark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Reading
Posts: 597

Member car:

147 1.6, 156GTA

Genuine*CRANKSHAFT (12623074)*for your*GM Vehicle

This is from the Cadillac SRX 3.6V6. Same engine as the Camaro, can you confirm this Dominique?
Pannamysia likes this.
Speenvark is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 30 Old 21-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
http://m.ebay.com/itm/281330587494?nav=SEARCH

There are some 3.6 engines in the link above. Are they the same?

Last edited by Pannamysia; 21-04-15 at 14:14.
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: Alfa-less 5 months and counting :(
AO Member
 
Speenvark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Reading
Posts: 597

Member car:

147 1.6, 156GTA

No that's completely different.

The V6 in the Chevrolet Camaro and Cadillac SRX uses the same bottom end as the V6 in the 159/Brera. Don't know of other models.
Speenvark is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 30 Old 21-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
What exactly do I need to change in 3.6 v6 crankshaft to make it fit the 3.2 jts?
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: GOT CAMS?
AO Silver Member
 
BenzinaBrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 2,985

Member car:

Brera 3.6

Yes thats correct speenvark. Srx crank is the same. Just buy the pulley that goes with the crank thats all.

Alfa pulley does not have a keyway so you need to either get an engineering shop to machine out the slot for the key or you can can just buy the pulley along with the crank
BenzinaBrera is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 30 Old 23-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Is the 3.2 crank from Alfa Romeo GTV is the same as from 3.2 jts?

Thanks for all of your help
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: Alfa-less 5 months and counting :(
AO Member
 
Speenvark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Reading
Posts: 597

Member car:

147 1.6, 156GTA

Unfortunately not at all, no.

Getting the Camaro/cadillac crank is quite cheap though (for a crank).
Speenvark is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 30 Old 23-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Is it timing belt ot timing chain?
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: GOT CAMS?
AO Silver Member
 
BenzinaBrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 2,985

Member car:

Brera 3.6

timing chain engine. the design of the camaro/srx engine is the exact same thing as the alfa with a GM twist here and there but the actual block and internals are the same, just different bore.
BenzinaBrera is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,605
Pannamysia - this is the GM engine fitted to Alfa159/Brera V6

GM High Feature engine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

As you can see, it's variants are fitted to a fair few different cars
sprint_veloce is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 30 Old 24-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: GOT CAMS?
AO Silver Member
 
BenzinaBrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 2,985

Member car:

Brera 3.6

Yes thats the one
BenzinaBrera is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 30 Old 27-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Thanks for help
I'll probably try this one along with the pulley.
Pannamysia is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 30 Old 05-05-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
http://m.ebay.com/itm/121642528766?nav=SEARCH

Can you confirm if that's the same crank as we've mentioned above?
Are the connecting rods the same?

Last edited by Pannamysia; 06-05-15 at 12:12.
Pannamysia is offline  
(Post Link) post #18 of 30 Old 04-06-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
County: -
Posts: 14
Will the cadillac pulley fit Alfa's engine?
Pannamysia is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
viper480r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Saint-Petersburg
County: Russia
Posts: 11

Member car:

159 3.2 V6

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzinaBrera View Post
when i upgraded my seized 3.2 engine to a 3.6, i got all my parts from Genuine OEM GM Parts and Accessories under 2010 Camaro 3.6 LLT, the crank is almost exactly the same, the only difference is the side where the pulley connects has a key and thus a keyway has to be cut into the alfa crank pulley by an engineering shop or easier, you just buy the pulley that works along with the crank.

They are A LOT cheaper than the parts from the alfa or GM dealer locally in South Africa
Dear BenzinaBrera

I have a 159 3.2
3.6 also want to do as you wrote ) )

would you say that you need to order and change for this?

yet I ordered a set of chains for replacement
and I thought to combine this with the alteration of the engine

Thank you very much in advance))
viper480r is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
County: -
Posts: 6
I had bought Max Speeding Alfa Romeo before, I had not bought crankshaft. You can search on internet.
Racerfanny is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 7

Member car:

159 3,2 Q4

cadillac pulley

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pannamysia View Post
Will the cadillac pulley fit Alfa's engine?
Hi,

Did you manage to figure this out? I'm in the same situation...

this crankshaft (as mentioned earlier, right?): Genuine*CRANKSHAFT (12623074)*for your*GM Vehicle

and what pulley? i.e. number from the figure in link above?

Any help appreciated!
koska is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
County: Etela-Suomen Laani
Posts: 7

Member car:

159 3,2 Q4

Pulley is probably the vibration damper (#30) in figure above? At least it has a key in it according to this: http://www.amazon.com/ACDelco-126151.../dp/B004JBEACK
koska is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
viper480r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Saint-Petersburg
County: Russia
Posts: 11

Member car:

159 3.2 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by koska View Post
Pulley is probably the vibration damper (#30) in figure above? At least it has a key in it according to this: Amazon.com: ACDelco 12615141 GM Original Equipment Crankshaft Balancer: Automotive
yes, it is item 30 Vibration Dumper
viper480r is offline  
Status: GOT CAMS?
AO Silver Member
 
BenzinaBrera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 2,985

Member car:

Brera 3.6

Viper you only need the following if your crank is fine.

-main bearings
-big end bearings
-conrods
-pistons
-piston rings
-3.6 headgaskets

As for the bore size. You need to find a motor engineering company thats really good because they can easily crack the walls when they put new bigger sleeves in, resulting in water seeping to the headgasket between the wall and cylinder liner resulting is catastrophic headgasket failures. I had to take the motor out 4 times until i figured out that this was the problem. In the end i bought a new 3.6 block from GM but for the gm block you have to fabricate a special bracket to accomidate the bracket of the alternator.


Alfa Romeo- Only passions, great passions can elevate the soul to great things
BenzinaBrera is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
viper480r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Saint-Petersburg
County: Russia
Posts: 11

Member car:

159 3.2 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzinaBrera View Post
Viper you only need the following if your crank is fine.

-main bearings
-big end bearings
-conrods
-pistons
-piston rings
-3.6 headgaskets

As for the bore size. You need to find a motor engineering company thats really good because they can easily crack the walls when they put new bigger sleeves in, resulting in water seeping to the headgasket between the wall and cylinder liner resulting is catastrophic headgasket failures. I had to take the motor out 4 times until i figured out that this was the problem. In the end i bought a new 3.6 block from GM but for the gm block you have to fabricate a special bracket to accomidate the bracket of the alternator.
Thank you very much

I find crankshaft from Saab) it is GM ))
And now I make a motor in volume 3,2 liters

Shortblock from CTS 3.6 L was found and waiting for its time

I have only two questions
Concerning diameter of the combustion chamber in the cylinder head. Is it necessary to bore from 89 to 94 mm it?
And how to make the generator holder?

About main and rod bearings, it is the same on all engine with the block? right?

And Conrods, Stroke I understand exactly the same as the original engine 3.2
accordingly and the same connecting rods
viper480r is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
159 , alfa , crankshaft , jts , romeo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome