Cam belt (again) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 26-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Cam belt (again)

Hi guys,

My 2002, 1.6 156 had a cam belt change in 2005 at 17,000 miles. Next year it'll have done 36,000. Do you reckon it's worth changing the cam belt again as it's the 6th year? For the record, I didn't change the cam belt once on my previous car, a golf, and I part ex-ed it with 110,000 on the clock!
Harry1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: Cam belt (again)

You really do mate. This is the most common problem with alfas. Its such a risk not to do it.

Its cheaper for me and you too, as we dont have the aux belt too. You will probably need the variator doing next year anyway which requires the cam belt to be off.

Every 36K miles or every 3 years! Without fail.

My Mondeo had a belt which lasted 110K!!
OperationAlfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 13 Old 26-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Re: Cam belt (again)

Yeah, I thought so, and you're right, the variator does need doing. Was thinking of making the 50 miles trip north to Royston to see the Alfa guy there - sounds like he does a good job/deal.

Cheers
Harry1 is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
 
zulu ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,278
Re: Cam belt (again)

The best at a reasonable price.: Up the A 10 for you?:
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: Cam belt (again)

I took it to Jamie last month. Did a while you wait on the car... I sat in the waiting room reading all the alfa/auto italia books.

Got there at 8.30 left by 10.30. Paid £295 including the variator.

It's also nice to have your alfa on a ramp in between a 1600 and a montreal.

Bargain. (shame I had to take a day off work as they dont work weekends)

Last edited by OperationAlfa; 27-06-07 at 08:13. Reason: duh!
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
badgers_nadgers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 7,154

Member car:

156 GTA SW

Re: Cam belt (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OperationAlfa View Post
My Mondeo had a belt which lasted 110K!!
Don't know what your Mondeo had, but our V6 was a chain, so that could be a reason.
badgers_nadgers is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
okenora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 338

Member car:

156, 2.4jtd

Re: Cam belt (again)

Yeah the mondeo diesels are chain (least the older ones were). Are the new TDCi ones back to belts ?
okenora is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 13 Old 27-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Re: Cam belt (again)

Quote:
The best at a reasonable price.: Up the A 10 for you?:
Note sure actually, think I'll Google earth it (love that stuff). All I know is that it's round the M25 and then up a bit! Not sure I fancy sitting about in the office for two hours, and a round of golf is a bit excessive!
Harry1 is offline  
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: Cam belt (again)

It was a 1.8 Petrol LX. Not the nicest... but it had air con and a cd player!


The workshop is near cambridge. You take the duxford air museum turn off on the M11. i think it's J8..
OperationAlfa is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 13 Old 27-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Harry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Posts: 111

Member car:

156 Veloce

Re: Cam belt (again)

Excellent, cheers. I took it to my local garage this year for a service - they charged 240, which wasn't bad, but I don't like the idea of young punks messing about in my Alfa having to read a manual on how to change things!
Harry1 is offline  
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Re: Cam belt (again)

Hi guys

My car is due for a cam belt change in the mext month or so and I was wondering if any one knows of a good not too pricey Alfa garage in Glasgow.

Any help will be grate

Grant
Gbulloch is offline  
Status: permanently confused
AO Silver Member
 
Sunbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
County: -
Posts: 2,425

Member car:

MINI Cooper

Re: Cam belt (again)

I'm going to be in the same sort of situation soon when my belt will be 3-years old but I only do between 3,000 and 5,000 miles a year. It will get changed (by the guys in Royston - Alfa Workshop as before).

The peace of mind was brought home to me last week when my neighbour's car had to have his engine rebuilt after the belt failed 3,000 miles before it was due to be changed (at 72,000). This was a Renault so it's not only Alfas. It happened hundreds of miles from home so was not a pleasant experience for him. I would far rather change it at 3 years than risk having a similar experience. Rubber belts don't only suffer from wear due to use. I'm sure they also degrade with time so increasing the chances of teeth splitting or cracking.

'A business absolutely devoted to service will have only one worry about profits. They will be embarrassingly large.' - Henry Ford.
Sunbar is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,094
Re: Cam belt (again)

It's not only the belt. The tensioners fail or seize and this takes out the teeth.

No it's not just Alfa's. A guy I work with had a belt go on his Cherokee. 2.4 diesel .... and that's a Merc lump!!! Around the 70K mark too. Think he's still not got it back after a couple of months as they can't get the injectors out without breaking two and they are a couple of hundred quid ... EACH! He's been trying to find some 2nd hand ones ....
gazza82 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
belt , cam

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
156 cam belt snapped. Pancho Alfa 147, 156 & GT 9 05-12-08 22:19
What parts should we buy for Cam Belt replacement?? morricar Alfa 147, 156 & GT 5 27-10-08 09:48
Hi everyone, Cam belt seeking to bankrupt me geewiz Introduce Yourself 15 17-10-08 14:57
what would happen if a wrong cam belt kit was fitted? bigbambi Alfa 147, 156 & GT 12 07-10-08 01:31
156 Cam Belt Problem Craig Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 13 11-12-06 15:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome