When's a cambelt needed - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Help When's a cambelt needed

Does anyone know when I should get the cambelt done on a V6, the car is 5 years old in July but only has 33k on the clock. Is it possible to have a visual inspection to see what condition it's in. I asked Desire Alfa in Ipswich for a price and I nearly fell over when he quoted me £300 more than £120 more than the clutch kit he had just looked up.

The cambelt went on my Sierra whilst driving around town a few years ago. I got a taxi to the local Halfords then home to pick up a socket set and back to the car again, about £20 including belt and fitted it at the side of the road. Back on the road in under an hour. What's happened
rickster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Re: When's a cambelt needed

You won't fix a V6 like that if it fails because all the valves will be bent!

£300 sounds like a bargain, if they are replacing all the tensioners too.
David C is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 30
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Hey mate. the official change time is 72K but i have known them to fail way before that!! I work at an alfa romeo specialist as a technician and we advise them to be changed earlier. Due to the age i would advise you get it done! I could do for far less than £300.
format is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
emranvalera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 398
Re: When's a cambelt needed

yes it is possible to have a visual inspection but it will depend on which garage you take it to and if they will charge jus to hav a look. the garage i take my alfa 147 selespeed dont charge to have a look and this is in leicester (alfa romeo speacialist). it was lucky for me that my cam belt had been changed when i bought the car. i had a quote cuz i was curious and it was £700 + cuz of all the other bit that would be necessary to change. it was the labour that killed the price otherwise jus the bits on its own was bout £250-300. hope that helps m8......
emranvalera is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

help
rickster is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

I didn't think it was a bargain, that isn't to fit it that was just to supply it
rickster is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Where are you and roughly how much could you do that for? I know there are a few more bits involed than on the timeless old pinto.
rickster is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 1561
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Netherlands
County: -
Posts: 12,865

Member car:

busso powered

Re: When's a cambelt needed

Don't do a visual inspection. You have to take the belt off to do the inspection properly and furthermore, the belt is 5 years old. Even the official schedule mentions replacement every 72k miles or 5 years whatever comes first.

Make sure not only the belt will be replaced but also the tensioners. And with the age of 5 years I would replace the water pump as well. £ 300 is on the cheap side for belts + tensioners
selespeed is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 30
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Very true. I would never replace the belt without doing the 2 idle bearings and tensioner. as mentioned before the water pump may also be a good idea. I could do it for you but will have to price up the parts first. I will give you a Post back tomorrow.
format is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 30
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Oh yeah, im in ely so a bit of a travel but could still work out alot cheaper. I would also advise that you use a dealership or specialist if you dont want me to carry out the work as you need to use the correct cam lock equipment to ensure the Cam timming is spot on!!
format is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

I'd be very grateful if you could do that. I'm takeing it to Coventry to get it converted to dual fuel tomorrow, and the wife and I are going to explore further north for a couple of days, if the North hasn't been washed away by then that is, but I promise I'll get back to you if you could find a price for me. Also roughly where you are would be good. Cheers
rickster is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Bit of a delay as I've just asked you the question you've just answered. Ely's not so far and I always like to explore. Would you need it overnight though??
rickster is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 30
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Just outside ely (as my post above). regards Sam
format is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Swansea
Posts: 30
Re: When's a cambelt needed

ha ha another delay. speak tomorrow. also pm in your inbox.
format is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

Just another question format, if you work for/as a specialist do you have the facility to alter the units on my climate control from F to C it's most annoying as I'm not old enough to understand F's and apparently only dealers/specialists can do this?
rickster is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 16 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 125
Re: When's a cambelt needed

tr
rickster is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
cambelt , needed

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome