cambelt tear - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 22 Old 16-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

cambelt tear

This happened when the plastic cover from the engine bay fell onto the belts whlist the engine was on.I didnt notice the tear.only noticed today.While on my way out of town.I guess am lucky it didnt snap.Is it going to be a simple belt swap?I have already changed all belts,pulleys,tensioners etc.The plastic material that fell into is the shock absober cap on the right.i was cleaning the car at the time.




http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...elttear001.jpg
Skillz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: cambelt tear

Yes new belt, but don't run the engine at all until it is replaced.

Why is there no cover over your belt?
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 22 Old 16-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Yes new belt, but don't run the engine at all until it is replaced.

Why is there no cover over your belt?
there is a cover its the angle i took the picture at.The cover ends and then you can see the back pulley which im my car shows the tear.The car has always been that way.

The devil

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e3...ccover1001.jpg


Was on my way to watch a rally
Skillz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
sparkoniocv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 524
Re: cambelt tear

It's the auxillary belt you're looking at isn't it,the cambelt is completly coverd up by two plastic covers.If you're running without cambelt covers, early belt failure is on the cards.
sparkoniocv is offline  
Status: Life is good atm. I do not take that for granted.
Global Mod Team
 
PaulR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 22,949
Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkoniocv View Post
It's the auxillary belt you're looking at isn't it,the cambelt is completly coverd up by two plastic covers.If you're running without cambelt covers, early belt failure is on the cards.
Yep - looks like the aux belt to me too.

Just as bad though - if it goes it can still take out the cambelt. Although it is not a certainty I wouldn't risk it.

Paul.
PaulR is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 22 Old 17-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

This picture is similar to the one already posted,it might help show the cover.Its taken in front of the car.The cover ends and there is that exposed part.I had a small camera.Its tight, its at the back of the engine.A few of you mentioned the cover.Can please take pictures.I need to compare, maybe your car specs are different from mine.Look at the metal roundish part with a yellow paint.Thats were the cover ends.Check if yours is the same.I want to oder the belt on monday.I need your help in knowing which belt to buy.


http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e350/flyt/Belt.jpg
Skillz is offline  
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: cambelt tear

This pics shows the belt layout

Pascs is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulR View Post
Yep - looks like the aux belt to me too.

Just as bad though - if it goes it can still take out the cambelt. Although it is not a certainty I wouldn't risk it.

Paul.
Agreed, aux belt. The timing belt is under the black casing to the right of the picture.

wrinx
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: cambelt tear

It was difficult to see which belt it is in the pic.
Even if it is the aux belt, DON'T DRIVE THE CAR.
When it does let go it will easily wrap around the main pulley and rip the cambelt off.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 22 Old 17-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
It was difficult to see which belt it is in the pic.
Even if it is the aux belt, DON'T DRIVE THE CAR.
When it does let go it will easily wrap around the main pulley and rip the cambelt off.
I wont drive it till its fixed.Is it a huge job?How many hours (labour)?
Skillz is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: cambelt tear

Changing the aux belt isn't a huge job, providing you get the right belt!
There are different lengths for AC/no-A/C
There are also versions of both with different numbers of ribs/grooves. You need the right one to match your pulleys.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 22 Old 17-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Changing the aux belt isn't a huge job, providing you get the right belt!
There are different lengths for AC/no-A/C
There are also versions of both with different numbers of ribs/grooves. You need the right one to match your pulleys.


I will order the correct one.I will use the vin number to ensure accuracy.
Skillz is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: cambelt tear

Sadly, the VIN number may not help with the groove/rib issue.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 22 Old 17-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Point taken.I keeps receipts so, i do have a part number for the previous purchase.I am also going to bring a mechanic before ordering.

Thanks for the info.
Skillz is offline  
Status: vacuum issue.. help!
AO Member
 
ShiftyBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 239
Re: cambelt tear

I think i paid 88 parts and labour for the Aux Drive belt on a 1.9JTD

SB
ShiftyBloke is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 22 Old 18-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Are the 147 belts the same as 156?I am asking because thats what was used the last i changed the aux belt(air con belt)
Skillz is offline  
Status: Back in a Quad
AO Platinum Member
 
OperationAlfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 23,457
Re: cambelt tear

Sure are. As David said though.. you need to make sure its the same type. Looking at the pic it looks like yours is a groove belt.

Double check though.
OperationAlfa is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,958
Re: cambelt tear

They all have grooves & ribs

Poly-V belt for the techies, they need to run very tight when compared with the old style V belts.


It is the number of groove/ribs that is important for your new belt.

Length will just be engine size & A/C or no-A/C
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 22 Old 24-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

I still havent changed the aux belt.It still hasnt arrived.Its taking too long to get a small part.
Skillz is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 22 Old 25-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skillz View Post
I still havent changed the aux belt.It still hasnt arrived.Its taking too long to get a small part.

Aux belt replaced,Havent tested the car.Mechanic did it at my house, which is a big plus for me coz i saved on having the car towed.He picked a potential problem.Something to do with the air con bearing ("it has a bit of play").He has to remove the compressor in order to get to the bearing.The garage recommend removing the bearing on my car and checkeing if they can get it localy.That means i will be without a car for sometime.

Can you assist in determing which bearing i should buy so that i get it on ebay or a dealer if need be? Please assist, need to order ASAP
Skillz is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 22 Old 26-06-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Skillz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Africa
County: -
Posts: 426

Member car:

Something German

Re: cambelt tear

The alfa dealers say there is no bearing.I think this dude is trying to make extra cash of me.I will visit an Alfa dealer for a safety check.
Skillz is offline  
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
 
Pascs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: cambelt tear

I think the guy means the bearing in the AC compressor itself which is why he needs to remove the compressor.

I dont think the Alfa dealer would sell that separately as it would be part of the compressor and he may need to get it from a specialist bearing or AC compressor shop
Pascs is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
cambelt , tear

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome