43 Bar pressure at idle - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 22-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
County: Hordaland
Posts: 6

Member car:

alfa 156 1.9 JTD

43 Bar pressure at idle

Hi,
I try my first post :-)

Alfaromeo 156 1.9 JTD 2003.

The car was running at idle when it stopped.
(message on screen - low pressure oil, but it disappeared immediately)

I got the car to the closest repair shop in Norway where I live at the moment.

They change diesel filter and check the log and faults messages.

Now the car is running but it delays a fraction of second to start.

The mechanic identified also the following fault codes:
P0683
P1191

The most strange was that they can read the following values:
value of 43 bar pressure at idle (but the car is running perfectly)
-33 C temperature of coolant liquid
-33.10 C temperature of diesel
-40 C air temperature


PS. in Norway at the moment it is +12 C (not siberian cold yet ;-)

The mechanic informed me of the facts but he did not take yet any action.
I was test driving the car for 60km today and it was running ok.

I would like to understand the reasons for this. Do you have any suggestions?

thanks in advance
alhena is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,063
My guess would be their diagnostic isn't 100% compatible ... diesels didn't get EOBD diag standards until 2004 so early cars had a hybrid system .. not fully compatible with any standard. MultiEcuScan would be a better bet for yours.
gazza82 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 23-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
County: Hordaland
Posts: 6

Member car:

alfa 156 1.9 JTD

Thanks for the feedback.
I should not be too worried then.
Cheers
alhena is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 10
Exactly which version of 1.9 JTD do you have? 105 (CF2, 3-pin diagnostic socket) or 115 (CF3, 16-pin OBD diagnostic socket) hp? No matter which. Something is quite wrong with the diagnostics you've done. The car can not have rail pressure of 43 bar and be running at all. The rail pressure should be at least 150 bar for the engine to run. At idle it should be around 300 bar if everything is OK. This DTC P1191-Fuel Rail Pressure Sensor Low shows that rail pressure has dropped under its lower limit (150 bar) so that's why the car has died at time time. Check your rail pressure sensor. It could be either the rail sensor or the high pressure pump that is making the problem. Do a good diagnostic once again. As i said your rail pressure at idle should be 300 bar and 1350 bar at WOT and rpm above 3500 (not stationary, on the road).
Check your battery, if voltage is low it could do some nasty things on the electronics of the car.

Hope i was helpful.
janyboy is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by janyboy View Post
Exactly which version of 1.9 JTD do you have? 105 (CF2, 3-pin diagnostic socket) or 115 (CF3, 16-pin OBD diagnostic socket)
It is in a 156, so it has the big OBD socket, they all do.
David C is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
It is in a 156, so it has the big OBD socket, they all do.
You are probably right, mate. I am driving mostly Fiat cars so in my case i am speaking the truth. Fiat 1.9JTD 105 CF2 has the old 3-pin socket located in the engine bay. I did not know that all 156 JTD have 16-pin OBD socket. Good to know.
janyboy is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 27-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
County: Hordaland
Posts: 6

Member car:

alfa 156 1.9 JTD

Thanks for all the informative comments, I just order the cable and IŽll download the right software MultiEcuScan in order to perform a better check.
The first values were coming from the mechanic and his system, I guess they were not well equipped.
I have to learn and understand my alfa better.
The closest official alfa reseller is 2h drive from here, beside that I also learn on "my skin" that they work like butchers.
IŽll test and let you know the new readings
cheers
alhena is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 31-10-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Norway
County: Hordaland
Posts: 6

Member car:

alfa 156 1.9 JTD

I recived the cable and I used the free version of MultiEcuScan. Some challenge to configure the port and the connection at first. I manage to connect and Gazza82 was right, they probably had a system non compatible. With MultiEcuScan I got all the values in the correct range including the pressure (around 300bar).

There was a new error stored P0340 - Phase sensor
I think it just a wire issue because the indicator in the cokpit is off
Maybe it went on for a short time for without me noticing it.
alhena is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
bar , idle , pressure

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome