Noooo! 6th to 2nd gear at 60mph - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 09-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Fidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 131

Member car:

147 Ti, GT Jtdm

Looky Looky Noooo! 6th to 2nd gear at 60mph

Very much an accident getting used to my new diesel GT.

On the motorway, I wanted to pop it in to 4th to get round a middle lane muppet, but accidentally found 2nd. I immediately dropped the clutch and put it back in 6th with Motor System Control Failure pop up on the dash.

The car seemed OK for the rest of the journey. After a 2hour rest at Sweatshop I started the car again and the MSCF sign came up again and the engine light was still on.

1. Have I done some damage? The car seems and sounds normal apart from the light on the dash.

2. If ok, can I reset the warning light by disconnecting the battery? Thanks
Fidge is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: pothole avoidance score - 9 out of 10
AO Silver Member
 
Laptop_Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 3,046
Garage
I rekon it will go by itself after a while.

I once tried to get up a steep hill in 5th and the EML light came on, went out a few days later as it wasnt a re-occuring fault. Also I've found pressing the memory clear button for the mile counter on the 156 can clear the light.
Laptop_Matt is offline  
Status: To err is human,but feel is divine...
AO Member
 
dusanGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Novi Sad
County: Serbia
Posts: 772

Member car:

GT JTDm + Q2

Probably you have been faced with a combination of "parameters out of range" and Alfa's protection system worked. Diagnostic procedure (by MultiECEScan software) can show what really happened and disable MCSF errors.

If you drive, for example, in 6th gear/2500RPM and switch to 2nd, RPM will abruptly rise to red RPM zone, protection system cut the fuel because of over revving and place MCSF error in memory...
dusanGT is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 12 Old 10-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Fidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 131

Member car:

147 Ti, GT Jtdm

It may have cut the fuel (which is good, didn't realise that) but the wheels and momentum have still forced the engine to spin beyond its design revs.

I disconnected the battery for a couple of hours for some other work - I still had the error message after. But then an hour later, it disappeared! Just like Matt said. Thankfully the car seems fine.

...phew!
Fidge is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 19,110
Garage
You still need to plug it in. Just because it's dissappered doesn't mean it's not still logged on the ecu. Just to be safe.
Joss is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

What kind of rev's is that on a diesel?
On a petrol the TS is around the 6500 rpm mark at around 60mph ish.

Poor diesel engine.
scottyf is offline  
Status: zzzzzzzz
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 36,925
You may end up buying a generic OBD2 fault code reader to reset the light.

I reckon as long as the car drives ok you have got away with it. If you had bent valves or damaged the transmission it would be pretty obvious.


These are very useful to have around anyway and work on most cars. I reckon my one has saved me a fortune getting Engine management lights reset, and people at work have borrowed it as well...


http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/CAN-BUS-OB...item51be17a801
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyf View Post
What kind of rev's is that on a diesel?
On a petrol the TS is around the 6500 rpm mark at around 60mph ish.
About the same on the 16v JTD.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 12 Old 14-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Fidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 131

Member car:

147 Ti, GT Jtdm

Shame it only revs to 4500 tho!

Thanks for the feedback. Having driven normally for a week, the car seems fine and the warning disappeared.

Thanks for the link to the fault code reader tho. I don't suppose I can reset the service counter with it? My service guy couldn't! I know it doesn't really matter, it's just a niggle, as I will soon be getting prompts with less than 3,000 miles to go!

...sorry, bit off topic, but continuing the theme,

Having owned my first diesel now for a few months, I miss my little 1.6 petrol 147. Torque has it's benefits on the motorway and with MPG, but I'm not keen on the noise, lag and lumpy power delivery. I'. toying with a tune to make it drive a bit more like a petrol.
Fidge is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,225

Member car:

Alfa 166

Indeed this is what I don't like about the diesels. That and they are more difficult to fix.
But its the power delivery. Its hard to control and feed in. But it has its benifits on the road.

Its something I should really be swapping to because of the mpg saving me roughly £6-700 a year.



When an engine rev's that high it just goes out of balance and destroys itself. I'd imagine the valve train is fine at those speeds. But the crank would have hated that.
scottyf is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
this old thread might help nice visual comparison of gear ratios and speed/revs
https://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/tunin...x-upgrade.html
looked not too bad til i realised its in km/h.
looks as david said 6000rpm+
it was basically free wheeling no load, i dont think its likely to have caused damage, theres videos out there of jtd16vs actually accellerating into the 5500 rev range.

Last edited by sussexa; 14-08-14 at 20:44.
sussexa is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Chris155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,963
@ The OP, is the gear stick reluctant to centralise across the gate? If it is, then you may wish to note it's a well know problem that is easy enough to fix. - The "top hat" bushes in the selector mechanism need replacing.
Chris155 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
2nd , 60mph , 6th , gear , noooo

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome