Re Torque Head or not? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 10-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: In an Alfa again!
AO Member
 
Mark Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Africa
County: KwaZulu-Natal
Posts: 650
Re Torque Head or not?

Hi All

In have a 1997 2.0 Twinspark Spider

I ve heard both answers to the question, " Do I retorque the head bolts after about 1000Km after replacing the head gasket??"

On the old Nord engines that I have built, I always re - torqued them, hot, at about 1000Km.

Most people that I have quizzed, say not to re torque the Twinny's head bolts.

Any input is appreciated.

Ciao
Mark Cooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
JON156VELOCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cardiff
Posts: 3,119

Member car:

Giulia Veloce

There is no mention of re torquing in Autodata.
JON156VELOCE is offline  
Status: got a new 159 jtdm
AO Silver Member
 
gibot123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 2,259
Garage
think not due to the fact that they are stretch bolts they should be changed every time they are undone.
Re-torquing would require you to undo then re tighten.
gibot123 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Chris155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,963
They're NOT stretch bolts (sorry Gibot) so the bolts can be reused and they do not need to be re-torqued. They should be a simple tighten and forget effort.
Chris155 is offline  
Status: got a new 159 jtdm
AO Silver Member
 
gibot123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 2,259
Garage
I'm glad you told me as I thought the twinnes were all strech bolts someone given me bad info .
Sorry about that.
gibot123 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 6 Old 11-04-14 Thread Starter
Status: In an Alfa again!
AO Member
 
Mark Cooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South Africa
County: KwaZulu-Natal
Posts: 650
Thanks guys. No torque is good torque.
One more little job that I don't have to do.
Mark Cooper is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
head , torque

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome