What software to reset service and oil values - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 18 Old 21-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 67
Garage
What software to reset service and oil values

I have an OBD II and an ELM 327 (both USB) cables, but what is the best software to use to access the ECU on a 159 1.9 JTDm? I haven't tried any yet. There are a few packages on the mini CD that came with the cables, but I'd rather use the correct fiat/alfa software.

Is there a free version for personal use?

Thanks,
GT
ContactGT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

Multiecuscan is a good one.
cree is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 18 Old 21-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 67
Garage
Does Multiecuscan allow me to reset the service interval and oil age flags?
ContactGT is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

Hmm not sure about that sorry.
cree is offline  
Status: TJR Valeting
AO Silver Member
 
Tommywho156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ContactGT View Post
Does Multiecuscan allow me to reset the service interval and oil age flags?
The free version doesn't (unless someone can link to one if the older versions that did), but I think its only around £25 to upgrade a single licence.
Multiecuscan, even the free version is invaluable and saves so much time and money when you have a problem.

Www.Multiecuscan.net
Tommywho156 is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
$50 euro or about £43 for licence. Includes 1 year of updates.
Tanis8472 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 18 Old 30-08-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 67
Garage
OK, next problem:

I have started a new thread on this exact topic in the engines forum (not sure if that is the right place), but perhaps some of you who have commented on this thread might not spot it.

I'm trying to get MultiECUScan working on my new laptop. Its windows 8 and I can't figure out how to get the OBD interface usb cable to work...

I believe its an ELM327 cable, but I have an OBDII cable too (same problem).

In my device manager, its listed as a "USB Serial Port" and I can change the Com port number (I have it on 4 just now) and play with the speed settings etc, but MultiECUScan simply can't find the cable.

Do I need a different driver, or is 'USB Serial Port' the correct thing?

Has anyone successfully used windows 8 to communicate with a 159 1.9JTDm?
ContactGT is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

I needed to modify my lead for it to work , ill post the link up when I get home
cree is offline  
Status: TJR Valeting
AO Silver Member
 
Tommywho156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,263
In the options tab of multiscan you can ask it to scan for interfaces, as long as the lead is plugged in it should find it. Also, have you checked that you've got the correct drivers for your cable installed?

These are the cables I use and I've not had a single problem with them and I've used them on 3 seperate laptops running Vista, Windows 7 & Windows 8..

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vie...d=251316822946
Tommywho156 is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

He has a elm 327 cable so its different from them three, there's been reported problems with some of the obd 2 or elm 327 cables not talking correctly with the software and so need modifying, taking a resistor off to be precise
cree is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

Multiecuscan - View topic - FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Mine is ver 1.5 and has the black pcb in this page,

other pcb's require a different resistor to be removed maybe this will help.
cree is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
only genuine elm327 wont need modifying, although they are about £60-£70.
Mine is genuine and works fine
Tanis8472 is offline  
Status: More to do
AO Member
 
cree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 569

Member car:

ALFA 147 JTDm 8v

yes mine was 6 quid i believe
cree is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
Have you installed the correct ftdi drivers?
Windows might have installed incorrect ones.
Virtual COM Port Drivers
Tanis8472 is offline  
(Post Link) post #15 of 18 Old 09-09-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Fife
Posts: 67
Garage
I know the cable is working correctly as everything is fine on my old WinXP laptop. It must be a windows 8 thing. I have just downloaded the drivers from the Virtual COM Port Drivers as suggested by Tanis8472. I'll try that on my laptop later...
ContactGT is offline  
Status: Do you even know how to V6?...
AO Gold Member
 
Ian Lusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Western Cape
Posts: 10,929
Any news yet? Mine works fine on a macbook pro with windows 8 and parallels installed.
Ian Lusso is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sweden
County: Västra Götaland
Posts: 4
Sorry for hijacking your thread, but when downloading multiecuscan, what version should I go for? Borrowed an OBD2 ELM327 cable from a colleague and read been reading up on this stuff but not sure if the "Firmware Revision: 1.4" (specified on cable-lable) must be taken into account when downloading the software.

What I'm trying to do:
Erase fault code P2080 on an alfa 159 JTDM 8V (end of 2005).

Thanks in advance!

/D
buraz is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
latest version available.
only one that is supported by the developers
Tanis8472 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
oil , reset , service , software , values

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome