Fault codes on JTD 16V (140) - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 12 Old 21-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Fault codes on JTD 16V (140)

I'm having some serious issues with my JTD 16V 156. Over the last few weeks the Mrs reported a sudden loss of power which occurred when accelerating in high gear (4th or more). This could only be rectified by dropping down a gear and going fairly hard on the throttle. Last week I cleaned the EGR valve out even though during the inspection it was working to spec. This did not remove the problem.
Today it was a real concern. On three occasions I had to stop the car, let it idle for a few seconds, give it the gas and drive off again. I unclipped the MAF sensor connection in case this was the issue but again the problem returned as soon as I backed out of the drive - this time in 2nd gear and accelerating.
Car was serviced (oil, air and pollen filters only)three weeks ago before which it was fine.
I've just plugged in the diagnostic port and found the following: (sorry if all data not needed)
P0110

Failed Component Code: Air Temperature Sensor
Fault Symptom: Short Circuit/Open Circuit Vbatt
Warning Lamp Status: Warning Lamp not Illuminated
Fault Test State: Test complete for this Error or not applicable.
Fault Code Storage State: Error Not Present at time of request
Event Count: 39 count
Environmental Condition One: Engine Speed: 0 rpm
Environmental Condition Two: Engine Temperature: -40.14 C
Environmental Condition Three: Fuel Quantity: 0 mm3/str
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Power On/Engine Running
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Cruise Control Regulation InActive
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Power Latch Active
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Microprocessor Control Test Active
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: E.R.G InActive
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Turbo Charger InActive
Environmental Condition Five: Fuel Rail Pressure: 580.21 bar
Environmental Condition Six: Memorised Km @ event: 190180 km

P0101

Failed Component Code: Air Flow Meter
Fault Symptom: Short Circuit Gnd/Open Circuit
Warning Lamp Status: Warning Lamp Illuminated
Fault Test State: Test complete for this Error or not applicable.
Fault Code Storage State: No Error Detected at time of request
Event Count: 39 count
Environmental Condition One: Engine Speed: 0 rpm
Environmental Condition Two: Engine Temperature: -40.14 C
Environmental Condition Three: Fuel Quantity: 0 mm3/str
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Power On/Engine Running
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Cruise Control Regulation InActive
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Power Latch Active
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Microprocessor Control Test Active
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: E.R.G InActive
Environmental Condition Four: System Status: Turbo Charger InActive
Environmental Condition Five: Fuel Rail Pressure: 580.21 bar
Environmental Condition Six: Memorised Km @ event: 190180 km

Interestingly, the second code says the warning lamp illuminated but if this refers to the MCSF warning then it didn't flash up.
Can anyone help? I'm confused because I disconnected the MAF but nothing improved. Could the Air Temp sensor fault cause a problem with the MAF data at ECU level?
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
The air temp sensor is part of the MAF, it uses a a common wire (+5v I believe). the pinout data for the MAF will shed light on this though...

Anyway, those logged errors are from disconnecting the MAF
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 12 Old 22-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Spoke to my garage today and they suggested an EGR issue. I mentioned I'd cleaned it so they reckon its the butterfly flaps clogged around the Air/EGR manifold feed.
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Status: 190hp/410nm jtd 8v
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Holland
Posts: 44
Usually having a power surge at higher gear / higher rpm means that the the turbo is going out of range of your MAP sensor. i've had the issue as well, and we solved it by replacing the turbo pressure sensor on the back of the airbox. If that doesn't help, it could be that the vanes in the turbo, due to soot and other crappy deposits are not able to move anymore, or move to slowely making the turbo unable to adjust it's vanes in time and thus overboosting.

Could be EGR, but that's supposed to be closed on higher rpm's , unless it's stuck, but dont know if that should be able to cause power surges..
thijsk89 is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 12 Old 26-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Hi and thanks for taking the time to post.
It wasn't a power surge it was a complete loss of power.
I'm going to clean the area the egr fits to this weekend and also fit a blanking plate with hole if it arrives in time.
Will post back with the results.
Cheers
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Status: 190hp/410nm jtd 8v
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Netherlands
County: Noord Holland
Posts: 44
Sorry, that's what i ment. It's like being able to push your pedal all the way down, but nothing happens. Or even slowing down, and then going back a gear or press your clutch pedal usual solved it for me.

Personally i dont think it's the EGR, but it never hurts blanking it off and cleaning it up.
thijsk89 is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
brake or clutch switch?
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 12 Old 28-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuore_Sportivo_155 View Post
brake or clutch switch?
By this I assume you mean that the existence of these faulty switches will wrongly inform the ECU they are in use and so will drop the power off?
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
yes, they could and would
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 12 Old 30-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Right then. Car is back from the Garage. Wow!
Who'd have thought that changing the vacuum hoses around the VNT actuator could make such a big difference?
I have breathed a massive sigh of relief as I was fearing the worst and started pricing up manifolds and turbos.
Many thanks to Gary at GJ Motors (was Italian Cars), Lincoln.
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Status: playing kill by numbers
AO Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Belgium
County: Down in the Park
Posts: 8,786
if it's to do with the VNT mechanism, it couldn't have been a complete loss of power, but would have been pretty dramatic
Cuore_Sportivo_155 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 12 Old 31-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: filthy, just filthy
AO Member
 
m-a-r-k-o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 234
Garage
Pick up was badly affected at low revs but the "events" that caused my main concern meant all power was lost for a moment.
A big thank you for all your replies to my post.
m-a-r-k-o is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
140 , 16v , codes , fault , jtd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome