JTD oil degradation lights reset - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 05-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 296

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

JTD oil degradation lights reset

I service my partners 147 JTDm and have my daily drive Fiat Sedici JTD.

I change the oil but keep having to pay the dealer to reset the oil lights. Is there any software available for ELM 327 other than Multiecuscan that can do this?

Proscan for instance?
Alfa luke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
There is other kit that can do it, but an ELM adapter and a copy of MultiECUScan doesn't cost much.
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 8 Old 06-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 296

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
There is other kit that can do it, but an ELM adapter and a copy of MultiECUScan doesn't cost much.
I got the ELM kit just think that £50 for MultiECUScan seems a bit steep as it only covers Italian cars. Guess I will have to shell out.
Alfa luke is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa luke View Post
I got the ELM kit just think that £50 for MultiECUScan seems a bit steep as it only covers Italian cars. Guess I will have to shell out.
How much have you been paying the dealer to reset it?
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 8 Old 11-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 296

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
How much have you been paying the dealer to reset it?
True I am going to bite the bullet.

Just annoying as I already have a full copy of Proscan that does everything on other cars and costs 1/2 as much.

Plus I really wanted and Android app so I could do it from my phone or tablet.
Alfa luke is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa luke View Post
Just annoying as I already have a full copy of Proscan that does everything on other cars and costs 1/2 as much.
Proscan looks to be another OBDII program for the US market.
(OBDII was a std for cars sold in the USA after 1996. Alfa stopped selling in the USA before the std came in, so have never produced any OBDII cars).
David C is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 8 Old 16-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 296

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

Proscan worked very well on a friends Vectra GSi. I quite like the simplicity of it.
Alfa luke is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 8 Old 16-02-13 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 296

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

Proscan covers most European cars, not just fault codes but has all the data to go with it. It diagnosed a big problem with a friends Vectra GSi which had baffled the dealer.
Alfa luke is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
degradation , jtd , lights , oil , reset

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome