my 2.0 tspark seems flat help please - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 04-10-12 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Warwickshire

Member car:

156 sp3

my 2.0 tspark seems flat help please

Hi all, i recently brought a 1998 156 2.0 tspark spk3 never had an alfa before but love it now is in great nick for its age apart from noisy engine after doing my research on this site(great help btw) decided to do the obligratory cambelt kit, balance belt kit, variator, water pump, oil filter and oil change to selena......few!! it now sounds realy good only problem is now it seems flat through the rev range im not a mechanic but someone has put what i think is a k&n filter on it and another smaller filter that branches off that, this is towards the top of the engine and only sucking what i think would be hot air no vents or ducting going to it. but still seems sluggish more than before i had all work done, any help would be great, atb all.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member

County: Derbyshire
Garage
Sounds like a weird setup. The K&N doesnt come with any pipes and mounts straight onto the front of the MAF. All it does is suck in warm air.

I made a pipe that extends it all the way down to the bottom right hand side of the engine and the sound is great.

My mate had a similar 'flat' problem with his Golf GTI and it turned out to be the MAF. It might also have been killed by someone over-oiling the K&N.

If you unplug the MAF the car will stop using its 'out of range' readings and start using a default set of values. If the car feels ok then - New MAF is required.