3.2 V6 Busso oil consumption - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 35 Old 30-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Hmmm 3.2 V6 Busso oil consumption

Whats the official word on oil useage on the above engine

Cheers,
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Always working
Identity Confirmed
Authorised Trader
 
Autolusso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 7,035
Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadrone Rosso View Post
Whats the official word on oil useage on the above engine

Cheers,
Once it is run in it should be none but considering how it was built it may take a few thousand miles to settle down

We rebuilt over 10 Busso engines this year some have used none after 1k once they have been worked hard, Jimbo's for example, others that have been used carefully used tend to take longer

Ned
Autolusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 35 Old 30-04-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Cheers Ned. It's used over a litre in just under 500 miles
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

I might be totally wrong but it seems like the 3.2’s tend to use oil while the 3.0 and 2.5 with the wider rings do not.
The same as with the 2.0 TS with the narrow rings compared to the ones with the wide rings.
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 35 Old 02-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
I think it's going to need an aditional sump at this rate and I'm going to need my own drilling platform

I'll tell her to rag it then to see if that speeds up the running in process
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
GTA_Nigel
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mine's always used oil, about the same as the TS, in both 3.2 and 3.8 guises. Still needs checking frequently, for example the run to Spa got it down to just below the min level. Talking to the gang at Spa, it does vary, some use none, some do use oil.

Cheers,

Nigel
 
Status: Special.. (my mum says so)
AO Member
 
olly6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 961
Mine doesn't lose a great deal most of the time, but every now and then it suddenly drops. Certainly I reckon less than half a litre every couple of thousand miles.

Nigel, your car puffs smoke every time you hit the throttle after cruising a while. Not much, and not for long. I should know, I followed you long enough!

My TS uses around twice the amount of oil as the V6.
olly6969 is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
 
tomfromtelford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,241
What oil?

Castrol that I run goes down quicker than most, but I do drive it!
tomfromtelford is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomfromtelford View Post
What oil?

Castrol that I run goes down quicker than most, but I do drive it!
I think Castrol is quite possibly the most over hyped oil out there. It was always an oil that ****ed through any of the Alfa's I have owned. I have used everytype of oil out there nearly and none where as bad as the castrol top 3 for using the least amount oil were Agip, Mobil One and the Fuchs I have in the car at the moment.
 
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

Never use magnatech ( spelling) in a v6 alfa it will burn it edge on the other hand works great on the v6.
turbonutters is offline  
GTA_Nigel
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by olly6969 View Post
Mine doesn't lose a great deal most of the time, but every now and then it suddenly drops. Certainly I reckon less than half a litre every couple of thousand miles.

Nigel, your car puffs smoke every time you hit the throttle after cruising a while. Not much, and not for long. I should know, I followed you long enough!

My TS uses around twice the amount of oil as the V6.
Thanks Olly - I thought it was smoking a bit. Maybe that's why Ned's changed the piston rings he now uses. It didn't use a drop on the track session at Spa but seems to use more when cruising.

Cheers,

Nigel

Last edited by GTA_Nigel; 04-05-12 at 09:14.
 
(Post Link) post #12 of 35 Old 30-05-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
It's gone through a litre (max to min) in just over two tankfulls of petrol
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Maserati time
AO Member
 
Jamhot77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 467
Mine uses none Nigel!
Jamhot77 is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 35 Old 05-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Almost a litre gone in 6 days / half a tank of fuel

Need to speak with Ned when he's back off his Hols.
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: looking for a track bike
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 377
Could it be a leak somewhere rather than it being burnt?
ChrisHGTV is offline  
Status: Selespeed that's reliable
AO Gold Member
 
turbonutters's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 7,047

Member car:

GTV 2.8 Turbo

That's a lot of oil somethings wrong. Burning so much oil will mess up the Cats as well if they haven't already.
turbonutters is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 35 Old 06-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
No leaks that I can see (on the drive) and no smoke from the exhaust (followed my wife in the car yesterday)although the car smells oily when hot & with the windows down

The cats were a concern for me when the originally rebuilt engine ate itself and seized due to the powdercoating issue.

Costing me a small fortune in 10/60
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: We got there
AO Silver Member
 
Mr_Caine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 3,189

Member car:

GTV, RCZ, KTM

The ones I've owned have used very little oil. Has the engine been rebuilt? I have found that driving a car with a new engine quick tends to bed in the engine better, less oil use and better performance.
Mr_Caine is offline  
Damien_C
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Caine View Post
The ones I've owned have used very little oil. Has the engine been rebuilt? I have found that driving a car with a new engine quick tends to bed in the engine better, less oil use and better performance.
Yep, I had a 146 with a fully rebuilt engine, and we'll it was started drove it out the road it got hot and then drove it like it was stolen, there is over 10k miles on the engine and no over use of oil or anything. If people saw how their new cars are taken off the boats at the docks you'd be shivering from the abuse they get.
 
(Post Link) post #20 of 35 Old 10-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Hopefully settling down now as done c250 hard driven miles this week & level hasn't moved

Fingers crossed! Clare's in India this week so I'll be running it
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 802
Once you put fully synthetic 10 60 in ,it will not bed the rings in so it will keep burning Oil

John
black cat is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 35 Old 11-06-12 Thread Starter
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 30,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by black cat View Post
Once you put fully synthetic 10 60 in ,it will not bed the rings in so it will keep burning Oil

John
I think the Valvoline stuff is semi synth
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: bought a 75...
AO Gold Member
 
bacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 6,298
all my V6 Busso's (2.5, 3.0, 3.2 & 3.7) have had very similar oil consumption, maybe 1 litre per 1.5k miles, but I generally rag it everywhere.
bacon is offline  
Status: ALFA extremist
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 396

Member car:

n/a

fwiw, my 2.5 uses none... i mean none... i don't do too many miles, maybe 5-6k kms a year... annual fill with amsoil 10w-40 to full mark on dipstick - still there when i dumped it out.
wankski is offline  
Status: Saving for engine.
AO Silver Member
 
tomfromtelford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 4,241
Bacon that's similar to mine and I rag it everywhere too.

Do about 15k a year. Go through 2x changes and about 6ish litres so it's not that bad I suppose.
tomfromtelford is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
busso , consumption , oil

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16 important OIL questions and answers oilman Alfa 147, 156 & GT 339 03-06-18 10:39
TS Oil Consumption - definitive answer? bigmacnchips Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 194 11-10-10 13:00

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome