timing belt - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 13 Old 24-03-12 Thread Starter
Status: taxi
AO Member
 
sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 101
Help timing belt

hi guys
on the 2.4 jtdm engine i have just changed the timing belt with no alignment tools or cam lock.
i couldn't mark the old belt as it had jumped a few teeth while i was turning it by hand.
the new belt had two lines printed across it that i lined up with the noches in the cam and crankshaft pully.
i can turn the engine by hand without hearing any touching of the pistons and valves but not game to try cranking by battery.
its a 3 week wait for the alignment tools.
sleek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
Id wait on the tools if it was me.
EauRouge is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
gammakeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 822

Member car:

156 JTD 2.4 20V

Cam Belt Change Guide on Alfa Diesel Engines

If all lined up as in the above guide then all should be fine. The tools are not necessary on this engine but they do make the job much easier and remove that nagging doubt :-)

Keith
gammakeith is offline  
Status: Too many Alfas
AO Gold Member
 
Spider95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7,413
Hope you changed the waterpump at the same time.
Spider95 is offline  
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
Quote:
Originally Posted by gammakeith View Post
Cam Belt Change Guide on Alfa Diesel Engines

If all lined up as in the above guide then all should be fine. The tools are not necessary on this engine but they do make the job much easier and remove that nagging doubt :-)

Keith
My Bad! ive got twinspark-itis.
EauRouge is offline  
r6nee
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs Up Fixed

If you timed it up + can crank it at least 2 ful turns from the crank it'l do exactly the same of d starter mate , if your 1 tooth out on d belt it would'nt do a ful cycle , you've fixed it as long as your tension is right ;-) Nee.
 
(Post Link) post #7 of 13 Old 25-03-12 Thread Starter
Status: taxi
AO Member
 
sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 101
thanks guys the only difference in the above guide is mine is a 2009 jtdm 210hp same block and all but i do not have any marks on the housing only noches on the cam and crankshaft pully so nothing to line them up to only the lines on the belt. thinking of taking number one injector out and finding TDC on number 1, than line up the noches and lines on belt from there. as long as i have the same number of teeth between crank pully noch and cam pully noch after a few rotations all should be sweet. i'll let you know how it goes
cheers steve
sleek is offline  
r6nee
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Tdc from the crank is the only
way u no it + then mark camb's , i usualy put 4 mark's straight acros the center ov d a camb's + mark up the cover behind d mark's
,it's neva failed me + get ur belt tension right fa all sorts of reason's + al wil b gud ;-)
 
(Post Link) post #9 of 13 Old 25-03-12 Thread Starter
Status: taxi
AO Member
 
sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 101
once done will punch my own marks on engine block for future belt changes?
sleek is offline  
r6nee
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs Up

Das d 1 fela mark it any way u want , virtualy all engine's used t cast mark's on2 head's ,blox + cover's as u no ,mr designer's jus tryin t make peep'z not bother wi d complications i hope dat world neva fuly get's here lol
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00194.jpg (41.8 KB, 13 views)
 
(Post Link) post #11 of 13 Old 26-03-12 Thread Starter
Status: taxi
AO Member
 
sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 101
thanks guys but i am sure i have it sorted, took number 1 injector out and found TDC the old fashion way with a screwdriver. than removed the plug for the cam lock and lined up the cut out in the cam with the plug hole.
have now marked the engine block with top dead centre.
now all i need to know is does the aglinment tool set the crank at 10 degrees before top dead centre or true top dead centre????
sleek is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 13 Old 26-03-12 Thread Starter
Status: taxi
AO Member
 
sleek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 101
some photo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg alfa 1161.jpg (50.4 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg alfa 1162.jpg (79.0 KB, 38 views)
File Type: jpg alfa 1163.jpg (53.9 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg alfa 1164.jpg (69.2 KB, 18 views)
sleek is offline  
r6nee
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Aint sure i'm on a jts bu since you've marked it up try d tool wi belt of + ul kno ,try d barbaque skewer painted white wi blak card behind t b exact
 
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
belt , timing

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.4 JTDM Timing Belt Change smcgiff Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider 1 12-12-10 09:39
Timing Belt Query s0upyd Alfa 147, 156 & GT 4 13-10-08 23:42
Alfa 156 Timing belt S-t0nec0ld Alfa 147, 156 & GT 11 20-09-08 18:16
Timing belt failed twice in a month Alfa156 TR Alfa 147, 156 & GT 19 27-05-08 13:54
1.6 Impreza Timing belt Black Beauty General Motoring Discussion 0 29-07-05 17:22

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome