16v 2ltr TS engine vacuum - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 33 Old 25-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Help 16v 2ltr TS engine vacuum

Hi i have posted in other threads but im hoping someone can advice me on a problom i have..My engine is sucking air in,as in any were it can,took off crank breather and it sucks in, oil cap,cam breather every were and idles at 2000rpm..iv changed the oil and oil filter a few days ago,could it be that i was sold a wrong fitting oil filter? would this cause the mass vacuum the engine has? im beat on this i cant work out y this is happening,iv seen engines blowing due to worn out pistons but never sucking this badly if i block it,it slows the idle down and kills the car,altho i didnt block it that long due to the horried nosie..any one got any ideas?
Cheers
Geo146TI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 33 Old 25-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Drunk

Ok i take it no one knows whats going on here or even were this air is being sucked to?? or im a noob and plp cant be bothered to anwer a dumb question!
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
Hi Geo, have you got a leak at your inlet manifold? Apart from that sorry fella i can't be off any more help!?
EauRouge is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 33 Old 25-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Crazed

Cheers il check all pipes and vacuum pipes on the inlet manifold...but all the air being sucked in must be going some were!!! maybe a vacuum valve in a pipe is broke? if i was to put a hoover pipe on the oil cap i could clean my car mats easy lol..only way i can think this is happening is if a vacuum pipe was coming off the inlet manifold going in to the sump and sucking making a circulation effect?? sounds dumb but id like a better reasion if anyone has one?
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo146TI View Post
..but all the air being sucked in must be going some were!!!
The vacuum is coming from the intake manifold where the crankcase breather is connected to.
It is supposed to do that, that is how the crankcase breather operates.
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #6 of 33 Old 25-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
The vacuum is coming from the intake manifold where the crankcase breather is connected to.
It is supposed to do that, that is how the crankcase breather operates.
Hi David,iv taken the pipe that flows to the inlet (just after the MAF) the one that allows crank gases to escape and this also sucks air very hard,if i block it it kills the car,,,also taken off the crankcase breather and blocked it,wich has a small amout of air sucking.with this blocked the sucksion is the same(about the same as putting your hand over the throttle body and flooring it..so this is normal for the breathers? and its ticking over at 2000rpm
Geo146TI is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Head Gasket gone i rekcon???
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,093
There is a 2nd breather pipe running from crankcase to inlet manifold just behind the throttle ... it has a valve in the end piece which can get stuck open. It's cheap for a new part but you're likely to break the clips holding the old one on trying to get it off to check.

Look on my greenserpent website under "Idle Saga!" ... we had the same high idle (1600 rpm) and this is what caused it ... on mine the internal valve parts weren't stuck, they were missing! If you've had any work done on the engine recently, this may have happened to yours. Or simply the cover is broken and not sealing properly.

cheers, Gary

HIS: ex-1998 156 2.0 TSpark with Sport Pack 2, sunroof and hi-level spoiler in Alfa Rosso. V6 intake mod, clear side repeaters and Zeatek undertray. 10th Sep 1998 to 12th Jan 2017

HERS: 2009 MiTo 1.4 95bhp Turismo arrived 21st November in Techno Grey with colour-coded headlight surrounds.

My Alfa156 Web Site - how-to's, piccies, links, useful stuff, etc.
gazza82 is online now  
Status: GTV for sale ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,843

Member car:

GTV 2.0

The valve you are talking about gazza is a 1 way valve right? Normally only allows flow into the engine, but it has broken and is now allowing the inlet manifold to suck air out?
Turtle4288 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza82 View Post
There is a 2nd breather pipe running from crankcase to inlet manifold just behind the throttle ... it has a valve in the end piece which can get stuck open. It's cheap for a new part but you're likely to break the clips holding the old one on trying to get it off to check.

Look on my greenserpent website under "Idle Saga!" ... we had the same high idle (1600 rpm) and this is what caused it ... on mine the internal valve parts weren't stuck, they were missing! If you've had any work done on the engine recently, this may have happened to yours. Or simply the cover is broken and not sealing properly.
Hi cheers for helping out,iv been reading your idle saga after seeing it yesterday...iv plulled the pipe off of the oil vapour separator and it sucks air all the time cold and hot,if i block it with my thumb the car slows and sounds like it will cut out,iv also sparyed carb cleaner in it when car is ticking over,slows it a lil then speeds back up.i see what you mean about it breaking if i try take it off,,my nearest alfa is over 30 miles away,,should the car cut out with this oil vapour separator blocked?

Before i changed the oil it use to tick over low when warm now its 2000rpm the old oil was was very old by the looks of it,i put in 5w-30 fully synthetic
iv also shown light in it and can see the plug inside..guna try sparying it again with wd40 and carb cleaner..

Last edited by Geo146TI; 26-02-12 at 13:13.
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo146TI View Post
i put in 5w-30 fully synthetic..
Why?
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #12 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

gazza82 im sure your right,iv just warmed car up,taken off the pipe feeding the oil vapour separator and blocked it with my thumb and it ticks over just fine,so guna use some thing to block it and try driving the car,if alls ok then i need a new one,but will it be ok to use with it blocked do you think? ov i got to think of the breather pip thats left open but il stick a flitter on the end of it???
Geo146TI is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Why?
Why not? it was on offer!
Geo146TI is offline  
(Post Link) post #14 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Thumbs Up

OK think iv got it sorted! gazza82's Idle Saga was great help and easy to understand (unlike the TS breather set up) blocked the oil vapour separator and it drives a lot better and ticks over about right.(but vapour is building up even with the pull of the throttle on other cam case pipe).So i need to buy a new one,tryed the net with out luck so looks like a 60 mile drive to get one anyone know were to get alfa parts like this online without high posting costs? cheers..
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo146TI View Post
Why not? it was on offer!
It may well have been on offer, but it is the wrong grade for your engine!
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #16 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
It may well have been on offer, but it is the wrong grade for your engine!
In what way? to thick or thin? whats the right grade..it made the engine less nosiey so was happy with just that really
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geo146TI View Post
In what way? to thick or thin? whats the right grade..
Too thin when hot.
Std was 10W40 semi-synthetic with an option of 10W60 Synthetic.
5W40 Synthetic is fine too.


But 5W30 is ONLY spec'd for EXTREME cold climates.
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #18 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Quote:
Originally Posted by David C View Post
Too thin when hot.
Std was 10W40 semi-synthetic with an option of 10W60 Synthetic.
5W40 Synthetic is fine too.


But 5W30 is ONLY spec'd for EXTREME cold climates.
Ahh rite,could i just chuck in some thick oil later on, when it needs topping up? i got so 20/50 here lol
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: #keepFightingMichael
AO Gold Member
 
EauRouge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Suriname
County: Brokopondo
Posts: 7,706
EauRouge is offline  
(Post Link) post #20 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

Crazed

if the old 20/50 wont do it il just pull the stat out so it runs cold all the time or move to green land
Geo146TI is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

only place i can find to post this part is Alfa Romeo 156 Mk1 (>2002) Valve

anyone know any were cheaper?
Geo146TI is offline  
(Post Link) post #22 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

is this copy parts from shop4parts or are they Alfa parts?

Last edited by Geo146TI; 26-02-12 at 14:54.
Geo146TI is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,093
Alfa parts .. or phone Mangoletsi .. I'm sure they still offer a postal service.

I'm not sure how you found that one, but without a pic, I don't know if it's the right part. It was only a couple of quid when I got mine .. there's how inflation and the [email protected] euro have screwed us!


EB Spares, Alfa Workshop or AlfaShop may also be able to help out.
gazza82 is online now  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,952
It is the right p/n and it is £5.90 list.
David C is online now  
(Post Link) post #25 of 33 Old 26-02-12 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Geo146TI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Gloucestershire
Posts: 52

Member car:

Alfa 146

yea the part number OEM matchs this one works out £8.86 posted first class,so il ring Alfa Romeo Worcester | Alfa Dealers in Worcester | Bristol Street
tomoro see if they can do any better,,and goggle* Mangoletsi and Alfa Workshop now..cheers
Geo146TI is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
16v , 2ltr , engine , vacuum

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 62 4 Weeks Ago 13:36
Waterpump/belt failure on the JTD 16v & 20V engines Spider95 Alfa 147, 156 & GT 805 11-07-19 10:45
Irish Alfa Owners Register GTV Gav Republic of Ireland 1292 01-11-14 23:56
Global engine. You have to know about it :) komiss Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider 4 29-11-10 09:36
Bleedin MAF CrispDust Alfa GTV & 916 Spider 28 01-06-10 19:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome