Cam belt? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 34 Old 29-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Cam belt?

Hi there to all.

I've just found this place after the other Alfa forum I've been using seems to have vanished anyway. It seems full of good info and experienced owners so hopefully you can comment on this.

I haven't bought a Spider yet. I'm hopefully about to however


The cam belt. Alfa say 72k change. The sticky thread here says 36k.
The car I am looking at is at 36k, and it hasn't been done.

How bad is that? I already want to haggle on the price as I think its a little high but I do like the look of it. It looks like it would be 500-600 quid (guess?) to sort the cam belt out (I'd use Alfa Aid in Maidenhead I'd imagine as Adrian seems like a good chap).

Anyway - when did you get your belt changed?

cheers,
Dave
dbeamish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

You're on the right lines....and welcome btw

Definately36k, use this to haggle the price, 600 will EASILY get you all the belts and tensioners AND the variator done. A cambelt change in its own will only be about 100 at a guess.

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #3 of 34 Old 30-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

ok thanks.

I already think its 500 notes too highso that would make it 8k. But now with this too .. hmm.. 7.5k is too low for it really but if this needs doing.. gah I dunno. I am calling the guy today for a chat about his Spider.

I guess we'll see what he says ..

I don't want to buy a car thats instantly going to cost me 500 quid in cam belt etc changing, plus the 500 I wanted to spend on the head unit and the 500 I wanted for the Cat 1 alarm with remote start..
dbeamish is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
earthman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: london
Posts: 629
Re: Cam belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbeamish
I don't want to buy a car thats instantly going to cost me 500 quid in cam belt etc changing, plus the 500 I wanted to spend on the head unit and the 500 I wanted for the Cat 1 alarm with remote start..

i've always wondered, how can you have an alarm with remote start on cars like ours that have a chip in the ignition key ?
do you have to have a copy of that chip and have it placed near the ignition barrel ?
earthman is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 34 Old 30-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

hmm.. you know.. I didn't know they had that so that'll be interesting when I call to find out if its possible to fit.
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

You also need to check the rear bushes...especially if it's a 2.0. They are prone to wearing and will cost a small fortune if not sorted early.

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #7 of 34 Old 30-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

e- gad..

whats a rear bush? something to do with the suspension?
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

We are talking about a modern Spider here aren't we...16v or V6 engine? (just checking!)

Rear suspension arm bushes, they can wear (all cars do at some point) and allow the arm to cut into the subframe. This results in about a 1,000 bill, if you buy a Spider/GTV it's advisable to get the fitted or stick Powerflex bushes in which will last 100k miles.

Afraid that's your head unit out the window

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #9 of 34 Old 30-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

holy jebus

is it easy to see where this cuts into the subframe then? any pics of it on the internet?
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

I've not seen any pics, aparantly the damage is self limiting as it will only go in so far but that's not the point, it's an MOT failure

Have a good look around the rear end for general condition and above all listen for squealking, grinding, graunching from the rear...go find a few speed humps

Please don't let this put you off...they are great cars really

Try searching these lounges for more info to help with your bargaining...we did

wrinx
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Draggon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 128
Re: Cam belt?

Good luck on purchase

We bought a (w) Y2000 Spider last year with 80,000 on the clock, but the engine was replaced at 69,000..Cam went, so good idea to change when you can.

We also replaced bushes as they had started to perish..the new Powerflex are great..handles like its on rails..even though it is abit firm on speed bumps

We have only had minor issues with electris as the body and engine are amazing on the Spider..we are very happy

Shame my wife drives it really I have to have crappy company car

They are very unique and not as common as Z3's etc. Luxury and performance.

Good Luck again, hope its a good un
Draggon is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 34 Old 30-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

Ok its had the rear bushes done. Just not the cam belt and the front wishbone. I've got the offer of 8.5k and a service/tax (last service was May) or 8k and no service - tax til May. I think I might take the cheaper option and get a service done with the wishbone/cam changes all at the same time..

what do you think?

Its done 36040 miles .. so I'd imagine the last service it had was the 36k. What sort of service is next? I'm only really clued up on BMW servicing with their minor and major servicing policy..
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

What year and spec is it?

...please don't mention the "B" word...it upsets me

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #14 of 34 Old 31-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

its an 1999 T reg lusso. Well (anally) looked after - oil change every 3 months, optimax petrol only. 2.0 litre.
dbeamish is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,119
Re: Cam belt?

Dave,

Give L&M in High Wycombe a ring before you book it in at AlfaAid. Tel: 01494 538899.

Their labour costs are lower and they do a lot of work on Alfas and Fiats (specialists). They replaced the belts on my 156 but can't tell you how much as the work was part of a bigger bill.

AlfaAid are good but they tend to charge similar prices to a dealer.
gazza82 is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbeamish
its an 1999 T reg lusso. Well (anally) looked after - oil change every 3 months, optimax petrol only. 2.0 litre.
I think the price is a little OTT...we paid considerably less than that for a 98 Spider with 43k.

Not wanting to patronise but have you checked Autrader and Exchange and Mart for price comparisons?

wrinx
 
Quick_Shift
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draggon
Good luck on purchase

We bought a (w) Y2000 Spider last year with 80,000 on the clock, but the engine was replaced at 69,000..Cam went, so good idea to change when you can.

We also replaced bushes as they had started to perish..the new Powerflex are great..handles like its on rails..even though it is abit firm on speed bumps

We have only had minor issues with electris as the body and engine are amazing on the Spider..we are very happy

Shame my wife drives it really I have to have crappy company car

They are very unique and not as common as Z3's etc. Luxury and performance.

Good Luck again, hope its a good un
Do you have a web site I could look at with regards to the power flex bushes?

Cheers
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

I stand corrected after checking the websites mentioned Prices seem to have shot up in the last 6 months...however, the price you're looking at is what Traders are asking, perhaps bear that in mind if it's a private sale

wrinx
 
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

www.powerflex.co.uk

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #20 of 34 Old 31-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

aye I will do .. Ive seen a few garage cars at that price however they are all fuct (pardon my French!) .. and they are all cloth interior, most with no AC/power hood.
I think this one has been well looked after and I am sending the RAC on an excursion to check it out later in the week.

I went to one garage and when he handed me the keys he told me "its not working at the moment - battery wont hold a charge so you cant test drive it". Ace I thought .. so i sat in it for a bit.. and re-affirmed that I wanted leather over cloth.

ta for the POWERFLEX link. I will check it out.
dbeamish is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 34 Old 31-01-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

ok on the powerflex site I would need:

Alfa Romeo Alfa 145, 146, 155
Alfa New Spider-Gtv 1998 Onwards
FRONT KIT 99.80

That seems very reasonable? How long do these things take to fit? (a mechanic.. not me!)
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

From memory it was 350 fitted for the rears.....bit of a nasty job so didn't DIY it

ps...the kit you're looking at is for the front wishbones...you need the rear

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #23 of 34 Old 01-02-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

do I? the rear bushes etc have been done on the car?
I thought then i needed the powerflex at the front?

or am I again to be corrected?
dbeamish is offline  
wrinx
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cam belt?

Sorry, it's me again forgot they'd been done already

The front ones aren't as urgent as the rear, you may experience a bit of wandering under heavybreaking or clunking...should be ok at the mileage on the car.

wrinx
 
(Post Link) post #25 of 34 Old 01-02-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 27

Member car:

Spider

Re: Cam belt?

hmm ok thanks for the pointers. I think I'll enquire about it anyway.. if they are doing the cam belt etc then if its cheap I might get it done at the same time.
dbeamish is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
belt , cam

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
156 cam belt snapped. Pancho Alfa 147, 156 & GT 9 05-12-08 22:19
What parts should we buy for Cam Belt replacement?? morricar Alfa 147, 156 & GT 5 27-10-08 09:48
Hi everyone, Cam belt seeking to bankrupt me geewiz Introduce Yourself 15 17-10-08 14:57
what would happen if a wrong cam belt kit was fitted? bigbambi Alfa 147, 156 & GT 12 07-10-08 01:31
156 Cam Belt Problem Craig Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6) 13 11-12-06 15:51

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome