Oh No! Cam belt Failure!! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    

(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 16-01-05 Thread Starter

Help Oh No! Cam belt Failure!!

Hi all,

I'm new to Alfaowners.com .

I am actually asking for advice on behalf of a friend. He has a 156 2.0, he loves the car but unfortunatley the cam belt snapped destroying the top end of the engine!

The car wasn't even due a new belt, and in its 50k mile life so far it has only ever been dealer serviced. I've read elsewhere on the web that Alfa were aware that premature belt failure was a problem on the 156 and that up until the end of 2004 they were fixing failed engines FOC no questions asked! So far my friends been quoted 2000 for a rebuild... anyone got any thoughts on this - or stories of similar problems.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Silver Member

County: -

Member car:

MINI Cooper

Re: Oh No! Cam belt Failure!!

The current Alfa service requirement is for Cam Belt Inspection / Replacement at 36,000 miles or three years whichever comes first. If the car has been Alfa main dealer serviced and is up-to-date with servicing your friend may want to contact both the dealer and Alfa UK to see if they will contribute with any repairs.

The belt can fail well before the prevously recommended service point (it was probably 72,000 miles) and you will find plenty of other threads, if you use the search button, on his subject.

Hope the damage in not too expensive.
stella ts

Hmmm Re: Oh No! Cam belt Failure!!

check out the following on the subject.

Thank you for your enquiry on our website.

We at the Alfa Romeo Information Centre have not heard from our Head Office that the time of renewing the cambelt has changed form 72000 miles to 36000 miles. The Alfa 156 needs to have the cambelt examined every 240000 miles by an Alfa Romeo dealer to see whether or not it needs to be changed.