air flow meter readings - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 17-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

air flow meter readings

when i connect to fiatscanecu my readings show low in 69 -73 range which as far as im concerned are tooooooo low ,swapping to another good one same readings
i assume readings on idle to be more in region 250 +
cam belt been checked as being spot on marks ..no air leaks from pipe work ie intercooler and assosiated pipe work

read codes and ive got p0235 which translates to boost solenoid etc but its low air quality sympton from where i see it

any thoughts

fuel economy is poor
davealfa11 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: GTV for sale ...
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 1,843

Member car:

GTV 2.0

Do you mind if I ask what unit of measurement you're talking about?
Turtle4288 is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 14 Old 18-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

intake air quality
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by davealfa11 View Post
intake air quality
But that's not a real unit. The MAF will I suspect, feed back either a resistance, PWM or a voltage to the ecu. It will then use that value and conbine it with other sensor feedbacks to calculate how it wants the engine to respond.

That value you have in FES is I suspect, just used to see what the MAF is doing. If it is the same for another good MAF then I would suggest the figure is good.
Mitch916 is offline  
Status: SOLD my 156!
AO Gold Member
 
gazza82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 9,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by davealfa11 View Post
when i connect to fiatscanecu my readings show low in 69 -73 range which as far as im concerned are tooooooo low ,swapping to another good one same readings
i assume readings on idle to be more in region 250 +
cam belt been checked as being spot on marks ..no air leaks from pipe work ie intercooler and assosiated pipe work

read codes and ive got p0235 which translates to boost solenoid etc but its low air quality sympton from where i see it

any thoughts

fuel economy is poor
Is the air filter clean?
gazza82 is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza82 View Post
Is the air filter clean?
Well that's a very good point. If the air flow itself isn't correct then the readings from good MAF to MAF are irrelevant.
Mitch916 is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 14 Old 22-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

free flow k and n and its clean as a whistle .......ive checked it with chris156 loggings he did for me and it all looks good from what i can see
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: [URL
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wrexham
Posts: 1,758
any chance your egr valve is stuck open slightly, physically blank it off and check your maf values again?
sussexa is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by sussexa View Post
any chance your egr valve is stuck open slightly, physically blank it off and check your maf values again?
This is worth doing from a diagnosis point of view if anything. I'm running my 10v with a blanked EGR at the moment and I aren't getting any expected air quantity errors and the car drives sweet. If anything it makes it hold the revs a little between gearchanges, thats the only thing I've noticed.

If you need any blanking plates give me a shout, I've had some made up.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 14 Old 24-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
This is worth doing from a diagnosis point of view if anything. I'm running my 10v with a blanked EGR at the moment and I aren't getting any expected air quantity errors and the car drives sweet. If anything it makes it hold the revs a little between gearchanges, thats the only thing I've noticed.

If you need any blanking plates give me a shout, I've had some made up.
i just being getting P0404 egr error with mine blanked ...... i was reading on fiat forum and they have holes drilled in theirs .i thought defeating object or reducing effect of
davealfa11 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,804
Really? Mines a 2.4 10v CF3 on a 52 plate, so 150bhp model. My previous 02 plate one was the same, and I never had any errors with either of those.
Pud237 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 14 Old 24-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: BEEN AWAY SITE GOT WORSE .....
AO Gold Member
 
davealfa11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 9,912

Member car:

bmw 335d coupe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Really? Mines a 2.4 10v CF3 on a 52 plate, so 150bhp model. My previous 02 plate one was the same, and I never had any errors with either of those.
same as mine dan issue i had with mine if you remember was sooty exhaust and down on power .....put second hand turbo on ...got power and less soot back in return
davealfa11 is offline  
Chris155
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Air flow readings v's engine speed and throttle pos'n for a 3.2 V6. I recognise its not a diesel but it should give you some idea.





 
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
The values are in kg/h as in a lot of CF3 jtd. Nothing wrong. Old ECU software.
coolbits is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
air , flow , meter , readings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBD II Codes Smaky Alfa 145 & 146 62 4 Weeks Ago 13:36
air flow meter! more help! greg172 Alfa GTV & 916 Spider 3 31-08-08 08:52
Air flow meter mounting question Mr Bacchus Alfa 147, 156 & GT 0 11-05-08 12:21
Alfa 156 2.4 JTD Air Flow Meter Punch_uk Alfa 147, 156 & GT 8 27-09-06 09:01
Air flow meter and lambda sensor problems. pbennett Alfa 164 & 166 5 21-06-06 12:16

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome