Remap after EGR Block - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 10-11-11 Thread Starter
Status: searching for 18'' wheels
AO Member
 
Dimalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Greece
County: Thessaly
Posts: 14

Member car:

ALFA GT 1.9 JTD

Remap after EGR Block

Hi i want to block the EGR valve.I have find this JS-Tuning.nl . It is neccesary to modify the mapping.? How can i remap it.?just turn off the check light?Or its somethink else i can do?
Dimalex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

im in the process of doing the same.

you will need software to remove the fault code as the egr is of electronic control.

angel are doing mine when i get round to blanking it off.
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

bump.

i have blanked my egr, and it came up with an error.

went down to angel to get it blanked off was fine for a couple of starts now its back again,

went back down to get it read. the code is 'air quantity' any ideas what this code it related to?

cheers
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Bump.

Had a tech from angel come up today to investigate and check the egr had been blanked out on the software.

Fault code still there. P1237.

I've checked everything I can, any pointers why I'm still getting this?

The car drives spot on but the light is starting to annoy me!

Help please!
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
EGR must be properly turned off in ECU. So find a good tuner.
coolbits is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
EGR must be properly turned off in ECU. So find a good tuner.

define 'properly'

cheers
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
If you do it properly, you can remove, disconnect or close EGR without any errors same as it didnt ever exist.
coolbits is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
If you do it properly, you can remove, disconnect or close EGR without any errors same as it didnt ever exist.
i believe they have done this.

the code im getting is P1237 if the egr was still there wouldnt i be getting egr flow code aswell?
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
No. When EGR turned off properly no errors what so ever. It does not exist anymore and ecu calculates all without it.
coolbits is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
No. When EGR turned off properly no errors what so ever. It does not exist anymore and ecu calculates all without it.
right, i will give them a call.

cheers
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 44,815
I'm under the impression the 'expected air quantity' maps need modifying to make this error go away.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
I'm under the impression the 'expected air quantity' maps need modifying to make this error go away.

me too. as said egr is disabled. you dont even have to run a blank as the valve is electronicly controlled and therefore shut when egr is disabled.

so im thinking the MAP sensor need to be modified as its not detecting any egr flow?

any tuners want to shed some light on this?
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: 1750TBIecusoftware.. done!.40+bhp
AO Silver Member
 
ALFA TUNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 3,480

Member car:

various Alfas

Why don't you ask the tuner that did it for you in the first place?
ALFA TUNER is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFA TUNER View Post
Why don't you ask the tuner that did it for you in the first place?
i have done......waiting on a response.

not trying to start a 'my tuners better than yours'!

just want to know some facts.
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by pushrodv8 View Post
i have done......waiting on a response.

not trying to start a 'my tuners better than yours'!

just want to know some facts.

Well clearly yours is not "more equal than others" ... good luck getting is sorted (or a refund anyway!!!!)
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

we will see

yeah hopefully, as i stated, car drives fine.

just that bloody annoying light!!

cheers
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: To GTB or not to GTB?
AO Silver Member
 
TribesMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 2,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
I'm under the impression the 'expected air quantity' maps need modifying to make this error go away.
I'm under impression that his tuner only modified expected air quantity maps, and forgot about the switch that actually turns EGR valve off... at least the symptoms match.
TribesMan is online now  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by TribesMan View Post
I'm under impression that his tuner only modified expected air quantity maps, and forgot about the switch that actually turns EGR valve off... at least the symptoms match.

the EGR is switched off, ive been shown this in the map.

its also cold after ive driven which would also indicate that its off. that with the blank both fitted and removed.

had a reply back the tuner has stated that the map used is no different to the map used on other cars with a delete.....and they dont throw up codes. so he's at a loss with it being something that the maps causing.

anybody else had the angel egr delete without any errors?

im tempted to go back to standard to be honest, car never gets driven hard never really need the extra performance.

after researching egr i just didnt want the all that crap going into my engine.


bloody ecu's! give me carbs anyday............
pushrodv8 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
coolbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Slovenia
County: -
Posts: 156
EGR switch off is a single value, 1/0 - on/off at least on EDC15.

On EDC15 is also possible to raise all values in EGR map to 1200 to disable its function and without errors... but this is not switched off, just disabled.... this is not possible on EDC16 as you see for yourself.
coolbits is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolbits View Post
EGR switch off is a single value, 1/0 - on/off at least on EDC15.

On EDC15 is also possible to raise all values in EGR map to 1200 to disable its function and without errors... but this is not switched off, just disabled.... this is not possible on EDC16 as you see for yourself.
This is Perfectly possible with edc16 too, I'd suggest getting a refund from angel and giving a different tuner a go, if you do this post up the results
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 61

Member car:

gt jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
This is Perfectly possible with edc16 too, I'd suggest getting a refund from angel and giving a different tuner a go, if you do this post up the results
dont want to start any battles on here! il probably go back to standard then just get the egr delete done.
pushrodv8 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Engines (TS, JTS, JTD & V6)

Tags
block , egr , remap

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome